We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down Hill”
Review of Roger Smith Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Roger Smith Hotel
Ranked #107 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have stayed at the Roger Smith Hotel perhaps five times over the last ten or so years. The last time was 2010. We recently spent four nights there in early Dec. 2013 and it is more than tattered at the edges. The house keeping was done by the blind. Behind the TV we left a note alerting the housekeeper to the herd of dust bunnies that had morphed into creatures. Their had not been a cleaning there since Mayor Wagner was in office. The bath tub didn't drain - well no wonder it was full of hair.
The flesh colored tile may have been in fashion during the Wagner administration but guess what
a whole industry exists in the hotel business that can paint that surface to be any color you want.

The bed was warm which was good because the heater was turned off, however it was shaped like an old plow horse con caved. Ok then they then turn the heater on.

After a night of depth charges sounds like we were in a sub-marine we understood why the heating was off.

This for over $400 a night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warduka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Warduka,

I am very sorry to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectations on your most recent trip to New York in early December.

As you know from previous stays with us, we are committed to providing clean, comfortable and beautiful guest rooms and consequently your feedback is critically important to us so that we can identify the areas in which we need to improve in order to meet that standard.

I would sincerely appreciate it if you would contact me directly at jbirdsong@rogersmith.com so that we learn more about your experience.

Looking forward to hearing from you,

John Birdsong, Media Director
Roger Smith Hotel, NYC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,244 - 1,250 of 2,272 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

Very cozy but roomy room. Lots of books to read are scattered around the hotel when you need a break from the city. 3 blocks from the subway and surrounded by places for a quick bite. Opening the penthouse for a holiday happy hour with wrapping paper for packages was the extra nice touch we appreciated. Will return.

Room Tip: Probably quieter on the back side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anovavacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Every Christmas we go into NYC for one night and usually use Hotwire in the summer to get a good rate. This year we decided to meet friends there and they have stayed at this hotel for years so we decided to book our rooms there also. It was more expensive than using Hotwire, but we were pleased.

My friends had mentioned the fact that they have stayed there for years quite casually to someone at the evening cookies-and-cocoa in the penthouse and found themselves upgraded to a huge 2-bedroom suite with kitchenette (and given free coffee mugs with the hotel dog on them).
This is a little hotel with panache.
We upgraded to a junior suite so the room was very large for NYC. Rooms are very homey - not at all Hotel-Motel Décor - more like a bed and breakfast, with doilies, interesting lamps and furniture, and as many have mentioned, books in the room. Wallpaper is a nice touch; prints in our room were old engravings of NYC - Brooklyn Bridge in one, very nice and unique. The hotel sponsors artists and there is art all over it and I guess if one had the time one could go around it like a museum...they even have a tv channel with artists' productions.

Suite had safe, microwave and fridge in closet.

As others have also mentioned the Greek yogurt (vanilla and maple, always plentiful) and granola in the lobby is a nice touch for breakfast or a snack any time I took some and kept it in the fridge in the room,

The location is great if you are coming in on Metro North but is centrally located and so great for visitors,

We were there over the holidays and the hotel provided a gift wrapping station complete with several rolls of paper, wired ribbon, curling ribbon, stick-on bows, tags of many types, small bells to be tied on packages, tape, scissors, and hotel-logo fabric bags to carry your wrapped gifts in. They also had the aforementioned fresh cookies, hot cocoa and wine in the penthouse every day from 4-7. When we were there the weather was unseasonably warm so they had opened the penthouse veranda and we went out there. I lived in that neighborhood for 3 years many moons ago and have been in and out of NYC too many times to count but was never out on a roof garden till then. Never too late for new experiences!

There are some rough edges here - paint chipping a bit on bathroom door, scratches in the wood in elevator - but they are minor and to be expected in a small boutique hotel of this age.

Wish I had checked Trip Advisor because I would have loved to bring my dog.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Lexington Avenue side are noisier but the view is better, so go high as possible. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sullific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Normally I would not review the same property several times but having tried other hotels in this price range in midtown, there's a reason I keep coming back to Roger Smith when I need to be in midtown.

The staff is extraordinarily friendly - always. On the phone before I arrive and throughout he stay.

The rooms are spacious. Yes, some are newer than others but overall they are fine and the bathrooms generally in good shape if not recently renovated. If you want newly appointed and this kind of room size, you'll probably have to spend more....

I wish I could find hotels with some of the characteristics of the RS in more cities.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SODA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The Roger Smith Hotel is a lovely boutique hotel in mid-town Manhatten. We stayed there November 2013. The staff is wonderful and responsive. We brought dogs - no problem. We needed to park our car - no problem. The rooms are average size with "home-style" furnishings. If you're looking for a corporate hotel, this is not it. It is an older hotel with character. The location is excellent with easy access to the subway, Grand Central Station & Terminal, Penn Station as well as extremely walkable. We will definitely stay here again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IlDucaIlDumpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Fab location, lovely room with two king size beds for me and my friend celebrating my 50th birthday in New York. Lovely front desk staff who couldn't do enough for us, love it love it love it such a fab hotel in a fab position, can't wait for two years time to do it all again, THANK YOU !!

Room Tip: can be a little noisy if your room faces out to Lexington Ave but we slept through it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allyson25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 [see my review], and returned in early December for our holiday trip. Reservation was for a 1 bedroom suite and a two bed Junior suite. Discovered Jr Suite had only one bed, but front desk person solved it, although we could not all be on the same floor.

This one bedroom suite had shower stall as well as jacuzzi tub in a bathroom twice the size compared to the last time we stayed. Same small kitchen with dorm 'fridge, sink, microwave and coffee maker.

Wonderful location for theater district. Central park is 13 block up and three over. Fifth Avenu shopping is two blocks cross-town. This is not a big chain, chrome and glass-type hotel, but an individually run business. The building is probably from the '30s, but has been well updated and maintained. Clearly the owners have an interest in art that provides charcter.

Staff was very helpful with dining hints, where to shop for simple things like milk (the Duane Reed on the corner), travel times, etc.

Planning on staying there next Christmas. Hope to make a weekend trip over the Summer too.

Rest of our party in two double beds with a pullout love seat (single) in the Junior Suite. They were also happy.

Room Tip: Book on their web site or contact via email with questions or requests, since there seems to be some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koalatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 473 in New York City
480 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#68 of 473 in New York City
836 reviews
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#42 of 473 in New York City
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#35 of 473 in New York City
736 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#130 of 473 in New York City
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roger Smith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roger Smith Hotel

Address: 501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-2008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Green Hotel in New York City
#178 Business Hotel in New York City
#183 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $151 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roger Smith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic 1930's New York skyscraper - Midtown location on east side, 3 blocks to Grand Central Station. Home away from home. People. Art. Stories. Ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Roger Smith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Smith
Roger Smith Hotel New York
Roger Smith New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing