We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hospitality House
Ranked #121 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stayed at the Hospitality House along with my 3 sisters and mother. As country girls who had heard terrible things about rude New Yorkers, we were all a little apprehensive about our trip. From the time we first contacted the Hospitality House with questions of bus stops and Broadway shows, they were nothing but completely kind and helpful. Ammar and Eddie at the front desk, were so patient with us and they were determined to make our experience pleasant. The roomy apartment like spaces are unbelievable for the price! Beautiful and the location couldn't be better! Thanks so much Best Western Staff for making us feel so welcome and our stay an AMAZING PLEASURE!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinamakes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

Dear Country Girls,

It really brightened up our day to see you ladies smiling all the time and enjoying your New York trip! We re so happy you choose to stay at our hotel!! I know Eddie and Ammar were delighted to help you discover the Big Apple on your all lady trip!!

Thank you for your kindness and for helping top break the stereotype about New Yorkers!!

We would love to have you come back sometime!! Please consider us at your service and your home in NYC.

Warmest Regards,
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2011

Firstly I need to apologise as this review should have been written months ago...but I can say in all honestly - I'll never forget how impressed I was with the Best Western Hospitality house in New York!

My (now) husband and I travelled with my teenage daughter and my mother-in-law, and I was also expecting at the time, so home comfort was high on our priority list. We could not have asked for more...we had a 2 bed apartment which was incredibly spacious, 2 massive bedrooms, a nice sized kitchenette and a big living room with a (very comfy) sofa bed. The apartments are quite old styled, but they were very clean...Incidentally my parents were staying in the Radio City apartments, and they were tiny compared to what we had.

The welcome, and consistent friendly service that we received from ALL the staff was incredible, I had dealings with the staff prior to our arrival, and they were all so helpful.

Breakfast was included in our deal, and it was very, very welcome...it was great to start a days sightseeing on a full tummy!!! There were tasty danishes, pastries, waffles (all low fat of course!!) yoghurts, cereals, fresh fruits etc. so quite a nice choice. There was an outdoor seating area, but as we were there in Feb we weren't quite crazy enough to venture out! There was not a lot of space in the dining room, but we always managed to get a seat (might have been that people were afraid of a pregnant woman with a tray of pastries!).

The location of the Best Western is terrific, there is a subway station within one street in either direction (if you;ve never been to NY before, make sure you familiarise yourself with the subway - it really is the only way to get around, and it's really simple once you get used to it...this from someone with ZERO sense of direction!) and only about a 10 minute walk to Time Sq.

In all, I genuinely can't recommend the Hospitality house enough, we had stayed in the Doubletree Metropolitan the previous year, but there was no comparison, I found the Doubletree very impersonal, whereas the BW was really homely - possibly not to everybody's taste, but it certainly was to ours...my family and I will hopefully get to go back there some day, and I really hope it hasn't changed too much!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandypWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

Thank you for your patronage and warm review!!

We solemnly promise that if your family returns next year and you with your new born!! (Congratulations are in order by the way!!!) , we will only change for the better!! We plan on keeping our family friendly approach to making your experience welcoming and memorable!!

Thank you agian for staying with us and for posting here!!

Yours in hospitality and service..
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Having lived in NY many years ago when coming from Australia with my 22 year old daughter I chose this hotel purely for the location as so central to everything.
I warned my daughter not to expect much as thought it would be run down etc especially as we were also staying in a penthouse suite at the Bellagio in Vegas but was 100% wrong it was so roomy , very clean and not at all noisy. For 2 of us the one bedroom was heaps of room could have had a family of 3-4 in there easily and the staff were SO incredibly helpful and friendly, could take breakfast up to your room if you wanted and loved it so much we are planning on coming back next year.
Highly recommend to everyone aussies would love the location and down to earth service

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

We are so happy that you and your young daughter enjoyed your stay with us especially after coming all the way from Australia!!
We are glad it was memorable and we were able to make you feel at home half way around the world!!

We look forward to having you return some day soon!!! Please consder us your home in NYC!!!

Warmest Regards,
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We are just back from staying 8 nights here with our two sons, ages 19 and 16. We had stayed here in summer 2009 for a shorter visit - and found it suited all our needs so well that we really didn't want to stay anywhere else in Manhattan this time around. And we were not disappointed! The location is perfect, it is a nice compromise between the hustle and bustle of Times Square, 5th Ave etc. and the more residential area east of 3rd Ave. It seems like a very safe area both by day and night. The Rockefeller Center is only a short walk away and it was fun to see the ice-skaters - and also to watch the sun set from The Top of the Rock one evening. The large Lego and Nintendo World stores were popular with our sons. So you can walk loads of places from the Hospitality House, to 5th Ave, up to Central Park, to the United Nations building etc. - and there is a subway station around the corner - which we used a lot - we got a 7-day unlimited travel card for $29 each which turned out to be great value. And a cross-town bus runs across E.49th which was handy too. We stayed in the 2 bed penthouse apartment - only because nothing else was available! - it was more expensive, but on the upside it had two bathrooms which was just great with four of us (I think most if not all of the other suites only have one bathroom). Also a HUGE wraparound balcony with outdoor furniture - would be lovely in the summer to eat breakfast outside etc. We didn't get to use it as while we were there it was pretty chilly - and even snowed one day (end of October!). We had two queen bedrooms (one ensuite and with lots of clothes storage), the second bedroom was smaller so there wasn't much storage space in it. One son slept there, the other on the queen size pull-out sofa bed in the living room - which was perfectly adequate for a teen, especially with the additional foam mattress topper on it - but I'm not sure how comfortable it would be for two adults for example. Plenty of full length mirrors in bedrooms/bathrooms. Living room great size, plenty of chairs, a nice desk with good lighting and a desk chair, a dining table with four chairs and a very well equipped kitchen with everything you would need. We ate in the suite most evenings - buying in food from restaurants, delis, supermarkets, a local 'green market' and some nice wines from Beekman Liquors close by on Lexington! Everything was very clean and the housekeeping staff did a great job each day - not easy when two teenage boys have their stuff strewn around everywhere! The wooden floors and high ceilings make it feel so spacious. The staff are all very pleasant and helpful if you need anything, and having breakfast included was a great bonus, we took it up to our suite on trays every morning (breakfast room smallish and can get very busy). We would highly recommend the Hospitality House for any families - or two couples. It is like having your own apartment in the middle of Manhattan - and it's a great base, and lovely to chill out in the evenings (with the 3 tv's!) and put your feet up after busy days of sightseeing. When I had originally made the booking (many many months ago) I had mentioned that the trip was to celebrate a 'significant' birthday - and would you believe it, when we arrived there were some birthday balloons in the suite - very nice touch and much appreciated! The only (and very minor) fault we could find was that the shower pressure in the two showers was quite intermittent (and never very powerful), I did mention it when we were leaving but it was not really a major issue.

Room Tip: If you want two bathrooms in a two bedroom suite, go for the Penthouse. Also because it is higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank blairblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

Thank you for your honest and positive review and patronage. We appreciate your detailed description of your experience. We hope to see you again soon!!

Warmest Regards
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Recently came back from a 5 day 4 night break in New York with 5 other ladies and stayed at the Hospitality House, and what a find!!!

Brilliantly located in the heart of downtown Manhatten you will find everything you need for stay in New York........ firstly the rooms are large, the beds are large and the breakfasts are as large as you want them to be as you can take your trays from your lovely rooms and go and get coffee, tea, chocolate, waffles, cereal, muffins, bagels, and as much fruit as you want up to the comfort of your room.

I have got to mention Sam (Hotel Manager) who was a complete star, as being first time visitors to the Big Apple we needed some guidance and he didnt disappoint....... advising us on a variety of topics, be it trips, restaurants, transport to the airport, sites etc... nothing was too much for Sam and he always had a smile whatever the time of day or night.

Would not hesitate to stay here again when I return which we all intend to do as we had such a fab time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CEdwardsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

Thank you for beautiful review and for being our guest. We are very happy that you had a memorable experience and found the hotel exceeded expectations! Sammy is our star in guest service and we appreciate your telling us that he provided excellent service to you. We hope to see you and your friends/family again soon!!
Warmest Regards
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

This was a great place for families. We had a one bedroom apartment which had a sofa bed in the main living room. It had two big TVs and came with a nice free breakfast each morning. The place is very central to Central York, Rockefeller Centre and Times Square

Room Tip: 1 bedroom is sufficient for a family of four as long as the children are prepared to sleep together...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We booked 6 nights here at half term. We booked the 2 bedroom apartment as we have 3 kids. What a great find, great location, comfortable beds in fact better than my own! So spacious, 3 big T.V 's just what you want after a long day shopping and sight seeing! The staff are so friendly! The receptionist offer help anytime. The kitchen is well equipped and fresh coffee refilled every day. The breakfast is a big plus with 3 kids! We all loved it here and would love to go back!.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#51 of 469 in New York City
1,447 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#29 of 469 in New York City
1,883 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#62 of 469 in New York City
1,504 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#98 of 469 in New York City
2,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hospitality House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hospitality House

Address: 145 E 49th St, New York City, NY 10017-1210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New York City
#83 Business Hotel in New York City
#222 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $227 - $687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Hospitality House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While visiting one of the most extraordinary cities in the world, we invite you to live like a New Yorker in the center of it all at the award winning BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House. Relax in your very own exclusive Manhattan apartment-style suite designed with all the comforts of a large home without sacrificing any of the benefits of hotel amenities and services. Imagine yourself stepping out of your front door and being in the center of it all, with all New York's spectacular major attractions just a short walking distance away. While resting in your suite all of the fantastic sights and sounds that make New York City so great are just outside your window. Hotel guests especially appreciate spreading out in their very own apartment suite after a full day out in our thrilling city. No other New York City hotel can compare to our oversized rooms and great location. We're ideally located near Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and any number of subway and transportation hubs. Our expansive apartment-style suites are designed to make your experience convenient and comfortable. As you enter one of our luxuriously appointed suites, you are warmly welcomed with a large living room, full kitchen, dining area, separate private bedroom(s) and a well appointed bathroom(s). The apartments all come complete with oak wood flooring, 11 foot ceilings, and noise reduction windows. All of our oversized suites are three and four room full apartments designed for luxury living. This property is designed to be a home away from home with fully outfitted kitchens, stone counters, stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher, and kitchenware for up to six people. Pillow top mattresses and full bathroom botanical amenities are offered to all our guests. Both of our Penthouses have beautiful outdoor balconies in addition to all the rest. And it doesn't end there, The BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality house dishes up complimentary breakfast daily. Enjoy piping hot eggs and made to order waffles, cereals, yogurts, fresh fruits, breads, pastries, (delivered daily), juices and 100% Arabica coffee. Our hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi and a local fitness center access that keeps you connected and up with your fitness routine. Free fitness facilities and classes like yoga, kettlebell, and Pilates, basketball court, weights, machines, aerobics, sauna, steam room, and two swimming pools are all available to our adult guests. Free local telephone calls from your room and free newspaper at your door every weekday are just a few additional perks. Our award winning world class multilingual service team stands ready to anticipate anything you might need 24 hours a day. Read the variety of free newspapers or use our free computer/printers or just to come mingle with the other guests in our public lobby hospitality suite. Enjoy free tea or coffee there throughout the day. Take a break on our outdoor public deck that offers a quiet peaceful area during warmer months, complete with flowers and benches. Book your ideal New York City dream experience at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Hospitality House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hospitality House Hotel New York City
Best Western Hospitality Hotel
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western
Best Western Hospitality House New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing