We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“My Romantic night at the Opera Suite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn New York City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn New York City
Ranked #327 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My Romantic night at the Opera Suite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

After days and days of searching for the perfect romantic and intimate hotel to propose to my girlfriend I came upon this gem!

I stayed at the opera suite which included a grand piano, real working fireplace, jacuzzi tub, and outstanding decor.

The owner Elyn was extremely helpful, she gave me romantic suggestions for the evening and included great romantic details in the room such as fresh roses, chocolates, fresh fruit, a bottle of wine and many other light bites.

I decided to make this evening the most romantic evening of my girlfriends life by setting up a couples massage, then having a romantic dinner prepared by a personal chef alongside live music performed on the grand piano within the room.

Elyn and the staff worked with me and the others who I hired to make sure the timing of the evening was perfect. It was indeed the PERFECT night thanks to the help and beautiful atmosphere setup by INN New York City.

I look forward to returning for another evening of romance at this INN. It was truly a unique and remarkable event that everyone should experience. Thank you INN New York City for making my proposal a success!

- Jason O.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    16
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
178
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Inn new York City over the Veterans Day Holiday as we were celebrating our anniversary. From the time we exited the cab in front of the Inn on West 71st Street until our departure on Monday we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were greeted at the front door by our Hostess Elyn who welcomed us and gave us a tour of the room and all of the amenities of the property. We stayed in the Spa Suite as it is one of 4 rooms at the Inn. The room consisted of bedroom, fully appointed kitchen with granite counter tops and a wonderful spa room which consisted of a large jacuzzi and spa. All first class in their operation. This is quite the Inn/hotel, and a wonderful way to spend your stay in NYC. The room was thoroughly cleaned each day and the kitchen restocked with drinks, pastry, cheeses etc., all of which are included in the price of the room. We were surprised when we arrived as the owners had baked us a delicious chocolate cake in recognition of our anniversary. I know of no other location in the NYC area with these type of accommodations. All in all is was memorable weekend and much was attributed to our delightful stay at the Inn I highly recommend the Inn and we are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at the Inn, along with another couple, so we had 2 of their 4 suites for two nights on the weekend of the NY Marathon. We weren't sure what to expect, but we loved it. The Inn is an ordinary brownstone building built, I think in 1890. Walk the few steps to the front door and ring the bell, then wait to be welcomed in to what feels like it's someone's home... because it is. The suites are all entirely private (one on each floor), with the old world warmth combined with every modern amenity (great beds/linens, plush spa towels, complementary stocked kitchenettes, etc). If you want the sterile feel of a large hotel and/or need room service, then stay away. If you want something entirely different and wonderful, then give it a try.
The location is fabulous with nearby walking access to central park and all the attractions of the upper west side. We'll be back!
The only downside is that there is no designated parking, but the street is surprisingly quiet and there are parking lots nearby (about $30/night).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_and_LK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, NY US
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is the most unique accommodation in NYC. You will have your own one bedroom suite complete with kitchen, living room and bath. We stayed in the library suite which is full of vintage books. The owners will bend over backwards for you, They provided us with a delicious cake for my husband.s birthday! The Victorian furniture is an eclectic mix, some a bit worn, but adds to the homey feel. There is a great selection of foods included, no need to go out for breakfast. Very close to both Central Park and Riverside Park. We were sorry we only stayed for one night. Experience NYC like a native

Room Tip: Downstairs suite with terrace looked amazing. If you cannot walk stairs you would not want the libra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 17 years ago to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We stayed 3 nights in the spa suite. The pictures look the same as it did all those years ago. I remember every detail of our stay because it was so perfect. I am so delighted to see the Inn still open. I'm sure different owners by now. I cannot wait to return soon! Rates per night Re about the same as airfare to Milan but if you go once you'll be a happy couple.

Room Tip: Spa suite for romance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Foodiedcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our experience at the Inn New York City was everything we had hoped it would be. It is conveniently located in a nice neighborhood, with a nearby subway station. The room was quiet, clean, and very nicely stocked with fresh fruit, cakes, and other treats. The staff was helpful and friendly.
I am so glad we opted to stay at the Inn New York City.

Room Tip: We loved the Library Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

What a wonderful surprise, an oasis in the Manhattan desert. Inn New York is the perfect place to escape to after a long day of shopping, eating or theater or the perfect place to quietly spend time with one another or read a book if you choose. This is not the place to "see" or "be seen", this is the place for the traveler who enjoys their privacy and truly getting away from it all, even in the busiest city on earth. A must for the discerning traveler.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#40 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,231 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#238 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#81 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
#48 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,064 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#52 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,366 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn New York City

Property: Inn New York City
Address: 266 West 71st St., New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#140 Family Hotel in New York City
#164 Business Hotel in New York City
#201 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn New York City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn New York City, a restored 19th century townhouse hotel on the upper west side, is a destination in itself. It is the ultimate in romance and exclusivity or just a great place to bring the family. Behind our unassuming and discreet façade are four sumptuous suites.The dramatic Opera Suite on the Parlor floor has a baby grand piano, a working fireplace, a stained glass ceiling and a quiet balcony overlooking the serene garden.Stay in the Spa Suite and indulge in your own personal spa with a Jacuzzi-for-two, sauna, rain shower and a king-size platform bed. In the Vermont Suite you will delight in our country style duplex tucked away with its own private entrance and a Victorian spiral staircase to the bedroom.The Library Suite is the most spacious with 14' pocket doors that can convert the living room to a 2nd bedroom. The suite has a working fireplace with an antique mantle, leaded-glass skylights, and a fine literary collection in its floor to ceiling bookcases.Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen stocked with complimentary wine, fruit basket, breakfast treats, snacks and beverages. 24 hour concierge, daily housekeeping and laundry services are provided with a judicious blend of presence and privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Inn New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn New York City Hotel New York City
Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing