We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a pleasant night in a quaint hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Roger Smith Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Roger Smith Hotel
Ranked #125 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tolland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a pleasant night in a quaint hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Spent September 8/29 at this quaint boutique hotel. It might be a little rough looking but it was very clean with surprisingly large rooms. We stayed in a guest room, the smallest, and it was large for the boutique hotels that we've stayed at. Could it use some updating? Sure. But I thought it was a bargain, convenient to Grand Central. We drove in and the parking garage is just around the corner.They even valet parked the car. A bargain for $35 dollars. We would stay there again. Staff was nice and accommodating.

Room Tip: Our room was in the back and quiet. Front rooms can be loud if not used to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    702
    231
    97
    62
See reviews for
643
389
145
477
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Great location, but the hotel needs updating. Carpeting is dirty and shabby. The furniture in the suite had a musty smell. The rooftop bar is very cool but it closes at 10. The staff is very friendly and competent.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlenny P, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear RHuckle,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience at the Roger Smith Hotel. We take pride in fulfilling our guest’s requests and were glad you found our staff to be proficient and helpful. Regarding your accommodations; I’m truly sorry to hear that it fell short of your spectations. Please know that the executive team will be conducting a walkthrough of your suite and schedule necessary updates.

We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back, reassuring you that your next stay will be to the standard that you expect.

Don’t hesitate to contact me if you wish to discuss further.

Best regards,

Marlenny Paredes
wecare@rogersmith.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I went there in august 6th, stayed there for 9 days and i can say, really good place and good price, because its 4 blocks away from 5th avenue and really close to central park. People who work there are really nice and they're up to help you with any information you need, they have maps and discounts coupons. The break fast is really good, its at Café Metro, one block away from the hotel, they give you some kind of ticket wich worths 8 dolars. I recommend it to anyone who wants to go there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernando V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlenny P, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Fernando V,

We are thrilled to see from your wonderful feedback that you enjoyed your stay at the Roger Smith Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next NYC venture

Best regards,

Marlenny Paredes
wecare@rogersmith.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

For my husband, my two-year-old and me, the Roger Smith couldn't be beat. The 1BR suite provided plenty of space, and the kitchenette was very handy to feed our toddler. We did research, and we probably paid 40% less than comparable size suites in Manhattan. The housekeepers did a nice job and were very nice themselves. The furnishings are worn (though it's nice to have "real" furniture versus the same stock pieces in every room), so if you will cringe at a slight stain on the couch, go elsewhere. For those who want a home away from home, you won't be disappointed

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBirdsong, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi Vahoo,

Thank you so much for your review : ) We're thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Come back and visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Warning: If you are looking for one of those new New York "boutique" hotels with tiny (but "chique") rooms, ultra-modern décor, and noisy bar scene, the Roger Smith is not for you. If you are looking for an "old-school" warm and friendly place with a tad eclectic bed and breakfast décor in the heart of Midtown - you are greeted with apples at the front desk and a cooler full of yogurt and granola - this is the place. Sofia, at the front desk could not have been more warm and welcoming if she tried. In fact, all of the staff was down-to-earth and you could tell they genuinely enjoyed working there.There is a cozy roof-top café that you can also just take your yogurt and granola with to enjoy the skyline. And if you need some "boutique" feel, the grounds are surrounded by really unusual sculptures and wall art. I booked it after reading other reviews. Actually it was the few negative reviews that convinced me to stay - the one's that complained about the old-fashioned furnishings and décor. Did I mention LaGuardia is just a 20 minute cab ride from the hotel in the morning and Grand Central Station is just down the block?

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny. Twin-double beds rooms also a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBirdsong, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi David,

I've got to say that your review made me smile! We are definitely not a run of the mill cookie cutter hotel. Where some people see "old fashioned" others see classic and authentic. We couldn't be happier that you appreciate our aesthetic. Please be sure to stay with us again...and if you do please give us a call ahead of time : )

THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived around 10:30 a.m. expecting that we would need to wait until 3:00 p.m. (official check-in time) to get access to our room. The pleasant lady at the reception desk gave us the key and told us our room was ready for us! She also offered us an apple from the basket on the desk and told us to help ourselves to the yogurt and granola table in the lobby at any time during our stay. We found our room to be clean, pleasant, and comfortable. We also had a small refrigerator in our room. All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful experience at this hotel and would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBirdsong, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi RJC626,

Thank you so much for your review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The yogurt and granola is really good isn't it?

Please call us next time you're coming to New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my friend when we went to NYC for the first time. I've booked it on the net and didn't really think too much of it, because we were going to stay there for only a night after a trip to DC. I booked a junior suite and as far as i can remember it wasn't too expensive between the two of us. When we finally arrived, we were welcomed by friendliness and hospitality that were quite unexpected in midtown Manhattan (I am of course generalising in re to Manhattanese stereotypical and general rudeness. But having said that, I once had to 'talk to the hand' of a subway ticket officer when i was about to ask her how to navigate the subway map for the first time). When we saw the room, we regretted the fact we were only staying there for a night. The room has a luxurious country feel about it. The beddings are very soft and comfortable. I wish that was my room back home. The location is a little bit of a walk from the main attraction, but not too far away (10 minutes on average walking pace). It's surrounded with office, and if you're like me and you're on holiday in NYC, there's a certain novelty watching people going to work in the morning, getting their breakfast from the food stall or deli. I recommended going to one of the deli nearby and try to get your breakfast there. But, just a piece of warning, get all your exact money in your hand ready before you join the queue to order. Everybody (probably except you) there will be in a super rush (including the people behind the counter) and will give you the deadliest stare and tsk tsk sound

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank breakingthehabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBirdsong, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi breakingthehabit,

Thank you so much for your review! It sounds like you had a great trip. Midtown is a really interesting neighborhood, with some of the best people watching in NYC. You hit it on the head when you talk about country with a luxury feel. It's such a cool mix of aesthetics especially when you look out the window and see that you're surrounded by skyscrapers.

Come back soon!

Sincerely,
John Birdsong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#83 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#74 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roger Smith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roger Smith Hotel

Property: Roger Smith Hotel
Address: 501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-2008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Green Hotel in New York City
#183 Business Hotel in New York City
#183 Family Hotel in New York City
#188 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Roger Smith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic 1930's New York skyscraper - Midtown location on east side, 3 blocks to Grand Central Station. Home away from home. People. Art. Stories. Ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roger Smith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Smith
Roger Smith Hotel New York
Roger Smith New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing