We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, great Rooftop Bar & Free WiFi”
Review of Roger Smith Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roger Smith Hotel
Ranked #122 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cozy, great Rooftop Bar & Free WiFi”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Paid a AAA rate of approx $145 for a Queen bed room. Style is eclectic and dated but the room was clean and had all the basic amenities plus free wifi. Location, price and the beautiful rooftop bar made it a very nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank F00die729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    957
    733
    238
    99
    64
See reviews for
686
401
150
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We really liked this hotel. It offers all the comforts of home, right down to the free yogurt with toppings and Granny Smith's apples in the lobby. As a matter of fact, if you're not into all the trendy, posh-posh that most of the hotels offer, this is the perfect spot for you. I'm not saying its a hole in wall, it's just comfortable and cozy; almost like visiting an older relative with the convenience of cable tv, a/c and even books to read (if you have time). The only suggestion I would recommend for the manager/owner would be to update the window treatments to "fit" your windows, especiallly since the long curtain tend to cover the a/c unit when it's on. Otherwise, it was a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Go up high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmdi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Very good location where is close to most of the valuable points in NY city, including Time square, Enterprise building, Central Park.
Rooms were clean and staffs are friendly! Very good option for travelling in NY.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Beny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

The Roger Smith is a great value overall. Friendly and helpful staff. Larger than your average NYC room (junior suite). Slept 5 very comfortably. Very clean and neat. Close to subway and Grand Central Station. Walked to Times Square. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchendon, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Exceptional location!
Excellent service at the front desk and the bar on the roof!
Great free yogourt all day long.
Very good value for the price.
Do not use parking if you do not have! Park outside the city if you can. If not, it is easy access from North East!
Thanks to John and Craig and staff for good times.

Room Tip: We had room 404 great view to street corner..but a little noisy on weekdays...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1960Jacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Mary's City, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed there last week with two 20-something year old daughters. We all loved the room and funky decor. My daughter commented how nice it was to stay someplace that wasn't cookie-cutter. Also, the beds were very comfortable and I tend to be on the picky side about that. The staff was very willing to help us out as tourists. They were very patient with our questions, gave us maps and directions, checked our luggage when we arrived at 11 am and were willing to keep it in storage between check out time and our train trip home. The location was great in terms of subway access. Also, it's near the Grand Central Market, which was a fine place to grab reasonably priced to-go food for people with gluten-free or dairy issues. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The junior suite is a very reasonably price for the amount of beds and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seemoretraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Booked a room over the weekend, and I was very pleased with the room and the personnel Very helpful and polite, helped us get cabs and always greeted us with a smile.
The hotel room was comfortable and spacious.
The only thing I would complain about was a hidden fee that applied each night we stayed. I booked it online and the night fee was not mentioned until I arrived.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lifebysebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#127 of 466 in New York City
598 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#135 of 466 in New York City
489 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#64 of 466 in New York City
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 466 in New York City
227 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#52 of 466 in New York City
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roger Smith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roger Smith Hotel

Property: Roger Smith Hotel
Address: 501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-2008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Green Hotel in New York City
#182 Family Hotel in New York City
#182 Business Hotel in New York City
#187 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Roger Smith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic 1930's New York skyscraper - Midtown location on east side, 3 blocks to Grand Central Station. Home away from home. People. Art. Stories. Ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Roger Smith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Smith
Roger Smith Hotel New York
Roger Smith New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing