We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good service, location, value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roger Smith Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Roger Smith Hotel
Ranked #142 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good service, location, value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

As I did not know this hotel, it was not my first option for a 4 night stay in NY but I was very happy with what I found and would stay there again.

The staff are extremely friendly and courteous. Rooms are clean and spacious (I had a walk-in closet - never before in NYC), although I think some on the higher floors have been ugraded\renovated.

The radiator in the room was making some noise on the first night - I was immediately moved to another room and given a breakfast voucher for the incovenience. I found this pretty to be pretty impressive.

The price\value point is excellent and I think tough to beat in Manhattan.

Room Tip: Higher floor, not on Lexington (more quiet).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SODA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    681
    226
    96
    61
See reviews for
610
375
138
453
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

The Roger Smith Hotel was completely surprising. Every floor and every room is different. It all looks like an ecelectic grandma was living in the building right before you checked in and she was really into art from all over the world. I mean that in a good way. I loved the charisma of this hotel that comes from the historical charm of keeping the original USPS system in the hotel and the original bath drains that you open up outside the tub!
The rooms are quite spacious for NYC and the free wifi is excellent!
I really enjoyed this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRealKatieWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

We had booked a one bedroom suite which was a bit tired looking but nice and spacious. Staff were very friendly, except there was no-one to help us in with bags when we arrived. Wifi was very patchy. Quiet for NY with windows on two sides. Restaurant only served breakfast but there were some delis nearby.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

The Roger Smith Hotel, once again, provided us with outstanding service during our 4 day visit this week. I've stayed there a number of times over the last year and I find it increasingly difficult to leave. The staff at the front desk and in the lobby is always ready to great you with a friendly hello and a smile. Our room was perfect - nicely decorated with plenty of space and a very comfortable bed. The housekeeping staff does a great job keeping the rooms exceptionally clean. The location couldn't be better and the beautiful art on exhibit in the hotel each time we visit is a wonderful bonus.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel is so wonderful that I almost hate to write a favorable review and turn other NYC travelers onto it. The desk clerk was warm and helpful, the parking attendant speedy, and the two room suite we shared was perfect. The bedroom reminded me of staying in a friend's guest room, 4 poster bed, dresser with pretty lamps and tasteful curtains The bed was comfy and since we own a B&B in Vermont we know about what makes a bed comfy!

We were able to walk to and from the theater, feeling safe the whole way. Breakfast was prompt and good and the waiters full of good NYC tips. The tres cute popup jewelry store attached to the hotel was a real find as well. All in all, this was a perfect hotel, in a perfect location.

Room Tip: Ask for one of their junior suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

Stayed 8 nights at the Roger Smith Hotel and enjoyed very much. Good place, near the Central Station and the Rockfeller Center, Moma, etc. As I Like to walk I went to most of the places I wanted by foot. For those who dont like there's the metro really close. People very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristal2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

...and check into the Roger Smith, a hotel with charm, warmth, and an amazingly friendly and helpful front desk staff. We first stayed at "The Roger" about six years ago while on a business trip, and have been back at least twice a year since...always for pleasure. It's in a perfect location - an enjoyable walk to the Theater District, five blocks to Grand Central, and only 4 blocks to the 4-5-6 Trains, which will connect you to virtually every NYC sight. The high-ceilinged rooms harken back to the days when hotels were built like homes...and we certainly feel at home from the moment we enter the small, tranquil lobby, which is adorned with artwork - yet another hallmark of the Roger Smith. Stir in the coziness of Lily's, a small, quiet bar right off the lobby, and top it off with free Wireless internet, and you're sure to be a fan of the Roger Smith, too. However, if you prefer glitzy, moussed, Vegas-type hotels, perhaps you should look elsewhere. No worry; there are plenty of 'em around.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#133 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#122 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#100 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#127 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#74 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roger Smith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roger Smith Hotel

Property: Roger Smith Hotel
Address: 501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-2008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Green Hotel in New York City
#184 Family Hotel in New York City
#184 Business Hotel in New York City
#189 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Roger Smith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic 1930's New York skyscraper - Midtown location on east side, 3 blocks to Grand Central Station. Home away from home. People. Art. Stories. Ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Roger Smith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Smith
Roger Smith Hotel New York
Roger Smith New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing