We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean and great location”
Review of Roger Smith Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Roger Smith Hotel
Ranked #109 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I like this hotel a lot. Staff was friendly and helpful. We had a deluxe suite which was huge and was about the cost of two standard rooms so great for families or groups. It was pricey but I feel like all NYC hotels are.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lovingjesster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,148 - 1,154 of 2,213 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

You can't beat the location if you are doing business in the Park Avenue area. You can walk to 2nd or 3rd and find great restaurants and bars. The rooms are a bit old, but they are very clean and larger than most in the area.

Only complaint I've ever had was that they provide 2 TV remotes and I can never figure out how to use them, also no matter what room I'm in ESPN2 either has no sound, or sound so low you have to turn volume all the way up to hear it. All in all though that's not a big deal.

I think best thing I can say is that I often recommend it to my colleagues who are traveling to NY on business. I am in NY 10-12 times a year and almost always stay at the Roger Smith.

Room Tip: Junior Suites are excellent and a great value. Higher floors are my personal preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

It was a nice stay, but I couldn't shake the feeling that I was going hear "NORMAN" shouted at any moment. The décor has that Bates Motel/Hotel setting a little eerie. It really needs to be updated. It's like their advertising it at 'homey and quaint' as an excuse NOT to update their hotel. But, they do offer crispy green apples and greek yogurt with granola toppings in the lobby.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pmdi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlenny P, Guest Relations Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Pmdi66,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your most recent stay with us. What you have described is certainly not the kind of experience we envision for our guests and I'm truly sorry to read about your displeasure with your accommodations.

Our guests feedback is valuable to us and I'll be available to further discuss additional details regarding your stay.

Best regards,

Marlenny Paredes
wecare@rogersmith.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We booked the Roger Smith at the last minute after looking at length for a room with aseparate sleeping area for a teenager. We were able to book a premium suite at just over $400.00 with AAA discount. A little more than we had hoped but still within reason. The suite turned out to be two bedrooms, a little kitchenette and a very large living room. It was extremely spacious, although the small bedroom only fit a twin. However, we could have easily stayed comfortably for a week. The room was in a very nice area, which was close to several hot spots and it felt very safe. The staff was courteous and attentive. Quick to welcome us, quick check in and reasonable valet parking. The room was just a little dated, but very clean and pleasantly decorated. They offer yogurt and apples in the lobby for a light breakfast. The one down side was the noise from mechanicals (commercial fans or something) several floors below. That was sort of difficult to sleep through. Our room was on the seventh floor. Even so, we would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask the staff if rooms higher or at the front would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmsw09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlenny P, Guest Relations Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear imsw09:

Thank you for your comments about our hotel. We feel our suites are especially suited to families and are happy that you found the suite spacious and enjoyed a separate bedroom for your teenager. We hope to welcome you in the near future.

Regards, Marlenny
wecare@rogersmith.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

very nice small hotel with good location in midtown. Room was clean and equiped with everything you need. There is a coffe machine and a little fridge. Breakfest are not possible, but you can get a nice and tasty yogurt in the lobby.
Close to central station, just a 10 min walk.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Przemyslaw R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlenny P, Guest Relations Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Przemyslaw R,

I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Marlenny Paredes
wecare@rogersmith.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is my second time at the Roger Smith, the last time in 2006. Over the last 30 years, I have been to the city 10 times and have stayed in six different hotels. The rooms are large for New York, the decor is quite elegant, if a little dated, but it seems to reflect the "family" feel of the hotel. The staff are professional, multi-lingual and most helpful. For an overseas traveller, the hotel could not be more convenient, with easy access to the 6 subway (and the E line to JFK) one way and Grand Central the other. And with the Waldorf-Astoria a block away and almost next door to the Chrysler Building, it certainly has quality neighbours!

Room Tip: Rooms facing Lexington Av are lighter and more pleasant than those facing to the rear. The windows a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Monty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Very nice hotel, and I have stayed here several times previously because of its midtown location. The rooms are always well appointed. The check-out experience early on a Saturday was disappointing as there was no one at the desk and the maintenance staff who happened to be in the lobby kept trying to reach the desk woman for about 10 minutes. I was behind another person checking out who was waiting even longer. The doorman and the operator (behind the lobby wall area remained chatting on a personal call) could or would not step in to check out, It was not until the doorman finally went upstairs that the desk woman was located. No apologies for the delay were offered.

Room Tip: Select a suite if you can afford it as it is a nice experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#122 of 469 in New York City
649 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#139 of 469 in New York City
539 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#31 of 469 in New York City
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#39 of 469 in New York City
713 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#200 of 469 in New York City
3,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roger Smith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roger Smith Hotel

Address: 501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-2008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#53 Green Hotel in New York City
#179 Family Hotel in New York City
#179 Business Hotel in New York City
#184 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $146 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roger Smith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic 1930's New York skyscraper - Midtown location on east side, 3 blocks to Grand Central Station. Home away from home. People. Art. Stories. Ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Roger Smith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Smith
Roger Smith Hotel New York
Roger Smith New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing