We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with this hotel!”
Review of The Roger

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Roger
Ranked #145 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Argentina
Level Contributor
153 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very happy with this hotel!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The 2 nights stay here were great!
Clean, modern, comfortable.
Close to the metro station. It has a refrigerator. Many candies and beverages to consume, although expensive.
Sleeping quality was amazing, the attention perfect. I arrived early and was able to change clothes in a big bathroom they have in the lobby.
I also sent some packages bought through internet and received them perfectly.
It's very close to the Empire State Building.
I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f_mariano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,158
    816
    286
    89
    47
See reviews for
512
754
126
619
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed here for over a week on business. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. I was on a high floor, so the street noise wasn't really an issue. The staff was very helpful without being overbearing. I appreciated the gym and wi-fi, as well as the laptops available in the lobby for printing documents (extremely useful for business travelers). The location is also excellent, close to many subway lines and plenty of places to eat nearby.

I didn't try the breakfast, so no comment there. My main piece of constructive feedback: It would be great to provide coffee making equipment in the room (either a water kettle or mini coffee maker) so that there is no need to leave to have a cup of coffee. Other than that, no real complaints.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank makeittso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

The roger is just ok. The staff had that nyc standoffishness which wasn't a big deal since one expects it in nyc. The room was smallish and the ac makes a lot of noise. The bathroom was my main issue. There was no where to place toiletries and the lighting was horrible. The top of the toilet was filled with stuff they were trying to sell you in case you forgot something. Pretty tacky. Also there were no towel racks or hooks. The towels hung on the handicap rails next to the toilet. where would a handicap person put the towels if they needed to use the rails?
As per usual in nyc, there were no coffee makers in the rooms, but for $25 you could eat breakfast there.
On the plus side, it's very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fundog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great hotel - recently updated. Room was spacious and clean - couldn't really fault it. Staff were all friendly, but not overly - which i prefer. Close to metro, and walking distance (if you like walking - about 30 mins) to central park etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

3 night stay on business, I will give the positives...the room was spotless, bed was very comfortable, bathroom clean and well serviced. Breakfast in the restaurant was nice with a good variety of menu to choose from. Now the negatives, TV picture poor on many channels, in 3 nights I had to replace my room key 4 times !!! on each occasion I was told to keep it away from magnets !!! duh this I took to mean my cell phone which I duly did (after the first time !!) and yet it failed 3 more times. The previous negatives I would never mention in a Hotel where I was being charged a reasonable rate, but NOT here, here I would expect these items to be non existant given the rate I paid. However my biggest disapointment occured at the Front desk, to explain during the week it became apparent I had to stay an extra night (4 in total) I informed the Front Desk the previous day, they said they required confirmation from the Company I was working for (who made the booking) I queried this as I was paying for stay it was my Credit Card that would be paying the bill ??? but to no avail they required confirmation. I duly requested same from the project company and all would be OK......wrong ! Following morning (early) I decided to check that all was OK and that confirmation was recieved......wrong. I was informed that they had me down to check out that day, I again pointed out I had informed them previous day, and it was myself paying... etc. to be told the following "well from where I'm standing, we're full tonight and cannot accomodate you !!!!!!" I proceeded in front of this lady to book another hotel on Madison Ave I had stayed at previously. Note: bear in mind I was now late for my Business appointment that morning as I now had to pack and check out !! I secured a room at the next Hotel and returned having packed to this same lady, to be asked "Checking Out ??" I did not reply to this, the look I think said it all, but here's the kicker......her next action was the best "Ok let me look (glance at computer).....good news actually we can extend your stay" The booking I had made at the other Hotel had a cancellation fee so NO THANKS. This is a busy expensive Hotel that does not meet the basic criteria to charge what they do, other than maybe it's in NY.....however given the Hotel choice in Manhatten, it's just simply not good enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriggerMLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liza L, General Manager at The Roger, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear TriggerMLR.
Thank you for your good feedback about the Roger. In regards to your Front Office Experience, I would like to talk to you, so I can find out more details on what went wrong. We do pride ourselves on our service at The Roger and it is very disappointing for me to know that you did not leave happy.
Please contact me directly at (212) 448-7000
Kindest Regards
Patrick Horstmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Just wrote a huge review but it got deleted. Grr. Bottom line- the hotel is lovely!! They gave us champagne when we checked in! The decor is chic and lovely. Yes rooms are small- but aren't they all in NYC? I loved that instead of mini bottles of shampoo they had big pumps mounted in the shower. And breakfast was delicious (better than the typical hotel buffet- even had smoked salmon and prosciutto!)- but not included, which we didn't know until AFTER eating. $19pp isnt bad from brunch in NYC, but is certainly not free like we thought. And the $20 "fee" is annoying. Either raise the rates or make the fee optional. We didn't use wifi or the gym, and it didn't include breakfast, so that was frustrating. I did know about it in advance- but only from these reviews. Otherwise it would have been a nasty surprise bc they did NOT mention it at checkin. And the mini bar/snacks/bathroom amenities were expensive- but I'm seeing that more and more these days and it's certainly not unique to the Roger.

Oh! And the stationary in the desk is adorable!!

We got a discounted rate of $239 bc we were there for a wedding. I would have expected a hotel this nice to cost more. But after all fees/taxes our 2 nt stay was >$600 which was not great.

But that's my only gripe. It's a lovely hotel with very nice people in a great location. Just ended up costing a good bit more than I'd expected.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I booked a room through a secret sale on Quikbook and was very pleased. The hotel lobby is very swanky and I really enjoyed the modern decor in the rooms. My room was on the third floor overlooking 31st Street (I did not have any problems with street noise...the a/c was a bit loud but I'd rather have a cool room and get over the sound). I was on my own in a room with a king bed (two nights) and it was plenty of room for me. I think it would be just fine for two people as well. The bathroom is on the small side but I'm not sure why you would need much more space. There was plenty of room on the vanity to put make-up, etc. while getting ready. The hotel provides water and snacks in the room (but be careful of the price tags). Some of the reviews I read prior to my arrival talked about a fee for wireless, fitness center, etc but I was not charged anything beyond what I paid on Quikbook. It's a nice location within walking distance of several subway lines so you can get anywhere. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. I visit New York several times a year to see friends from college and The Roger will definitely be on my list of hotel options in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,269 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#133 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 32 32
Hotel 32 32
#162 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#154 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roger

Property: The Roger
Address: 131 Madison Ave, At 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-7057 (Formerly Hotel Roger Williams)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Green Hotel in New York City
#111 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#128 Business Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#222 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roger 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This June, The Roger is unveiling a sophisticated new look after extensive renovations of its public spaces and guest rooms. Standing at the crossroads of uptown and downtown off Madison Park, the new Roger is a marriage of chic design and old world comfort, while continuing an unyielding commitment to superior service. The fresh aesthetic of the Roger’s public spaces is curated by hospitality guru Steven Kamali and designed by the notable Anna Busta. A collaboration of renowned talent has distinguished a transitional hotel that caters to the demands of the modern traveler and local tastemakers alike. The vaulted lobby lounge provides an ideal space for any time of day or occasion, from morning business meetings to lunch with family, or catching up over cocktails with friends.To update the spacious guest rooms, the Roger tapped Annette Jaffe of MSM, whose timeless original design has kept travelers returning year after year. Jaffe’s new rooms are characterized by lush custom pieces and applied moldings to naturally compliment the historic building’s unique rooms and inviting terraces. Whether for only a night or a weeks long stay, the Roger is the savvy traveler’s home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Roger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Williams
Roger Williams Hotel
Roger Williams New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing