We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff Make this Hotel Excellent”
Review of The Roger

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Roger
Ranked #150 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We first walked in being impressed with the cool vibe of the lobby. (even more cool when we learned of the "wine hour" each weekday @ 5). Check in was very accommodating with Philip at the desk. He truly did what it took to make our first time stay comfortable. We were fortunate to have the Penthouse Corner Empire room complete with terrace. This transposed our short NYC jaunt into a mini-vacation being able to escape Madison Ave into our private oasis. The limited terrace rooms are definitely worth the upgrade. Breakfast each morning was hosted by professional wait staff who were very personable. (something very welcoming each morning). In fact, ALL staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. I could positively comment on every touch point from the door men, housekeeping, front desk, and food service. The rooms were "a little small" but inclusive of everything necessary including a needed umbrella. Bottom line; I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: upgrade to a terrace room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hugemountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,939)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,206 - 2,212 of 2,939 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

Having never been to New York, we chose The Roger, based on reviews from trip advisor. This hotel does not disappoint. This hotel is apx 10 blocks from Time Square, 30 blocks to central park, 2 blocks to the Empire State building and only a couple of blocks to all the major subway lines one needs to traverse the area.

The hotel room is modern and updated, they offer complimentary wine every weekday b/w 5-6pm.

The only disappointment is charging the $24/ night " administration fee". You are advised if this when booking and also when checking in but who wants to be reminded of it when checking out after having a wonderful stay? I would have given 5 stars if they would just include the admin fee in their price / night cost.

Overall, great place, will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bj E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We just stayed 6 nights at the Roger and had a great stay. Here are the best thing about this place:

The lobby - very boutique chic, has a cute bar, comfortable seating and a small restaurant on the mezzanine level. They offer wine hour most days of the week.

The BEDS! So very comfortable. Fabulous pillows and mattress.

CLEAN and renovated - really spotless and no paint chipping, etc. Looks new, not tired and worn like some boutique NYC hotels.

Personal outdoor terraces - some rooms offer these, and while the view is not amazing - it's not to sit outside in the big city and enjoy a glass of wine from your room.

The staff - very helpful and thoughtful - we were not made aware of the $24/night admin fee - still unsure what that's for ... so the awesome gent who checked us out took off the charge for 4 of the nights! I can't recall his name - but that is great customer service.

The only thing that bothered us was the loud a/c units that didn't really cool the room that well. Also, while the rooms are larger for NY, the bathrooms are miniscule, but nice :) Great showers.

Finally, the location is super central, so you can easily enjoy both lower and upper Manhattan, from mid-town. However, mid-town itself, doesn't have a lot of charm. There is a good cafe/convenience store nearby called bread & butter with yummy iced coffee and good, quick food in general.

Room Tip: As for a higher room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed at The Roger for 7 nights, it was a perfect base for us to stay in Manhattan.
It was close enough to a subway station, the rooms were neat and clean and we stayed in a corner room which was quiet. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed for 2 days (June 27-29th 2014) and had a wonderful experience. We had 25 rooms blocked for our daughters wedding plus the hospitality suite. Everyone loved the feel of the hotel the moment you entered the lobby. Rooms clean, buffet breakfast very good. If you are in need of a small conference room in midtown NYC with an outdoor patio, this is the place for you. Great location. Staff are friendly and very accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronniew1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for four days and the experience was wonderful. Although we had a bump at check-in since they registered us in an occupied room, the Hotel Manager immediately corrected the situation and provided us with complimentary breakfast for the slight. Everything else about the stay was great. The staff is one of the most professional I've experienced as well. Having owned a top rated boutique hotel as well on Hollywood Beach, Florida...The Roger is of equal quality!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emilio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We are staying here for five nights. Our experience started out great and has only continued to improve. We arrived at 7:00 a.m. following a redeye flight from San Francisco. We fully expected to just store our baggage and check in at 3:00 p.m. We were delighted to be greeted by a wonderful woman at the front desk who immediately checked us in and we were able to unpack, meet our daughter for breakfast and sneak in a quick nap before noon. We were very impressed with the decoration of the common areas. The best was yet to come when we arrived at our room. We had a corner king room on he 15th floor with a view of the Empire State Building. The room was smaller than we expected. A significant part of the 350 sq. ft. is taken up by hallways. The room size was fine. There is a super comfortable king bed, desk, dresser and honor bar as well as a comfortable easy chair. The colors and quality of furnishings and bedding make for a very luxurious experience. We noticed no noise on the 15th floor. The air conditioner makes some noise, but no more so than in other hotel rooms we have experienced. The bathroom is compact but well designed and worked out fine for us. The Bigelow amenities were appreciated. Everything was clean on arrival and kept clean throughout the entire stay. As mentioned in other reviews, all the staff are excellent. You feel like you are being welcomed home each time you return. For us the only downside was location. We prefer to be closer to the Theater District. However, cabs and subways are close by. We did not eat at the hotel. There are so many other great choices. We did enjoy the manager's daily wine reception. All in all, we recommend the Roger highly and would gladly return.

Room Tip: Get a high floor for quiet experience and possible view of the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrDadrwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#141 of 469 in New York City
3,466 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#46 of 469 in New York City
594 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#59 of 469 in New York City
2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#250 of 469 in New York City
418 reviews
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#226 of 469 in New York City
213 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#138 of 469 in New York City
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roger

Address: 131 Madison Ave, At 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-7057 (Formerly Hotel Roger Williams)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Green Hotel in New York City
#116 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#125 Business Hotel in New York City
#174 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $207 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roger 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This June, The Roger is unveiling a sophisticated new look after extensive renovations of its public spaces and guest rooms. Standing at the crossroads of uptown and downtown off Madison Park, the new Roger is a marriage of chic design and old world comfort, while continuing an unyielding commitment to superior service. The fresh aesthetic of the Roger’s public spaces is curated by hospitality guru Steven Kamali and designed by the notable Anna Busta. A collaboration of renowned talent has distinguished a transitional hotel that caters to the demands of the modern traveler and local tastemakers alike. The vaulted lobby lounge provides an ideal space for any time of day or occasion, from morning business meetings to lunch with family, or catching up over cocktails with friends.To update the spacious guest rooms, the Roger tapped Annette Jaffe of MSM, whose timeless original design has kept travelers returning year after year. Jaffe’s new rooms are characterized by lush custom pieces and applied moldings to naturally compliment the historic building’s unique rooms and inviting terraces. Whether for only a night or a weeks long stay, the Roger is the savvy traveler’s home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Splitty, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Roger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Williams
Roger Williams Hotel
Roger Williams New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing