We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Help in unexpected places”
Review of San Carlos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Carlos Hotel
Ranked #50 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

After a devastating medical diagnosis, we were looking for a hotel close to a hospital in NYC for an emergency surgery. We stumbled upon the San Carlos and saw that it was extremely close. We attempted to book online, but decided that calling the hotel directly would be quicker. We spoke to someone named Fabio and explained our situation and he was extremely accommodating to us and our needs, especially booking on such short notice. Fabio and the rest of the staff was really helpful with all of the little details, especially organizing taxi service that made such a difficult time a little easier. I would definitely recommend the San Carlos to everyone looking for a more personal touch.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AG12171940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

643 - 649 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed five nights in a deluxe room with two queen beds.

Pros
- location; about five blocks east of Rockefeller Centre
- close to bakeries, restaurants, pharmacies, subways, parking, banks, Grand Central Station, United Nations, grocery stores (2nd Avenue)
- large rooms
- firm mattress
- free, reliable and strong wi-fi
- large, cool refrigerator/freezer for guest use; separate mini-bar insuite
- powerful microwave
- plates, bowls, glasses, wine glasses and cutlery provided in the room
- great water pressure for the shower
- friendly, helpful staff
- on the 2nd floor, there were 2 printers and 6-7 PCs in the business centre
- efficient elevators
- accessible
- breakfast room is on the ground floor, south west corner. Seats about 50? Modest quality offerings include bagels, yogurt, apples, hot chocolate, orange juice, mini-pastries, cereal, coffee, teas and hot water
- loan umbrellas to guests during rain storms
- doorman assists with luggage and hailing taxis

Neutral
- tuck down service offered each night to guests
- a shower massage would have been nice
- exercise room (but did not use or see it)
- not much of view from the room

Cons
- some stains on the room carpet; I don't believe the room is vacuumed everyday?
- one of the beverage glasses was clearly chipped and should have been tossed out by housekeeping
- plates/bowls/glasses could have been cleaned a little better by housekeeping
- bath tub needs to be reculked
- Rooms need to be sound-proofed. Could hear some chatter from our neigbours in the morning.
- no mat for the bath tub. Can be slippery
- bathroom exhaust fan would have been nice

Room Tip: I got a better rate than the posted internet rate by calling the hotel directly. Rooms at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Esplanade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have been in NY many times for business reasons and try my best to stay at San Carlos. It's a very good hotel with a relaxed atmosphere and the service you need to feel comfy. A very simple, but good enough continental breakfast is included in the rate. Free wi-fi. All the rooms I have stayed in has had good size with one or two rooms. If I should say something on the down side it must be that some rooms are bothered with noise both from the hallway and the street below. Recommend to ask for a room to the back and on the upper floors.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room that's not facing the street and as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henning S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed at the San Carlos in beginning of February 2013 with my parents and my 9 year old son. We had a a one bedroom queen suite with kitchen.
This was perfect for us as we travelled from Europe so because of the jet lag, by 8pm the 9 year-old was sound asleep. Having the living room was a great solution as the adults could enjoy the evening in the living room and we used the kitchen to prepare simply food in the evening (cheese and wine).
There is plenty of grocery shops 1 block west.
We paid 300 USD/night which we found was a good price compared to other hotels.
The room was clean an housekeeping did a fantastic job every day.
The living room is large and so is the bedroom.
In the bathroom there is only one sink, and this might be an issue for some and there is only one toilet.
The biggest issue was the air conditioning which made a horrible sound. We turned it off during the night as nobody could sleep with it on. I can imagine that in the summer, you need to leave the air conditioning on so I'm not sure how this experience will be. As we did not need it, we were not bothered with it.
Breakfast in the morning was fine but after 5 nights I got a bit tired of eating toasted bread with jam and cream cheese. But I cannot complain as there was also cereal, fresh fruit and pastry/muffins.
The hotel is in walking distance to many attractions (Times Square, Central Park...) and there is a subway 2 min walk from the hotel.
The front office staff were friendly and helpful and if I come back during the cooler month were I do not need the air conditioning in the night, I would definitely consider San Carlos for my next trip to New York.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie197533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stay at the San Carlos every time we go to NYC! Typically 6 times a year. Our son is at Columbia and although the hotel is on the east side and we end up spending a bit more on cab fare to get over to Morningside..... we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else!!!! Great location, amazing staff! Bobby, Matthew and Johan greet us like old friends! Gabriel, Quran and the entire front desk team couldn't be more kind or accommodating! The rooms are just perfect. Suites are lovely as well! Within walking distance of 30 Rock, St. Patricks, Moma, 5th ave shopping!!

Room Tip: We like the back of the hotel.....nice and quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capecodfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We took our 13 year old son to visit NY for his birthday. My husband and I have visited the city several times, but this is the first stay at the San Carlos. The hotel is situated in an ideal location in midtown ... close to EVERYTHING.
I can't say enough about the hotel itself. The staff were so accommadating, and eager to make our stay the best it could be. The continental breakfast was delicious and plentiful! It was a great way to start our day. The room we stayed in was a King Suite, which was HUGE! Not just by NYC standards, but by any standard. Not sure very many hotels in the city have rooms this spacious. The couch folded out into a queen bed ( by the way, the mattress was quite thick and comfortable which isn't usually the case ), and it was perfect for our son. The room was very clean, and the kitchen was equipped with a full place setting of dishes and utensils. If you are planning a trip to Manhattan, book this hotel. You will not find a bigger, better hotel at this price in the city. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This review is a bit overdue, however we stayed as a family of 3 for 12 nights over both Christmas and New Year. We chose this hotel following recommendations on trip advisor - a hotel that provided space and in mid manhattan.

I have emailed the hotel twice to confirm our reservation however they did not come back to me which was a little concerning, Checkin was super quick with friendly staff and we were allocated a room on the 8th floor (King Executive Suite). Although on reflection it was a queen bed but too tired to request a different room. The room super clean, housekeeping excellent and attentive and the room was a superb size with a fold down spring action sofa bed. Loads of storage space, large LCD Tv and good size bathroom and kitchenette with microwave and fridge. Some guests comment on the noise from the street. Located on the 8th Floor looking down onto the main street we did hear the odd horn really it wasn't an issue and overnight we were not bothered with street noise. Any noise we did hear were from other guests in the adjoining room. The complimentary wifi was superb. Those who dont bring their own laptop can access the 3 pcs and printer in on the first floor. The hall ways look like there had been re carpeted recently.

The location of the hotel was fantastic nice safe neighbourhood with absolutely everything on your door step and easy walk to Time Square, 5th Avenue and we walked back to our hotel from Central Park after the New Year Celebrations. Lots of shops on lexington and close to Bloomingdales and main subway lines.

Many people have criticised the breakfast - well sorry I am afraid your really can't complain it is included in the room rate and provides the basics to get you going in the morning (juice, tea, coffee, hot choc, pastries, cheese, bagel, yoghurt, fruit). The hotel between Christmas and New Year as you would expect was full and this did prove a little challenging in the dining room. Guests (including us) took their breakfast back to their suite which worked out fine - the only feedback for the hotel here is provide some trays for use by guest carrying hot liquids.

Another tip - there is an indian bar / restaurant next door (actually joined onto the hotel), They do great happy hour - well 3 hrs! try it, it was just fine after a day of sightseeing. We got a take away one night and took it back to our room also ok, this can be delivered also. (see my separate review)
The doormen we polite and helpful and gave you an umbrella for the rainy day we had They organised a hotel car to take us back to the airport and it was swift and reasonably priced.

All in all an extremely comfortable, family friendly, couple of business hotel would suit all. In a safe located close to everything. Will definitely return here. Thanks San Carlos.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dajascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#24 of 470 in New York City
1,957 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 470 in New York City
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#63 of 470 in New York City
1,544 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#14 of 470 in New York City
1,100 reviews
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#42 of 470 in New York City
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Carlos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Carlos Hotel

Address: 150 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in New York City
#45 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#53 Business Hotel in New York City
#85 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $249 - $560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — San Carlos Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Carlos hotel is one of New York City's most elegant, charming, and stylishly sophisticated hotels. Located on New York's fashionable East Side, the San Carlos offers spacious accommodations, plush furnishings, and warm personable service. Oversized rooms and suites are tastefully appointed and include a pantry or kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker. This four star boutique hotel is centrally located and walking distance to major attractions, restaurants and shopping. If you are looking to relax in a tranquil and contemporary setting, the San Carlos Hotel is perfect for you. This truly is one of the best hotels Midtown New York has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your San Carlos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Carlos
San Carlos Hotel New York
San Carlos New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing