We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and cozy independent hotel, good value, superb location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Roger Smith Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roger Smith Hotel
Ranked #125 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hamilton, NJ
Level Contributor
558 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 616 helpful votes
“Good and cozy independent hotel, good value, superb location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

It is hard for us to find a hotel on Lexington Ave in the midtown area that we haven't stayed at. Roger Smith proved to be a nice surprise, however. It is very neat, small, lacking hustle and bustle of the chain hotels, intimate and quiet. Yes, quiet, for it is arguably one of the quietest hotels we have ever stayed at. Friday and Saturday nights, the time when the adjacent Marriott and Doubletree Tree Hilton are one non-stop rowdy shouting drunken match of the frolicking out-of-towners, Roger Smith felt like we were the only guests on our 11th floor.
The room was quite spacious, seriously larger than most of the Manhattan hotels. The hotel, being owned by the same family since the late 1930s, retains much of its old charm, yet offering most of the modern amenities, including a complimentary Wi-Fi with a password printed and placed in your room. Every room is provided with a veritable library offering books for every taste; very unusual and inspiring. Free complimentary breakfast items, such as Vermont made yogurt and cereals are available in the lobby.
The location doesn't need any dwelling on. Super! We wish Roger Smith success and will undoubtedly stay again.

Room Tip: In the colder months, use the heater; the control is on the right side (facing the heater). Do not c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGSOUNDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    703
    231
    98
    62
See reviews for
648
389
146
477
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
west chester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the charming aspect of this hotel, its location and proximity to what we had planned for the weekend. Loved the books and plants in the room! We felt the price vs value was excellent. Only downside was the loud music, talking and profanity from the room next door in the wee hours of the morning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sgkelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

The Roger Smith is a clean, convenient, and friendly oasis in mid-town Manhattan for budget-minded travelers who just want to be part of the city's cultural life or do business in the city without paying Manhattan's sky-high hotel prices.

The rooms are comfortable, both the rooms and the bathrooms are clean, the man at the desk is friendly, the yogurt is free, apples are free, there's a little refrigerator to put things you might buy for light meals, and (in our room anyway) two chairs and a small table to eat at, as well as an easy chair to read in. There's even a sundeck with a bar on the roof (albeit with a view made up entirely of other tall buildings and sky) for warmer weather. Who needs more?

If you're looking to impress a client (or a certain type of new girlfriend) this wouldn't be the place for you; but if you just want to get work done or enjoy the city, I don't think you can go wrong.

Room Tip: Insist on a no smoking room, unless you smoke. Our room smelled fine. Obviously (this is Manhattan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

First the not so good... The phone in our room did not work; not a huge deal but still. Next, some of the lights and lamps didn't function as well. It had to be the wiring and not the bulbs; again, not a huge deal but this was quite annoying. Lastly, the comforter on the bed was white and they had it in some kind of cover. The cover itself was clean and the comforter inside seemed to be clean as well but there were some questionable stains on it right at the top that just didn't wash out completely (maybe coffee and fruit punch... I hope). I know white is hard to keep spotless but a little bleach could've probably solved this. The shower curtain just seemed to be placed too far to the inside of the tub. It constantly came in contact with my shoulder and arm while showering which kinda forced me to hug the opposite wall which was very odd.

On to the good... There was free wifi. They had some type of dvd rental service with a huge catalog which would be cool If you had to spend a lot of time in the room though I didn't use it. The TV has cable. The staff was very nice and check-in/check-out was a breeze. There's a bar downstairs and the bartender is very friendly. The mattress itself was very comfortable as well as the pillows. And besides the odd shower curtain placement, the bathroom was nice for the most part. Location of the hotel is good, its within a short walk to multiple subway lines and bars/restaurants. We stayed 2 nights and didnt have any problem getting around and actually did spend a good amount of time in the room (besides sleeping) since a nor'easter was upon us at one point.

I actually wound up booking this place because I had to cancel my reservation elsewhere due to traveling a day later than planned due to a snow storm. I cant say I'd necessarily stay again unless I got a really good rate but I do not regret staying here and still had an overall favorable experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank defEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Modestly priced for Manhattan, the Roger Smith Hotel is a pleasant boutique hotel. My room was apparently a premium room, but was good-sized and nicely appointed. A writing desk with a bookcase a several books was a very nice touch, and there are DVD players in the rooms. Beds are comfortable with nice bedding. Some issues controlling temperature in the room.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Great comfort, ambiance and warm and welcoming staff- we wouldn't stay anywhere else in New York ! Complimentary yogurt ( excellent quality) , fruit, rooftop lounge, downstairs restaurant and very large rooms- lots of value and lots of fun!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbarannet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

this is an old style traditional little hotel on 48th at 501 lexington. the room was very clean, staff helpful and courteous, bathroom had no space to store anything but other than that it was fine. comfortable beds, traditional furniture. it has a bar that features different artists' works. very quiet hotel although there is street noise. you couldn't control the heat and i didn't like that but the room was comfortable. nice walk in closet.

close to times square where we went a lot but not terribly close to greenwich village where we needed to be, too.

but i thought it was a very good deal and an unbeatable price

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dori734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#121 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#79 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#138 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#72 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roger Smith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roger Smith Hotel

Property: Roger Smith Hotel
Address: 501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-2008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Green Hotel in New York City
#183 Business Hotel in New York City
#183 Family Hotel in New York City
#188 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Roger Smith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic 1930's New York skyscraper - Midtown location on east side, 3 blocks to Grand Central Station. Home away from home. People. Art. Stories. Ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roger Smith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Smith
Roger Smith Hotel New York
Roger Smith New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing