We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, modern and much more personable than the big hotels.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Roger

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Roger
Ranked #151 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Friendly, modern and much more personable than the big hotels.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had a great stay at The Roger. It's a stylish, modern, boutique hotel in a great location just a few blocks up from Madison Square Park, a couple down from the Empire State Building, and just a minute's walk from 33 Street Subway Station.

It was bitterly cold in the city during our stay, but the Hotel was always warm and inviting whatever time we got back, (which was sometimes very late). The staff were very friendly and they remembered us by name each time we were in reception. We liked it so much we extended our stay there for a few more days and they even honoured our pre-booked weekday price over the weekend.

The whole hotel is kept in great condition and is designed well throughout including the mezzanine cocktail bar and reception area. Our room was small-ish, but it's in Midtown New York, so was actually bigger than I expected, we had a balcony with a great view of Madison Avenue and the Empire State Building, which was beautiful in the snow. The room was very clean and nicely styled, and it being on the 14th floor it was well away from the never-ending traffic, so was nice and quiet. I did notice there was no coffee making facilities, but with so many coffee places in the city, who wants instant coffee in the room anyway?

Just one thing that I've read on here is that they charge an extra service fee upon checkout, which is hidden. We booked through MrAndMrsSmith.com and mentioned this during our stay and they waived the fee. They explained this is for the WiFi and Fitness Room, but I think they should have let people know beforehand as I've not sure it would have been subtracted had I not mentioned it. But it's a small concern.

I would recommend it to anyone as a funky, friendly hotel in a fantastic location, in one of the best cities in the world. Much more personable than the big hotels, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We booked through MrAndMrsSmith.com and got a good rate and 2 free cocktails.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,106
    789
    280
    83
    45
See reviews for
492
731
120
587
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Loved the hotel lobby ambiance, the service was great and the room very nice.
The pillows on the bed were amazing!
My friends stayed there after I did and had an equally great experience.
Definiely will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieBusch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you like modern chic, this is the place that you will like to stay. I love the marble wall bathroom with its strong hot jets. The bed is very comfortable. I did not hear any noise from next door; perhaps I had a good neighbour. However, I find that the lack of automatic door closer to be a real nuisance to guests. The constant door slamming by some guests when they leave their rooms is a real problem that the hotel management should look into.

The Roger is about 1.5 block from the Empire State Building. It is also close to the train station. So it is really quite a convenient location if you are staying in Manhattan but decide not to stay near Time Square.

As with other reviews by fellow travellers, I am also sceptical about that mandatory $22 charge per night. So far, this is the first time I had heard of such practice in NY. They would have gotten my higher rating if they have not charged such an "extra".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asher07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suttons Bay, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel is a perfect hotel for a frequent visitor to New York. Perfectly furnished and welcoming lobby, great breakfast, helpful and friendly staff, perfect location - BUT the rooms are tiny! Were were on the Penthouse floor, and the room was so small that I could not belive it. We booked online, booked the Empire Terrace Room for four nights. The room did have a tiny terrace and a lovely view of the Empire State building, but the size of the room and terrace was so disappointing. I loved the ambiance of the hotel so much that I would stay again, and try my best to get a better room!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haystacks-Brand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Roger is a beautiful hotel. Everything is relatively new and modern. Our king room 501 is smallish but quite OK by Manhattan standard. There is no view but that's only the worst thing about it. Having gotten the room from priceline, we expected the worst room in the entire hotel anyway. The bathroom is small but the design made use of limited space very well. It is well stocked with amenities although they are not free except soap, shampoo, and lotion. Not enough space for bathtub but the shower is hot and strong. We wish the glass partition extended a little longer so we don't have major spill on the bathroom floor after every shower. Bed is super comfortable. Space in room is also well designed. There are enough drawers and closet for our clothes and stuff. Walls seem to be thin. We heard everything from next door neighbor. We are sure they heard us too. Thanks to other reviews here, no surprise when we were told about the $22 extra charge per night. We would use our 4G LTE for Internet anyway so we raised an issue with the "mandatory" charge for wireless Internet we didn't plan to use. The nice front desk lady agreed to waive the charge. It's an odd choice the hotel made. They should either include the cost in the room price or charge for Internet when user logs on for the first time. This deceptive practice to hide the actual room cost should stop. Otherwise, we really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliveNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Booked through pricelines name your own price so this was the one that was chosen for us. My girlfriend and I both enjoyed the hotel, it was clean, had great decor, and had a nice bar in the lobby where we had a few drinks.. We were in the heart of the city so there was nothing really to complain about!...However there are not great late night eateries nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AwesomePossum3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This little hotel looks great but....it was so cold this week..the bedrooms are nice the aircon was noisy - didn't to work well - the meeting room was freezing ... the staff are friendly, but they interrupted the meeting I was having several times and seemed oblivious as to how inept they were.

Catering - not great value for money

I would stay again but in spring -

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNTaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#121 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,245 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#131 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 32 32
Hotel 32 32
#158 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#30 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#163 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roger

Property: The Roger
Address: 131 Madison Ave, At 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-7057 (Formerly Hotel Roger Williams)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Green Hotel in New York City
#114 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#128 Business Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#222 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roger 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This June, The Roger is unveiling a sophisticated new look after extensive renovations of its public spaces and guest rooms. Standing at the crossroads of uptown and downtown off Madison Park, the new Roger is a marriage of chic design and old world comfort, while continuing an unyielding commitment to superior service. The fresh aesthetic of the Roger’s public spaces is curated by hospitality guru Steven Kamali and designed by the notable Anna Busta. A collaboration of renowned talent has distinguished a transitional hotel that caters to the demands of the modern traveler and local tastemakers alike. The vaulted lobby lounge provides an ideal space for any time of day or occasion, from morning business meetings to lunch with family, or catching up over cocktails with friends.To update the spacious guest rooms, the Roger tapped Annette Jaffe of MSM, whose timeless original design has kept travelers returning year after year. Jaffe’s new rooms are characterized by lush custom pieces and applied moldings to naturally compliment the historic building’s unique rooms and inviting terraces. Whether for only a night or a weeks long stay, the Roger is the savvy traveler’s home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, MrandMrsSmith, Despegar.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Williams
Roger Williams Hotel
Roger Williams New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing