We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roger

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Roger
Ranked #171 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

I was extremely, pleasantly surprised by my stay at The Roger! Me partner and I came for a weekend getaway, and I have stayed at numerous hotels in New York in the past. For the price, I can say that no other hotels really compare! Super clean, nice staff, nice size room, beautiful wooden entrance, greeted with wine, and doormen! I will definitely be staying here again. The only minor complaint that I have, which I see other people have stated as well, was that the room was a tad on the warm side - - someone did come and lower the temperature however. Regardless, total gem for Manhattan! ! ! ! ! !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    643
    229
    67
    36
See reviews for
357
596
92
439
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

The room was fairly large, usual very small NY bathroom. Nice location. The staff are great. The hotel is nicely furnished, clean and the beds are very comfortable. Easy access to cabs and within walking distance of many shops, restaurants and not far from Penn station if you take the train.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank savann8h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed 5 days at the Roger in July, having brought our 14 year old granddaughter for her first trip to NYC. We found the staff and service great. We were always greeted with a smile and they were always very helpful. The room was lovely with very comfortable beds which were a blessing after long days in the city. The room was always very clean on our return in the evenings and the Bigelow amenities were wonderful. We had no problem with the temperature in the room as it was always cool and refreshing for the July temperatures in NYC. We found the hotel's location just right for our various venues around the city. This is definitely a hotel we will return to in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brella2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Cute boutique hotel very well located in Manhattan - about a 15-minute walk from Times Square. Room was very clean and spacious with comfortable beds and great amenities from Bigelow’s. The only negative point was the small bathroom which required some coordination on where to put our bathroom stuff. But great pleasant staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtl-wasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

I've stayed at The Roger twice now. My son is attending AADA and if I was any closer to the school, I'd be in the dorms there! There are many reviews about the bathrooms being small. This is New York, so it's a given that bathroom space is hard to find.

The only negative thing about my last stay was that the room wouldn't cool below 74 degrees during the day. At night, of course it's going to be cooler without the heat of the sun. I would've said something to the staff but since this was a pleasure trip, I was seldom in my room during the day so it all worked out fine.

The staff are welcoming and friendly. The hotel was very clean. It's easy to get a cab right outside the door almost immediately. You're just a block from Park Avenue so it's a nice short stroll to anywhere. I loved that it's close enough to walk to any attractions but far enough where it's not complete chaos outside the hotel. The bed was VERY comfortable! There was a nightly wine reception so that was a good way to start my evening out. I would stay here again…especially since it's literally a 20 second walk to AADA.

Room Tip: Corner room was a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elebele68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is our fourth trip to NYC in the last four years. We have always been disappointed with the size of the rooms u til we stayed at The Roger. FANTASTIC sized premier corner room with great service, food and mature yet modern vibe.
Best of all was the location - amazing how easy it was to walk to all our favourite restaurants, bars and shopping venues. The doorman and front desk staff were very helpful especially when planning a trip to the MetLife stadium in New Jersey.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to staying again in the future

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pranai b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on 3 different trips in June and were disappointed each time. The room rate was appealing, which is why we gave this property a try, but we won't go back again. The rooms are just tiny. More specifically, the bathrooms are what you might expect to find in Paris - elbow bumping small. The toilets are built into the sink area, leaving you with a small sink and little room to put your toiletries bag. While there are a couple small shelves for your personal items, it's really only going to work if you are using the room alone. Couples will have a real challenge.
After our 2nd stay and 2 equally shockingly small rooms, we re-booked our 3rd stay in their highest category room, a penthouse type room with terraces. I spoke with the reception to ask them if they could attribute a room for me with a larger bathroom and they were really friendly, offering to assign us to what they thought was their best room. (We were leaving for the weekend and wanted to store a larger suitcase at the hotel while away, which is why we returned for a 3rd stay. The hotel staff was very friendly, I should mention and extremely helpful and accommodating on every front.)
Their "best" room was indeed larger, on the 4th floor with a very large internal terrace. The bathroom was slightly larger. We found it funny though that they thought we would enjoy a huge terrace for a 1 night stay (checking in after 4pm and out before noon doesn't leave one much time to make use of such a feature) and the room was clearly one used for functions, maybe parties. The bed was a Murphy bed! There was not one light switch or lamp within arm reach when in bed (odd) so we called down and asked them to bring a lamp, which they quickly provided. But a large living room standing lamp is not exactly what you expect - felt more like camping because of that.
Apart from their small rooms and bathrooms, which are deal-breakers for us, the hotel overall is charming. The staff are all extremely friendly and welcoming. Their restaurant draws a nice mix of locals and guests. Breakfast and lunch were great. The lounge and bar area are welcoming and their evening wine offer was a real treat. The gym had everything you need.
The location on Madison makes it tougher to get cabs. Usually took min. 10 minutes to get a cab with the help of the doorman. Seems because the bus runs up Madison, taxis don't troll that avenue, or so I was told.

Room Tip: The first 2 category rooms are tiny. Go for something bigger or you'll feel cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Motel0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#134 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,045 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 32 32
Hotel 32 32
#201 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#126 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#63 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#357 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Manhattan
Ace Hotel New York
Ace Hotel New York
#205 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roger

Property: The Roger
Address: 131 Madison Avenue, At 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly Hotel Roger Williams)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Green Hotel in New York City
#125 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#129 Business Hotel in New York City
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#223 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roger 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This June, The Roger is unveiling a sophisticated new look after extensive renovations of its public spaces and guest rooms. Standing at the crossroads of uptown and downtown off Madison Park, the new Roger is a marriage of chic design and old world comfort, while continuing an unyielding commitment to superior service. The fresh aesthetic of the Roger’s public spaces is curated by hospitality guru Steven Kamali and designed by the notable Anna Busta. A collaboration of renowned talent has distinguished a transitional hotel that caters to the demands of the modern traveler and local tastemakers alike. The vaulted lobby lounge provides an ideal space for any time of day or occasion, from morning business meetings to lunch with family, or catching up over cocktails with friends.To update the spacious guest rooms, the Roger tapped Annette Jaffe of MSM, whose timeless original design has kept travelers returning year after year. Jaffe’s new rooms are characterized by lush custom pieces and applied moldings to naturally compliment the historic building’s unique rooms and inviting terraces. Whether for only a night or a weeks long stay, the Roger is the savvy traveler’s home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Roger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Williams
Roger Williams Hotel
Roger Williams New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing