We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lived up to all the positive reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Carlos Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Carlos Hotel
Ranked #52 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Divonne-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lived up to all the positive reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Spacious rooms,lovely comfortable beds and quiet for New York - well soundproofed compared to other hotels. The staff were amazing - gracious, helpful and efficient.
The rooms have a coffee maker and microwave - no kettle for tea but you can boil water in the microwave.
My only gripe would be that the breakfast was spoilt for me by the use of paper plates, cups and plastic cutlery - this does seem to be the norm in the US but all the same, I find it tacky in a good hotel.


i will certainly choose this hotel for any other trips to New York as it is great value as well as being super comfortable

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quiet ( but a bit dark on the lower floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rafiki99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    383
    58
    9
    8
See reviews for
551
217
29
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The stay was very comfortable. Staff was polite and courteous. Location is great. Subway near by is great advantage. The breakfast was okay could be made more attractive. The market places are nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2amishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights over the 2012 Christmas period - great location (if you want to be walking distance to Rockefeller Centre and that general area, and very handy to Metro system - about a 200m walk, or 500m, depending on which line you are getting. We had a family suite, which was a lounge room with a large queen size sofa bed, and then a second room with two double beds - all very comfortable and plenty of space for the 4 of us (two adults and two teenage children). Having a galley kitchen was great (but no stove top, just microwave). Service was good and would highly recommend this as a good family option (not always easy to find hotel accom for a family that is good value for money). There can be a bit of noise coming up from the street, but this is central New York and I suspect that would be the case in most places in the area unless you can get a room on a much higher floor (we were on the 6th floor)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The San Carlos is a real home away. The rooms are very well taken care of, the staff are great. The location is very convenient on East 50th, with plenty of resturants in walking distance. The gym is very good for a small hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart_in_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Okay, I tried to be open minded. I used to nice hotels.. five star, world class hotels. But, I just couldn't bear this hotel and left after a couple hours stay and went to the local Hyatt, which was awesome!!

I left because the room was very cold and the air blew right on my bed. It could not be turned off and the heat (which was a water register, fueled by a boiler in the basement) would not come on. After hearing my colleagues complain about the heat or air that could not be regulated in their room and attempting to sleep through street noise, I made a direct departure for a more modern hotel, which work out like a charm and cost no more.

Room Tip: high as possible to avoid street noise but, if you're not a city dweller, bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WorldTravelGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed in the San Carlos from 19 to 23 December 2012. We were coming with my daughter and needed enough room for three and were not disappointed. We had a suite with king bed for about $300/night and it was quite comfortable, a bedroom and fully separate living room with sofa bed, along with a kitchenette and a table. So my wife and I could have privacy and my daughter -- preparing for exams - had room to spread out and study. By New York standards, this suite was large and, if not terribly fancy, completely up-to-snuff and not at all tatty. Quite a decent lobby as well, and a basic but functional gym with a couple of stationary bicycles and treadmills. Its true the breakfast was nothing at all special, but there's a very nice and not unreasonably-priced diner-style breakfast place right across the street. And at two blocks from Rockefeller Center a pretty good location for Christmas. So all around a very good choice if you don't want a huge blowout but you want a nice, clean spacious accommodation in convenient midtown location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

The San Carlos is a good hotel with excellent rooms and central to all you need in NY. There is nothing wrong with rooms, cleanliness, breakfast is adequate even with plastic plates and cutlery, porters are extremely helpful. It is not the cheapest and for the price, I think they had opportunities to do better and didn't. I booked through Booking.com and emailed a few days before arrival just to confirm all was ok. There followed a few emails looking for my credit card details on an unsecure email as booking.com did not appear to have sent them. If that was the case, this should have been taken up with them. I also requested a front facing room - we got a back facing one with no explanation. I had also pointed out it was a 20 year surprise wedding anniversary holiday for my family. EXCELLENT hotels would have handled the booking better, said to me that the requested room was not available and, for the price we paid, a SMALL acknowledgement of the occasion would have been made- it wasn't mentioned. There is nothing wrong with the hotel - our experience was fine but we paid alot of money for our stay. They had chances to shine and didn't. Would we stay again? Possibly, but in a big city like NY, there must be places trying harder to do everything they can for their guests. I think they are too complacent and they need to work a lot harder on the details that make a difference to keep rating of 28th Best Rated Hotel in NY.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#79 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,362 reviews
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#85 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#119 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#11 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,338 reviews
Midtown
The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Carlos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Carlos Hotel

Property: San Carlos Hotel
Address: 150 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in New York City
#41 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#53 Business Hotel in New York City
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — San Carlos Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Carlos hotel is one of New York City's most elegant, charming, and stylishly sophisticated hotels. Located on New York's fashionable East Side, the San Carlos offers spacious accommodations, plush furnishings, and warm personable service. Oversized rooms and suites are tastefully appointed and include a pantry or kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker. This four star boutique hotel is centrally located and walking distance to major attractions, restaurants and shopping. If you are looking to relax in a tranquil and contemporary setting, the San Carlos Hotel is perfect for you. This truly is one of the best hotels Midtown New York has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your San Carlos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Carlos
San Carlos Hotel New York
San Carlos New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing