We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic times ten to the sixth power...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn New York City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn New York City
Ranked #287 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
El sobrante
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic times ten to the sixth power...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Returned for the second time to this home away from home for another wonderful stay at the Inn of New York City. This time we stayed in the library suite. The rooms were spacious and cozy and afforded us the pleasure of having a family member spend the night with us. The kitchen, as always, came fully stocked with a full breakfast, and scrumptious and elegant snacks and treats. The location of course is splendid with easy access to all parts of the city and more. We can't wait to come back and extend our gratitude to Ruth,Elyn and their staff for their kindness.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    16
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
45
178
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

When I arrived at the Inn New York it was 10 am and to early to check in but Agnus was so hospitable she opened the Opera suite and let me use it for 10 minutes. Agnus made me feel like a very special guest. She gave me a map to the neighborhood and I went for a 3 hour walk in Central Park until the suite was prepared for my arrival for check in at 2pm. An early check in may have been possible but other guests were occupying the Spa suite. There were some delicious baked goods waiting for me when I arrived in the suite along with some delicious British teas. There was plenty of reading material and a small selection of DVD's to listen to. Lovely and comfortable bath robe. The bed was so comfortable I had a wonderful sleep. Highly recommend a stay in the Spa suite that feels like your own personal quaint apartment while in New York. There is also a balcony with table and chairs to enjoy when the weather is warmer. I had a lovely nap after the the timer went off in the sauna. Elyn, Robin and Agnus are very accommodating and you feel the charm of everything in this elegant Inn. I can't wait to return to try out the Library suite which also has a jacuzzi.

Room Tip: Spa suite has a jacuzzi tub and sauna to soak your muscles after long walks in New York City. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryderst0rm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

we stayed here for our anniversary. my husband booked it as a surprise. i've never stayed at a B&B, i'd always feared there was not privacy. this place is entirely different. we were given a tour of the room, given keys to the brownstone, and had complete privacy after that.

it is an old building so you can't hear your neighbors. it's quirky, light switches in odd places, antique decor, but for us these were fun surprises. i suspect it got a very high end remodel in the 80's but due to good care and light use everything is in excellent condition. this is not your typical hotel suite, so if you were wanted the Hilton, this would not be for you. on the other hand i was pleased to see the duvet was covered with nice fresh soft sheets solid colored sheets like in nice hotels. i love the Hilton but this was a hotel room we enjoyed spending time in, making it perfect for an anniversary.

we were left all kinds of amenities: hidden bowls of different types of chocolates and candy, bath extras, a fridge full of OJ, wine, cheeses, milk, and on the counter, tea and coffee, baked goods, and a chocolate cake. there was even wine in the fridge, though bringing your own stock is a good idea because there's no minibar or place to order that in from. the room has a very nice kitchenette, with everything you might need even if you wanted to cook a romantic dinner in your room (toaster oven, microwave, and two gas burners, no oven).

my husband selected the room with the giant tub for us, it filled up with hot water quickly. there was a lovely "fireplace" to make it extra romantic. lots of towels. lots of thoughtful touches, yoga balls and instructions, books and cd's (not totally up to date), and a docking station for your ipod so you can bring your own music. cable was the same as at home and there was a DVD player. the TV wasn't huge but it was fine for us.

there was a sweet table set for us when we arrived so we looked through the menus on the desk and ordered in. the next day we walked to the museum of natural history. this is a lovely neighborhood on a lovely street, near public transportation, restaurants, parks, and all of NYC. we had a memorable experience and i look forward to going back.

Room Tip: there are four very different rooms to choose from. we had the spa room which i liked very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Beautiful inn, extremely attentive personnel, would definitely go back again. They provided breakfast food that was fabulous, prepared a birthday cake for our celebration. Location is great near Lincoln Center, Central Park, etc. Street quiet but near lots of activity.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Inn New York City has become a home away from home for us on when we are visiting Manhattan for a weekend or longer. Each unit has a unique personality, but all provide the sense that one has been transported to a bygone era. The decor, with tasteful antiques abounding, is serene and genteel, at the same time that modern amenities such as wireless Internet and flat screen televisions are also at hand. The service -- right down to the detail of recalling and providing a bouquet of my favorite flowers on each visit -- is predictably excellent. There is no more romantic or relaxing accommodation in New York!

Room Tip: All beautiful, but the Vermont Street is at street level, which may be bothersome for some visitors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Excellent New York-style apartment, with a door-step like you are walking straight into a movie! The yummy snacks, the jacuzzi and sauna made it difficult to leave in the morning. Fantastic service too. Would recommend it highly!

Room Tip: The Spa room rocks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erin_culbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Located in a local neighborhood on 71st on the upper west side, this Inn has the perfect location for the NYC marathon. It is located 2 blocks from Riverside park to the West and 4 blocks from Central Park. Plenty of local restaurants, from extravagant (Per Se) to walk up (Shake Shack!). Pizza just down the street. Train station one block away. Very close to Lincoln Center.

When looking for the property, there is no signage. You need to have the address. Just walk up to the front door and ring the bell.

We stayed in the Library Suite which was spacious and quiet. Nice kitchenette that was stocked with basics (juice and milk). Pastries were provided each morning. Suite was two flights up narrow stairs, so if you have limited mobility, you may want to check out a different room. The room itself had great skylights for natural light. There was a bit of clutter to the room and some of the furnishings could be updated, but all in all it had a great feel.

I would absolutely stay here again, based on cleanliness, location, and friendliness of staff.

Room Tip: Library Suite is only one that allows children, so if you want to avoid children being at the Inn du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#105 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,148 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#47 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,105 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#157 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#201 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,027 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden
Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison ...
#239 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,783 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#230 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn New York City

Property: Inn New York City
Address: 266 W 71st St, New York City, NY 10023-3752
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#140 Family Hotel in New York City
#164 Business Hotel in New York City
#183 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn New York City, a restored 19th century townhouse hotel on the upper west side, is a destination in itself. It is the ultimate in romance and exclusivity or just a great place to bring the family. Behind our unassuming and discreet façade are four sumptuous suites.The dramatic Opera Suite on the Parlor floor has a baby grand piano, a working fireplace, a stained glass ceiling and a quiet balcony overlooking the serene garden.Stay in the Spa Suite and indulge in your own personal spa with a Jacuzzi-for-two, sauna, rain shower and a king-size platform bed. In the Vermont Suite you will delight in our country style duplex tucked away with its own private entrance and a Victorian spiral staircase to the bedroom.The Library Suite is the most spacious with 14' pocket doors that can convert the living room to a 2nd bedroom. The suite has a working fireplace with an antique mantle, leaded-glass skylights, and a fine literary collection in its floor to ceiling bookcases.Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen stocked with complimentary wine, fruit basket, breakfast treats, snacks and beverages. 24 hour concierge, daily housekeeping and laundry services are provided with a judicious blend of presence and privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Inn New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn New York City Hotel New York City
Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing