We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time travel to Victorian NYC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn New York City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn New York City
Ranked #337 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
White Plains, NY US
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Time travel to Victorian NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is the most unique accommodation in NYC. You will have your own one bedroom suite complete with kitchen, living room and bath. We stayed in the library suite which is full of vintage books. The owners will bend over backwards for you, They provided us with a delicious cake for my husband.s birthday! The Victorian furniture is an eclectic mix, some a bit worn, but adds to the homey feel. There is a great selection of foods included, no need to go out for breakfast. Very close to both Central Park and Riverside Park. We were sorry we only stayed for one night. Experience NYC like a native

Room Tip: Downstairs suite with terrace looked amazing. If you cannot walk stairs you would not want the libra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    16
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
178
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 17 years ago to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We stayed 3 nights in the spa suite. The pictures look the same as it did all those years ago. I remember every detail of our stay because it was so perfect. I am so delighted to see the Inn still open. I'm sure different owners by now. I cannot wait to return soon! Rates per night Re about the same as airfare to Milan but if you go once you'll be a happy couple.

Room Tip: Spa suite for romance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Foodiedcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our experience at the Inn New York City was everything we had hoped it would be. It is conveniently located in a nice neighborhood, with a nearby subway station. The room was quiet, clean, and very nicely stocked with fresh fruit, cakes, and other treats. The staff was helpful and friendly.
I am so glad we opted to stay at the Inn New York City.

Room Tip: We loved the Library Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

What a wonderful surprise, an oasis in the Manhattan desert. Inn New York is the perfect place to escape to after a long day of shopping, eating or theater or the perfect place to quietly spend time with one another or read a book if you choose. This is not the place to "see" or "be seen", this is the place for the traveler who enjoys their privacy and truly getting away from it all, even in the busiest city on earth. A must for the discerning traveler.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were planning our wedding in NYC and I was looking for a romantic setting, but at the same time I needed to accommodate my sister travelling in from NC as well as my bride and myself.
After reviewing many hotels that would have been quite expensive to book two rooms, I found the INN NYC and the perfect match. The Library Suite is light, airy, spacious and comfortable with numerous skylights in the high 12-14ft ceilings. The suite is 50ft long and has a sliding pocket door to separate the living room with a fold-out sofa bed from the master bedroom.
We had a great time sharing the living space and plenty of privacy for all with the rooms separated. This was a great, cost-effective solution for us!
The building is really charming as are the proprietors, Elyn and her mother Ruth. They took great care of us with plenty of goodies as described by other reviewers. Elyn arranged a delicious choclate cake to congratulate us on our wedding.
The neighborhood is terrific, with plenty of restaurants within the few blocks around the Inn. We will surely stay at the Inn NYC when we visit family in the City in the future!

Room Tip: The wi-fi coverage was spotty in the living room and bedroom, but satisfactory at the dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kitwalker38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Sorry for my late review coz I just arrived home. This hotel provides us amazing experience ever since. First of all, the food including cakes, snacks and fruits were all fresh and tasty! And they will be changed everyday. Juice and water in the fridge were all cool after a long day run outside! There is a trader joes nearby and some pizza and convinience stores around so you can buy everything! Second, this hotel isn't the conventional one coz it feels like home and the kitchen is great we cooked everyday during our stay. Everything there is clean and tidy. Elyn is very nice to me and we enjoyed wonderful talks. I think everyone will feel worthy staying here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sally9417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had wanted to feel a part of New York on our recent visit, so we chose the Inn New York City instead of a conventional hotel. What a delight. We stayed in the Opera rooms which were comfortable and full of character. In the morning we were able to head off for a run down by the Hudson and then during the day it was so nice to stroll across central park to the museums or catch the subway downtown. All the little touches during the stay were a real joy.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#45 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#243 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#79 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#50 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#58 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,387 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#182 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn New York City

Property: Inn New York City
Address: 266 W 71st St, New York City, NY 10023-3752
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#140 Family Hotel in New York City
#164 Business Hotel in New York City
#201 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn New York City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn New York City, a restored 19th century townhouse hotel on the upper west side, is a destination in itself. It is the ultimate in romance and exclusivity or just a great place to bring the family. Behind our unassuming and discreet façade are four sumptuous suites.The dramatic Opera Suite on the Parlor floor has a baby grand piano, a working fireplace, a stained glass ceiling and a quiet balcony overlooking the serene garden.Stay in the Spa Suite and indulge in your own personal spa with a Jacuzzi-for-two, sauna, rain shower and a king-size platform bed. In the Vermont Suite you will delight in our country style duplex tucked away with its own private entrance and a Victorian spiral staircase to the bedroom.The Library Suite is the most spacious with 14' pocket doors that can convert the living room to a 2nd bedroom. The suite has a working fireplace with an antique mantle, leaded-glass skylights, and a fine literary collection in its floor to ceiling bookcases.Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen stocked with complimentary wine, fruit basket, breakfast treats, snacks and beverages. 24 hour concierge, daily housekeeping and laundry services are provided with a judicious blend of presence and privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn New York City Hotel New York City
Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing