We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What a delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn New York City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn New York City
Ranked #295 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had wanted to feel a part of New York on our recent visit, so we chose the Inn New York City instead of a conventional hotel. What a delight. We stayed in the Opera rooms which were comfortable and full of character. In the morning we were able to head off for a run down by the Hudson and then during the day it was so nice to stroll across central park to the museums or catch the subway downtown. All the little touches during the stay were a real joy.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    16
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
178
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hawkswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I wanted a little something different from the normal big luxury hotels for our recent trip to New York. It was a special occasion as I had planned the trip to propose to my girlfriend.

We both enjoy staying in luxury hotels but also enjoy something quirky and different from the norm. Inn New York was certainly not a disappointment! In fact, my expectations were blown away!

Thanks to Ruth and Elyn for making our amazing trip even more special by creating a unique hotel and for adding the extra touches that made all the difference. We shall be staying again if ever we are back in NY.

Thank-you!
Ray and Debbie

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray_n_Debs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this lovely inn in a brownstone on the Upper West Side. We stayed in the Opera Suite, which has a delightful veranda. The rooms were very comfortable-almost like staying in your own cozy apartment. Delightful snacks were provided as well as a marvelous cake and other goodies for breakfast. Even the choice of CD's were wonderful. We would highly recommend this property, and we will return.

Room Tip: If you would like to have access to a very nice veranda off the bedroom with comfortable garden furn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I recently had a return visit to Inn NYC and stayed in the Spa Room over night. This is the fourth time we've been there over the last few years and I have always more than enjoyed my stay. The rooms are lavish and comfortable and you really feel like you are in an apartment. The Spa Room has a huge jacuzzi, sauna, and over head shower, elevated king size bed and most every amenity I can think of. You also have a kitchen full of fruits, goodies, treats and a cake! You really can not find anything else like this charming Inn anywhere in the city, especially for the price. The location is also fantastic. It is central to everything in the neighborhood you may want and very close to the subways. You would be wise to book a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed in the Spa suite and it was fantastic. The hostess welcomed us with open arms and escorted us to our. We were given the grand tour of the entire room. She pointed out every light switch and electrical outlet and everything in between. The bedroom was amazing itself with the little staircase leading on to the bed. In front of that was a table where you could have a romantic dinner by candle light. There was a couch right next to the bed which was perfectly positioned in front of the tv for some late night channel surfing. Between the couch and the TV was a door filled all sorts of different literature. My girlfriend almost collapsed as she saw some of her favorite authors. Inside the tv cabinet there was a plethora of new york broadway play bills. Heading into the kitchen was a tight squeeze but we didnt stay in there very long anyways. A full pantry of food, wine juices and waters in the mini fridge, and on top of thats plates cups forks knives wine glasses and even pots and pan to make your stay more at home. As you make your way into the jewel of the room, the spa, your enticed by all white walls, a fireplace, scented aroma inserts for the spa, and robes that make you feel like royalty. Spa was more than spacious enough for both of us to sit back relax and enjoy some wine and talk about life with each other. There are chairs around the jacuzzi if you are wanting to wait and sit with your loved one while the tub fills. Inside of another pair of doors is the toilet. A little cramped as well as the shower but like i said before. Wasnt there long enough to truly complain. We ordered take out and the food came quite promptly. Our sleep was the best sleep my and my girlfriend had in months. For a hotel in New York it was amazingly quiet and subtle. Me and my girlfriend will try and make our way back very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC metropolitan area
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

A few suites with everything you could want in NYC. Our business requies us to travel a great deal but pays us back with luxury accomodations. This was wonderful.
For some what they will love is the great bowls of fresh fruit, cakes, candies and drinks.
For us it is the spa/Jacuzzi in the suite.
For anyone it is the location near Lincoln Centers and the top restaurants.
Truly 5 stars

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdcnyva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the SPA-suite for four days, and it is amazing (we are leaving tomorrow). The accomondation was spacious, luxurious and had everything + more than you can imagine. Several big bowls of assorted fresh fruit, cakes, candies and drinks. A spacious spa department in the suite, which had a big jacuzzi with an resting area and a fire place, sauna and a pre spa area. The bedroom, living room and kitchen was in a luxurious gregorian style.

There are only three rooms in this hotel, so the service is ofcource excellent. You will not even notice them, except that everything is always clean, tidy and new fresh fruits and beverages...

It is rated,the best Romantic hotel in NYC in Trip advisor - you will understand why, if you try it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Plotti222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#176 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,465 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#48 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,212 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#109 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden
Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison ...
#257 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#210 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#225 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn New York City

Property: Inn New York City
Address: 266 W 71st St, New York City, NY 10023-3752
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#140 Family Hotel in New York City
#164 Business Hotel in New York City
#184 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn New York City, a restored 19th century townhouse hotel on the upper west side, is a destination in itself. It is the ultimate in romance and exclusivity or just a great place to bring the family. Behind our unassuming and discreet façade are four sumptuous suites.The dramatic Opera Suite on the Parlor floor has a baby grand piano, a working fireplace, a stained glass ceiling and a quiet balcony overlooking the serene garden.Stay in the Spa Suite and indulge in your own personal spa with a Jacuzzi-for-two, sauna, rain shower and a king-size platform bed. In the Vermont Suite you will delight in our country style duplex tucked away with its own private entrance and a Victorian spiral staircase to the bedroom.The Library Suite is the most spacious with 14' pocket doors that can convert the living room to a 2nd bedroom. The suite has a working fireplace with an antique mantle, leaded-glass skylights, and a fine literary collection in its floor to ceiling bookcases.Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen stocked with complimentary wine, fruit basket, breakfast treats, snacks and beverages. 24 hour concierge, daily housekeeping and laundry services are provided with a judicious blend of presence and privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Inn New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn New York City Hotel New York City
Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing