We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Service, Clean Hotel with a Quiet Elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Carlos Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Carlos Hotel
Ranked #53 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Clean Hotel with a Quiet Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I LOVE the San Carlos! The rooms are exceptionally clean with great amenities. The staff was wonderfully attentive without being overbearing. They went the extra mile to make me feel comfortable and give "idiot proof" directions to this tourist. The quiet elegance of the hotel was comforting against the hustle and bustle of the city!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrammyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    382
    58
    9
    8
See reviews for
548
217
29
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panamá
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at the San Carlos for 5 days over Thanksgiving and it was just perfect. The rooms are large for NYC standards. Very easy access, convenient location, clean and confortable rooms. No luxuries but well kept.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PTY08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband, college-age son and I stayed in the executive suite at the San Carlos hotel for the second time this year. We're ex NYers and appreciate the convenience of the location. The executive suite is perfectly designed for 2 or 3 people. It features a pullout sofa in a sitting area as well as a small kitchen. So handy. The linens and appointments are top notch. The rooms are spotless and comfy. The room includes a buffet breakfast. The staff is the best.

Room Tip: The executive suite is very convenient with a sitting area and small kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I was surprised when the owner of the hotel, presented to me and my family last january. He said, its good that the boss pay attention to you! Effectively, the attention of the hotel is good, the rooms are clear and clean. You feel confortable in the middle of town, next to the train, the museums and the big avenues of New York.

Room Tip: Non Smokers rooms are better! No corners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank José Odalis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Due to a lack of electric power from hurricane Sandy and the NY Marathon falling on the same weekend we couldn't get a room at The Plaza, Pierre, Regent, Essex House etc. My wife found a room at the San Carlos Hotel in Midtown with only one night available. We loved it. The room was clean, bright and more than ample.
They had a nice buffet breakfast included.
Great staff

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrwarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

After 2yrs planning 3 friends and I left the husbands and kids at home in Ireland and headed to NYC for 4 nights of relaxation, sightseeing and shopping. We arrived Sat 27th and Sandy arrived Monday 29th so our NYC adventure became somewhat curtailed. Thanks to all the staff at San Carlos. We ended up staying for 3 extra nights (at standrad rate - no profitering, unlike stories we heard from other weary travellers!!!) and enjoyed all NYC has to offer before we departed. The rooms are very spacious and spotless. The suite was great for 4 ladies. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had to move rooms because of the storm and again because of the extended stay, we ended up in a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMCG41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamison, Pa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I enjoyed a two-night stay the San Carlos hotel. I was greeted curb side by the doorman who took my suitcase right to the front desk. The front desk staff was terrific. Check in was easy and they upgraded my room.

The room was really more of a suite. It had a large sitting room, with a refrigerator, and wet bar. The bedroom was comfortable with a nice king size bed with soft, comfortable linens. Both rooms had flat screen TVs and a wide selection of channels. The bathrooms were large by NYC standards. Nice appointments including nice fluffy towels. The room was very quiet so I slept well.

At $275 for the night, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrismiller2523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#74 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,357 reviews
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#85 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#119 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 982 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#11 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,334 reviews
Midtown
The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Carlos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Carlos Hotel

Property: San Carlos Hotel
Address: 150 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in New York City
#43 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#53 Business Hotel in New York City
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — San Carlos Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Carlos hotel is one of New York City's most elegant, charming, and stylishly sophisticated hotels. Located on New York's fashionable East Side, the San Carlos offers spacious accommodations, plush furnishings, and warm personable service. Oversized rooms and suites are tastefully appointed and include a pantry or kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker. This four star boutique hotel is centrally located and walking distance to major attractions, restaurants and shopping. If you are looking to relax in a tranquil and contemporary setting, the San Carlos Hotel is perfect for you. This truly is one of the best hotels Midtown New York has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your San Carlos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Carlos
San Carlos Hotel New York
San Carlos New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing