We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Roger

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Roger
Ranked #150 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel is not uber-posh and ritzy like other NYC properties, but it was perfect for us and incredibly reasonable. Small, chic lobby, particularly helpful staff, lovely linens on king sized bed, and a delicious,European style breakfast buffet right on the mezzanine. Enjoying multiple refills of coffee while lingering over the Sunday newspaper was such a treat. Good neighborhood, too. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdtkacik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    790
    280
    83
    45
See reviews for
492
731
120
588
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

very good location for whatever your plans are in New York. Nicely sized clean room with all amenities you require. Bathroom however very small. Free wifi.
Exceptionally friendly and knowledgable staff, in particular the doormen, who helped finding a taxi, which is quite a challenge in the area. Breakfast buffet was outstanding, but too few tables for the number of guests.
Would go back any time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyngsboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have returned to the Roger 4 times now. I originally bought a groupon to this hotel for a reasonable price. We loved the Roger the second we walked in the door. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean! The food is wonderful. The best part is it is different from any hotel you've been in. You feel like you are special from the moment you walk in the door! This past weekend we stayed in a room that had a small balcony and we looked out onto the top of the Empire State Building which was lit up in green! You will love this hotel! While you're there check out Bistengos which is an amazing italian restaurant just a couple of blocks walk from this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iteachkindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Spent two nights at The Roger last weekend and had a fantastic time! Rooms and bathroom were extremely clean and tidy and stylishly decorated. Beds and pillows were very comfortable and well enjoyed after a couple days of nonstop walking.

The walls were a bit thin and we could hear some music and tv in the next room, but it was very brief and not at all bothersome. Our room was right across from the elevator but surprisingly wasn't that noisy. Overall, the hotel's guests were quiet and courteous, so none of these facts were an issue. We did keep the air on during the night to block out any loud noises while we slept.

The best thing about The Roger is the staff; everyone was genuinely friendly and very helpful (but not overbearing or fake!!). We had a great time and would definitely return! Wish we had a chance to grab a drink at the bar or relax in the lobby - it's very nicely decorated!

Also, if you are driving to the city, The Roger will validate parking at the garage on 105 East 32nd Street (up and over a block between Park & Lex). Regular rates were $46 a day and we got it for $20 a day with the validation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebastian_bark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here last Fall. It was a great hotel! Doorman was excellent! Greeted you with a hello and smile after a long day. Always gave 120 percent effort in hailing a taxi. And Folks, PLEASE be sure to tip these doorman who are hailing cabs for you. They are practically out in the middle of the street yelling and blowing their whistles. And if you happen to be suffering from laryngitis that day or you are soft spoken in nature, then you should be tipping more! Just saying . . .

The lobby and rooms were very chic and Europeanish (if that's even a word- lol). The rooms are small and cozy but that is expected in NYC.

I was traveling here on business and stayed til the weekend for pleasure. My beautiful travel companion has never been to NYC, so the hotel is walking distance to the Empire State building and a few steps to the subway.

Will I stay here again? YES!!! Also, the price was right for this boutique hotel. Not a fan of the BIG chain hotels whenever I visit NYC.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the Terrace! You're missing out on the whole NYC experience by not hanging ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelJunky312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is my go-to hotel when I travel to New York for work. It's so good that it prompted my first ever TripAdvisor review. Awesome service, beautiful rooms, comfy beds, high-quality toiletries, and a gorgeous lobby. Definitely stay here when you're in New York. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you're traveling alone, I recommend asking for a non-adjoining room. While the walls are pret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fud28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I loved this hotel! Conveniently located, The Roger was beautiful and well maintained. The room we had was on the smaller side (typical of NYC) but even still, our beds were big and comfy. Between the bed and the black-out blinds, I slept great! Also, the bathroom was spotless and had super fluffy towels.

The front desk staff and door men were EXTREMELY friendly and helpful - some of the nicest I've ever had at a hotel. We were warmly greeted each time we entered and left. Thank you all! :)

However, be aware that if you book through Hotwire-esque sites that there is an additional service fee per day. We knew this going into our stay so it was fine, but I think others have been surprised by the charge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebelyell18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#120 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,245 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#132 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 32 32
Hotel 32 32
#157 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#163 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roger

Property: The Roger
Address: 131 Madison Ave, At 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-7057 (Formerly Hotel Roger Williams)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Green Hotel in New York City
#114 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#128 Business Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#222 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roger 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This June, The Roger is unveiling a sophisticated new look after extensive renovations of its public spaces and guest rooms. Standing at the crossroads of uptown and downtown off Madison Park, the new Roger is a marriage of chic design and old world comfort, while continuing an unyielding commitment to superior service. The fresh aesthetic of the Roger’s public spaces is curated by hospitality guru Steven Kamali and designed by the notable Anna Busta. A collaboration of renowned talent has distinguished a transitional hotel that caters to the demands of the modern traveler and local tastemakers alike. The vaulted lobby lounge provides an ideal space for any time of day or occasion, from morning business meetings to lunch with family, or catching up over cocktails with friends.To update the spacious guest rooms, the Roger tapped Annette Jaffe of MSM, whose timeless original design has kept travelers returning year after year. Jaffe’s new rooms are characterized by lush custom pieces and applied moldings to naturally compliment the historic building’s unique rooms and inviting terraces. Whether for only a night or a weeks long stay, the Roger is the savvy traveler’s home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Williams
Roger Williams Hotel
Roger Williams New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing