We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Hospitality House
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$195
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The Bentley Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
InterContinental New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$336
$281
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Parker New York(New York City)
$415
$403
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royalton Park Avenue(New York City)
$295
$234
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$689
$617
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown(New York City)(Great Value!)
$228
$197
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$265
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$168
$140
Park Central
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Reviews (1,222)
Filter reviews
1,222 results
Traveler rating
690
420
76
19
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
690
420
76
19
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving roomfull kitchenwelcome basketspacious apartmentnew yorkthe penthousebreakfast roomthese apartmentsdining tablewaffle makerbagelswell equipped kitchentimes squarestreet noisewaldorf astoriarockefeller centerpull out sofa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
783 - 788 of 1,222 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Stayed here for one night and wanted late checkout so the only one available was the ground floor handicapped room. It was great. Very spacious so the wheelchair can get around. Breakfast buffet was superb! Complimentary snacks and bottled water in the room upon arrival. Even the shampoo, lotion, and things were all of top quality.

Location was great, might I add, with all the other reviewers. Free wireless internet is also found in the room.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cairoegypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

We stayed at the Hospitality House for three nights in mid January 2009. The rooms are large with ours having a bedroom, bath, living room, and fully equipped kitchen which we did not use. Good location in Manhattan. The heating system needs to be upgraded- was hard to regulate old fashioned radiators. The usual BW complimentary breakfast. A friendly and helpful staff.

BUT each night that we stayed about midnight a garbage disposal truck would starting picking up dumpsters for fifteen or twenty minutes. The noise of the running truck, the operation of the lift mechanism and the banging of the dumpsters was incredibly loud, and it was impossible to sleep.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank SullivanNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blazz, GM at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2010

We are glad that you found the hotel itself to be comfortable for your visit.

Our hotel is located on a street not an avenue which presents advantages of less traffic noise than hotels on avenues. Our hotel is located in a quieter section of the city than theTimes Square area in terms of noise. New York City law does require that garbage removal occur at night and this holds true all over Manhattan. What I was really surprised about is that you could hear the elevator in your room as the bedrooms are very far away from the elevator in the hallways. Our walls are also very thick. The apartments have the bedroom (s) at the furthest point from the entrance to the apartment. and hall. The bedrooms also have their own dorrs within the apartment that close.

We really wish we had more control over the street noise you describe but being in the city that never sleeps presents its own set of challanges.

If you should return our one bedroom apartments face inside and are not on the street side of the hotel. Only our two bedroom apartments face the street. We could have also moved you to a higher floor to reduce the amount of noise you coluld hear. We also have a white noise function built into our ipod docking stations. We also often provide ear plugs upon request for guests who are not acustomed to the noises of the city.

We hope that you might return and maybe stay on a higher floor or be on an inside court room next time.

Thank you for your patronage.
Robert Gaeta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

My husband and I stayed with Hosp House with 4 friends. We had the Penthouse and they had a 2 bedroom apartment. We chose this hotel due to Trip Advisor comments and Roberts response. We were not dissapointed. the location is perfect, nestled between the Waldorf Astoria and the Marriott. 7 Blocks from Times Sq and 2 blocks from the Subway meant that we were central to EVERYTHING without having to pay 5 Star hotel prices! There is a supermarket around the corner (which delivers), an italian restaurant next door and a small yummy pizza place. Free internet access (and printer) is also available in rooms and in the breakfast area, which made it convenient to stay in touch back home without having to go to internet cafe's. The free breakfast was also fabulous!

The rooms fulfiled our NYC experience as we felt as though we were in a real NYC apartment (insert Friends theme song here). They were equipped with everything. In fact due to the dates of our travel, my friends and I celebrated Christmas with a full Christmas lunch cooked in the kitchen. It felt as though we were at home.

The staff were more than helpful with our constant queries and Robert was extremely patient with my constant emails regarding our booking. Thanks Robert!

I have read that other may have found the heating a little "hot". If you are a person who feels in the cold, then the temp is perfect. I felt warm and cozy whenever I returned home, um, er, ...to the room.

The slight down side was the shower temperature. NYC experienced artic weather while we were there and it sometimes took a while for the hot water to reach the 10TH floor shower after a day of walking in freezing weather.

Other than this, there will definately be more Australians staying at Hosp. House and we definately be returning!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2010

Our staff and management were all very happy to see your review!! Thank you so much for your kindness in taking the time to share your positive experience.

We are aware of a recent intermittent problem with the hot water pressure in the penthouse at peak times. We have had engineers and plumbers here this week and last to propose a fix. We have a solution in hand and will be moving forward to correct it in short order. It is important to note that it is not a constant problem but happens only when everyone is taking a shower at the same time.

Once again, thank you for your patronage and I (we) hope you are able to travel back to NYC again soon!! Happy New Year to you and your family!
Robert Gaeta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Just wanted to say that we have had a great stay in NY in this hotel. ALL of the staff were very friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. It was ideally located for all the major sights, and within easy walking distance of Times Square, and the underground if you needed to use it. The suite was spacious with loads of cupboards and well equipped kitchen - our only one complaint was the heat !!! We felt a bit like we were in a sauna! The breakfast was ample and we were evenly pleasantly surprised by the sofa bed - not half as uncomfortable as previous reviews had made it out to be! Thanks for making our trip so enjoyable, and especially to Sam who made us feel welcome from the outset.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjdyke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2009

Thank you fopr your review. We do take pride in serving. Sam is a wonderful person and we are lucky to have him on our team.

We , admittedly, tend to suppply more heat than may be needed in the winter months because we do want all of our guests to be comfortable. Many people from warmer places feel cold when we keep the heat at 70F. We are looking into distributing the heat more evenly throughout the building though. Had our engineer known he could have lowered the radiator valve for your comfort.

Please consider myself and our team at your disposal should you be returning to NYC.

Happy and Healthy New Year to you and your family.
Robert Gaeta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Just spent a very enjoyable week at Hospitality House over Christmas. Hotel room/apartment is very spacious and clean and comfortable though not particularly up to date in terms of decor so if you want a cutting edge boutique hotel this isn't for you! However, for a family visiting NY it's ideal (we had 2 room appt. (room 8A) which comprises of 2 large bedrooms, a large living/dining room, small(ish) bathroom and a galley kitchen).
Plus points: space, central Manhattan location (4 blocks/10 min walk from Rockerfeller Center/Fifth Ave), helpful desk staff (particularly Sam!!)
Negatives: breakfast room too small so breakfast can be chaotic (we ended up taking a tray down from the room and taking breakfast items back up to room); appt. quite hot and stuffy

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welsh_family1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2009

Thank you for your review. We do take great pride in serving our guests as we would our own families. We consider our do our guests to be a part of our family in fact.

We , admittedly, tend to suppply more heat than may be needed in the winter months because we do want all of our guests to be completely comfortable. Many people from warmer places feel cold when we keep the heat at 70F. We are looking into distributing the heat more evenly throughout the building though. Had our engineer known he could have lowered the radiator valve a liitle in your apartment.

We have the outside deck area for the breakfast in warmer months. We will be removing two of the lounge chairs and adding additioanl tables instead. Over the holidays we had many more families than usual and more people attended the breakfast than ever before. We will be working to add more of an area to eat there. We could arrange the furniture better to accomodate more people.

Please consider myself and our team at your disposal should you be returning to NYC.

Happy and Healthy New Year to you and your family.

Robert Gaeta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews