We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn New York City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn New York City
Ranked #332 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Such a great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Having found such a terrific place on Upper West Side, just a few minutes walk from Broadway and Central Park, and with the space and luxury of a private spa and a whole floor apartment, I must admit considering keeping it a secret. But since unfortunately it is some time until our next New York trip, we are happy to share our full recommendation of this lovely suite inn. Location wise it is very close to the subway on Broadway 72nd street, which brings you everywhere, but really you will just want to stay in the suite. We had the spa suite for three nights. It is nicely decorated in a traditional style, has a full kitchen and the large spa with bubble bath, fireplace, sauna. We appreciated the friendly staff, who welcomed us with a home made cake and a bottle of wine for our 10 year anniversary. The staff was very helpful, the apartment was clean and decorated with several bouquets of fresh flowers and daily refilling of fruit and snacks in additional to providing breakfast. We would love to return to this place next time we return to New York.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbakke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    16
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
179
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is really a very nice place to stay. A beautifull decorated small townhouse hotel with a few large and comfortable apartments. Stay where the New Yorkers and not the tourists stay. The people of the hotel are very friendly and you get a very warm welcome.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart200200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

It was so much fun to have a floor to ourselves in a NYC brownstone on the wonderful upper west side of Manhattan! SUPER LOCATION. It was a fifteen minute walk to the Metropolitan Opera, the Lincoln Center Theater, and even closer to Central Park. There are lots of little sandwich shops and grocery stores close by. We stayed in the Spa Suite, which I loved. The bedroom and the spa/bathroom area are separated by a long, narrow kitchen/closet area. When my husband slept late in the mornings, I could close the door between the bedroom and the kitchen/closet area, and then walk down the hallway to the spa room and read on the lounge or take an extra soak in the hot tub. Of course we appreciated the wine, coffee, bagels, cheese, snacks and coffee. We so appreciate the gracious Elyn for providing this opportunity to two people who had never so much as seen the inside of a brownstone. From now on, when I go to Manhattan, I'm staying here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moofie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is our second stay at Inn New York City. The first time was in the Spa Suite for our 3 year anniversary and this time was in the Opera Suite for our 13th. The best part of staying here is that it takes you away to another world, or perhaps another time! The interior is filled with nick-nacks, books and magazines which makes you feel like you've always lived there. The Opera suite came with a baby grand piano which my wife was able to play with, it made us feel like we're enjoying our own private little music hall. We almost didn't want to leave! The staff was very friendly and made us feel welcomed. The location is walking distance to both the subway and Central Park. This is truly a one of a kind experience and we'll surely be back again to enjoy the rest of the suites. We love this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

I had the pleasure of visiting Inn NYC .The library suite was absolutely stunning, it was rich, warm, and comforting. included a cozy bedroom with a queen sized bed, bathroom, a large kitchen that had everything you would need to prepare a gourmet 3 course meal as well as a beautifully set dining table! Not that I did, but it was nice to know that I had the option.
The staff was so incredibly friendly and went above and beyond the call of duty. Not only are they hospitable, they are genuine. it is a great location. Walking distance from Lincoln Center and the Museum of Natural History, and if you don’t feel up to hoofing it down to Times Square, the subway

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richardson324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montoursville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed with my now fiance in December 2013. We were in New York City to get engaged. I told the owners of the purpose of my trip and they were very friendly and encouraging. We loved staying at this 19th century brownstone as opposed to some corporate style hotel in Manhattan. It was perfect! They would put out fresh new food every day for breakfast or snacking. The room was like living in a small apartment rather than staying at a hotel. I lived in Manhattan for awhile in Brooklyn Heights, so I know how big apartments are in Manhattan. We are definitely looking forward to going back and trying all of the suites eventually. Thank you to the staff for making our weekend extra special!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as an alternative to the cookie cutter boxes that we 'be stayed in during prior visits to New York. We've stayed in the Four Seasons, the Hilton, the Plaza and the Michelangelo, among others--but this is the best place we've stayed in The Big Apple. Close to Central Park and the 72nd Street subway station, it's roomy and homey. We were in the Library Suite, which was filled with books and equipped with a fireplace, two TVs, a kitchenette and graced with skylights, personal touches and various creature comforts. Snacks were left daily, and our sense of privacy was incredible. The bathroom was a bit small, but that's my only criticism. We'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Heeldawg1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#246 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,312 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#84 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,116 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,416 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#119 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn New York City

Property: Inn New York City
Address: 266 W 71st St, New York City, NY 10023-3752
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#139 Family Hotel in New York City
#163 Business Hotel in New York City
#205 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn New York City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn New York City, a restored 19th century townhouse hotel on the upper west side, is a destination in itself. It is the ultimate in romance and exclusivity or just a great place to bring the family. Behind our unassuming and discreet façade are four sumptuous suites.The dramatic Opera Suite on the Parlor floor has a baby grand piano, a working fireplace, a stained glass ceiling and a quiet balcony overlooking the serene garden.Stay in the Spa Suite and indulge in your own personal spa with a Jacuzzi-for-two, sauna, rain shower and a king-size platform bed. In the Vermont Suite you will delight in our country style duplex tucked away with its own private entrance and a Victorian spiral staircase to the bedroom.The Library Suite is the most spacious with 14' pocket doors that can convert the living room to a 2nd bedroom. The suite has a working fireplace with an antique mantle, leaded-glass skylights, and a fine literary collection in its floor to ceiling bookcases.Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen stocked with complimentary wine, fruit basket, breakfast treats, snacks and beverages. 24 hour concierge, daily housekeeping and laundry services are provided with a judicious blend of presence and privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Inn New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn New York City Hotel New York City
Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing