We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The place to be!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roger Smith Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Roger Smith Hotel
Ranked #141 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Winchendon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The place to be!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Exceptional location!
Excellent service at the front desk and the bar on the roof!
Great free yogourt all day long.
Very good value for the price.
Do not use parking if you do not have! Park outside the city if you can. If not, it is easy access from North East!
Thanks to John and Craig and staff for good times.

Room Tip: We had room 404 great view to street corner..but a little noisy on weekdays...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1960Jacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    681
    226
    96
    61
See reviews for
610
375
138
451
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Mary's City, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed there last week with two 20-something year old daughters. We all loved the room and funky decor. My daughter commented how nice it was to stay someplace that wasn't cookie-cutter. Also, the beds were very comfortable and I tend to be on the picky side about that. The staff was very willing to help us out as tourists. They were very patient with our questions, gave us maps and directions, checked our luggage when we arrived at 11 am and were willing to keep it in storage between check out time and our train trip home. The location was great in terms of subway access. Also, it's near the Grand Central Market, which was a fine place to grab reasonably priced to-go food for people with gluten-free or dairy issues. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The junior suite is a very reasonably price for the amount of beds and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seemoretraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Booked a room over the weekend, and I was very pleased with the room and the personnel Very helpful and polite, helped us get cabs and always greeted us with a smile.
The hotel room was comfortable and spacious.
The only thing I would complain about was a hidden fee that applied each night we stayed. I booked it online and the night fee was not mentioned until I arrived.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lifebysebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelfart, Denmark
Level Contributor
219 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We choose the hotel based on location and the interior on the pictures online. We were not disappointed. The inside has a nice quirky style and the rooms are clean and nice. The service was great and the roof top bar is worth a visit. Location is close to lots of main sites and there are tons of great restaurants in the area.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mvanting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Over all experience was pleasant for a long weekend family mini vacation. Only had a minor issue with valet. I was informed it would take 20 minutes to get my car and it took an hour. Would not hesitate to stay at this location again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank NovaScotaiTravel2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at how clean, and neat this hotel was for the price. I had the junior suite, and although small, it was enough. My only complaints, were the rug was old and worn, and needed updating, the TV was between the Large chair and sofa, so you had to turn it one way or the other, and 2 people could not watch at the same time.

The staff was great, and we would probably stay there again. Overall, I think the hotel needs some renovation, but for the price I would give it a 3 out of 5.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great Value, Classic Old Style Hotel! I have stayed here once before. Both times the room was very nice and the service was very good. The room with the sitting area is also a very nice touch along with the complimentary yogurt and granola.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Howard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#133 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#124 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#109 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#130 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#67 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roger Smith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roger Smith Hotel

Property: Roger Smith Hotel
Address: 501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-2008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Green Hotel in New York City
#184 Family Hotel in New York City
#184 Business Hotel in New York City
#189 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Roger Smith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic 1930's New York skyscraper - Midtown location on east side, 3 blocks to Grand Central Station. Home away from home. People. Art. Stories. Ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Roger Smith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Smith
Roger Smith Hotel New York
Roger Smith New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing