We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place with some improvements”
Review of Inn New York City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn New York City
Ranked #348 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed January 16, 2013

1night for us was worth money with what we paid for.
Positive things: Location is great, room was very clean and well-appointed, comfortable and modern facilities, breakfast was nice and awesome
Negative things: staff attitude was quite frank and not polite enough, public area should be improve with smoking area.
In general, you get what you pay for. Management of this hotel should know and improve these matters.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
There are newer reviews for Inn New York City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 281 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

The title says it all, the spa suite was as amazing as everyone else says, but the staff were very rude. They said we could leave our bags and pick them up after checkout, and practically threw it in my face when I came to get mine. One would think they would be trained to be polite to customers

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ygontchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnNewYorkCity, Owner at Inn New York City, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

This review and the next two reviews ("good place with some improvements" and "Agreed: Great place poor owner's hospitality") have all been written by the same guests who have stayed for the same two night reservation in the spa suite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

If you ever wanted to know what it is like to live in a fabulous UWS brownstone flat, this will get 'er done. Situated in a super neighborhood, surrounded by good restaurants, great bodegas, wine stores, the Lincoln Center, even a Trader Joes, you will want for nothing.
We stayed with our college age daughter in the Library and it was perfect. The fully equipped kitchen (which was constantly being restocked with yummy pastries and drinks) allowed us to cook several meals in - resulting in saved moolah from too many restaurant meals. The suite was also extremely quiet and private.
And to get an idea of how wonderful and accommodating the management is - we had a late flight out on our last day and we're given the amazing hospitality to hang out in the Opera Suite for the afternoon, since they needed to prepare ours for the next guest. That's above and beyond. And I would definitely stay in the Opera suite as well. Beautiful!
We will definitely be back.
(As a reference, hotels we have stayed in NYC include The Lowell, The Pierre, London NYC, Dream Downtown and the Plaza Athenee.)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sanyadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This was our sixth year at the Inn. As always, the Inn never disappoints. We write about our experience at the Inn each year when we get home in hopes of letting everyone know that this is the most fabulous way to experience staying in NYC for a whole host of reasons. Not only are the suites out of this world, but more importantly, the way you are treated is incredible and always remains at the highest level no matter how many times you stay there. This time was no different in that respect. Ellen and her staff are incredible. We are already booked for next year. If you stay one time at the Inn, you'll never stay anyplace else.

Diane and Joe

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FLA-JOE-DI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Such a pleasure to stay in someone's home in nyc - well that is how it feels when you come home everyday. Eclectic decor with a homely feel. Great to have the convenience of the kitchen which is stocked every day with breakfast goodies - the granola is very yummy.
Great location, at the end of the street on Amsterdam there is a Starbucks, Trader Joes & great takeaway pizza. Central Park is a 10min walk & so is Fairway Market & Citarella on Broadway.
Despite the local conveniences, the room was quiet both day & night.
Elyn & Ruth more than happy to be any help they can be.
Just a delightful stay, my boys loved having a bit of space to play.

Room Tip: As per the website, the library is appropriate from families (albeit you will need to be prepared to...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellym0803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Returned for the second time to this home away from home for another wonderful stay at the Inn of New York City. This time we stayed in the library suite. The rooms were spacious and cozy and afforded us the pleasure of having a family member spend the night with us. The kitchen, as always, came fully stocked with a full breakfast, and scrumptious and elegant snacks and treats. The location of course is splendid with easy access to all parts of the city and more. We can't wait to come back and extend our gratitude to Ruth,Elyn and their staff for their kindness.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

When I arrived at the Inn New York it was 10 am and to early to check in but Agnus was so hospitable she opened the Opera suite and let me use it for 10 minutes. Agnus made me feel like a very special guest. She gave me a map to the neighborhood and I went for a 3 hour walk in Central Park until the suite was prepared for my arrival for check in at 2pm. An early check in may have been possible but other guests were occupying the Spa suite. There were some delicious baked goods waiting for me when I arrived in the suite along with some delicious British teas. There was plenty of reading material and a small selection of DVD's to listen to. Lovely and comfortable bath robe. The bed was so comfortable I had a wonderful sleep. Highly recommend a stay in the Spa suite that feels like your own personal quaint apartment while in New York. There is also a balcony with table and chairs to enjoy when the weather is warmer. I had a lovely nap after the the timer went off in the sauna. Elyn, Robin and Agnus are very accommodating and you feel the charm of everything in this elegant Inn. I can't wait to return to try out the Library suite which also has a jacuzzi.

Room Tip: Spa suite has a jacuzzi tub and sauna to soak your muscles after long walks in New York City. It is...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryderst0rm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#249 of 468 in New York City
2,311 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#357 of 468 in New York City
200 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#127 of 468 in New York City
2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#73 of 468 in New York City
3,582 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#174 of 468 in New York City
5,225 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#250 of 468 in New York City
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn New York City

Address: 266 W 71st St, New York City, NY 10023-3752
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#135 Family Hotel in New York City
#159 Business Hotel in New York City
#211 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $796 - $884 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn New York City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn New York City, a restored 19th century townhouse hotel on the upper west side, is a destination in itself. It is the ultimate in romance and exclusivity or just a great place to bring the family. Behind our unassuming and discreet façade are four sumptuous suites.The dramatic Opera Suite on the Parlor floor has a baby grand piano, a working fireplace, a stained glass ceiling and a quiet balcony overlooking the serene garden.Stay in the Spa Suite and indulge in your own personal spa with a Jacuzzi-for-two, sauna, rain shower and a king-size platform bed. In the Vermont Suite you will delight in our country style duplex tucked away with its own private entrance and a Victorian spiral staircase to the bedroom.The Library Suite is the most spacious with 14' pocket doors that can convert the living room to a 2nd bedroom. The suite has a working fireplace with an antique mantle, leaded-glass skylights, and a fine literary collection in its floor to ceiling bookcases.Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen stocked with complimentary wine, fruit basket, breakfast treats, snacks and beverages. 24 hour concierge, daily housekeeping and laundry services are provided with a judicious blend of presence and privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Inn New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn New York City Hotel New York City
Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing