We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in New York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hospitality House
Ranked #124 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2011

My family and I recently stayed here for 5 nights and found the 2 bedroom apartment to be a 'home away from home'. Our flight from LA was delayed and we arrived at a very early hour (almost 3 am), however we were greeted and welcomed so well it felt like a huge relief to finally be 'home''. Excellent location, excellent advice from everyone on the desk, good breakfast and internet.
My only criticism is that there is not enough done to address the noise factor. During our USA trip we have stayed at 2 hotels in LA situated on freeways where there have been very thick layers of curtains in place and sound proof doors out onto the balcony as measures to try to decrease the noise. The curtains at the Best Western are flimsy and decorative rather than fuctional. I used the ear plugs provided because i just couldn't fall asleep without them but they're not the most comfortable things to wear.
Lack of a guest laundry is also a nuisance but is made up for by having spacious, comfortable surroundings with excellent kitchen facilities and good housekeeping. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2011

Thank you for your review here. We appreciate your suggestion to consider drapes that dapen some of the urban noise, We will look into that as a possible option.

We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for your patronage.
Warmest Regards,
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,163)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Hospitality House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 1,163 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2011

Very spacious apartment - ideal for us with older children. We had two bedrooms and a large sofa bed in the living area. We were also pleasantly surprised to have 3 large TVs - 1 in each bedroom and 1 in the living area. Very clean, very comfortable beds. Convenient location. Staff were friendly and more than willing to help. Would definitely recommend, particularly to families wanting some space.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HM93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

Thank you for your patronage and your review. We hope to see you again soon!!

Warmest Regards,
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

My family just returned from staying at this hotel for nearly a week. This was our first trip to NYC and had no idea of where to stay. I actually cancelled two prior hotel reservations after locating this hotel. I read the numerous reviews and must say, they were very accurate. We absolutely loved staying here!

With my two young children and my wife and I, we wanted to ensure the rooms had enough space to feel comfortable for the week. They were larger than I expected, with a full kitchen and dining room. Very nice flat screen tvs, hardwood floors, and comfortable beds.

The staff was great. Helped us navigate to attractions & subway. Breakfast & coffee was a huge plus in the morning. Saves a lot of time and $$$.

Overall, this was one of the best hotel experiences I've had. Already recommended it to our family members traveling here soon. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit.

Thank you Best Western Hospitality House for making our family vacation so memorable!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrimoFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Thank you for your positive feedback and patronage. We pride ourselves on serving our extended family, our guests... We are glad you were comfortable with children her. We are aware that traveling with children is a challenge in itself and our hotel was able to make that a bit easier.

We hope to meet and serve your other family members in the future!!

Warmest Regards,
Robert Gaeta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

First time staying overnight in New York and this was the best to stay. The location could not be better. Walking distance to Grand Central, Rockefeller Center and Times Square and many shops and restaurants. The suite was wonderful. Spacious (As I understand in NY that is not the usual), clean and very comfortable. Full Kitchen that was immaculate, large living room, bedroom and bathroom. Everything that we needed was provided for us and more. Breakfast was great and with 2 teenagers was a great savings. But the best of all was the staff. Every person we met was kind and helpful, especially Sam on the desk in the evening. He was informative and knowledgeable and could direct us in every situation. Directions, good places to eat and where to have fun, in the nicest manner. We feet like we have a friend in New York. We are going to miss Sam, but we will be back. This is the only place to stay in New York.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trixie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Thank you for your beautiful review and your patronage.

Sam is a wonderful person because he takes pride and finds honor in serving our guests. It's rare that someone is able to create memories and experiences for guests.

We love our Sammy. We hope no one takes him home with them!!

We hope to see you soon!!

Warmest Regards,
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Everything was perfect in the hotel, the best of all was "our" Sam: always friendly, he organises what ever you want, he is on the right place and has the right profession.
About the hotel generelly: perfect to be here: central situation, very comfortable appartment en everyone who work here, give you the feeling to be at home.
Sam, and the rest of the occupation, thank you for your service - we hope to be there once more.
Perhaps you remember us, when you see the fotos.
4 sisters and the young brother (from Austria, Holland and Spain) lived in the Best Western PLus, Hospitality House in New York city from 28th of April till 4th of Mai 2011.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MirjamTarrenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay!! We are very pleased that we made you feel at home with us. That is the kind of experience we hope for with our guests.

Our staff and especially "our" Sam go the extra mile to make our guests feel relaxed here.

We hope to see you again some day!!

Warmest Regards,
Yours in service
Robert Gaeta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Seven members of the family stayed over Memorial Weekend (late May 2011) to celebrate my parents' Golden Wedding anniversary. We spent 5 nights here and really enjoyed our stay. The apartments (one two-bed and one one-bed) were spacious and spotlessly clean, with large comfortable beds and nice bathrooms - the room attendants obviously work very hard to keep them that way - so special thanks to them. As the temperatures in New York that week were in the high 90s, the apartments provided a cool and shady retreat to return to at the end of the day. Breakfast was a really welcome addition and there was a lot of choice - waffles (which you make yourself on the waffle iron, which we don't really have in the UK and so was good fun!) plus cereals, muffins, bagels, juices, etc. It meant you didn't have to worry at all about where to get breakfast - and if you wanted you could also take it back to your apartment to eat. It was all very relaxed. The staff couldn't do enough to help and even found somewhere for my husband and dad to watch the Champions League Final (The Press Box Bar on Second Ave, just down the road!). Many thanks for a great stay and we hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat_and_Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us.

Thank you for mentioning the staff and our ladies who pride themselves on making the hotel spotlessly clean and comfortable. We are very appreciative of what they do here.

We are also very happy that you didn't miss your soccer games while away from home!!

We too hope you'll be back one day!!

Warm Regards,
Robert Gaeta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

There were 5 of us who stayed for a long weekend. We were on the second floor this time - 1 king bedroom, the second with 2 twins, and a pull out couch. One bathroom. Great space for all! Even thoug the bedroom windows were right on the street, we slept well, because the air conditioners provided "white noise". This was the second time staying for two of us, and we still think it's one of the best places to stay in NYC with a group. The other three completely agreed. No crowding into a small hotel room! It's like having an apartment with living room, dining area, and a kitchen. Granted, it's small, but after having lived in a 3rd floor walkup in NYC - this is spacious! Good location, great staff - always friendly and knowledgeable. Great little restaurants on both sides of the hotel as well. I will continue to stay here, and recommend to all who have more than two people in their group. Thanks everyone on staff! One other note: if you buy a ticket on any of the tour buses - they all come up 49th street, so you can literally hop on or off right in front of the hotel! We bought three day passes, and used the buses as much as we walked or took taxis. Very handy!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmcrn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

We are happy to hear that you and the twins enjoyed your stay!! Thank you for everything. We hope you can return someday soon.

Warmest Regards,

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#50 of 468 in New York City
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#32 of 468 in New York City
1,830 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#99 of 468 in New York City
2,711 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#59 of 468 in New York City
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hospitality House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hospitality House

Address: 145 E 49th St, New York City, NY 10017-1210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New York City
#83 Business Hotel in New York City
#222 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $220 - $728 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Hospitality House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While visiting one of the most extraordinary cities in the world, we invite you to live like a New Yorker in the center of it all at the award winning BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House. Relax in your very own exclusive Manhattan apartment-style suite designed with all the comforts of a large home without sacrificing any of the benefits of hotel amenities and services. Imagine yourself stepping out of your front door and being in the center of it all, with all New York's spectacular major attractions just a short walking distance away. While resting in your suite all of the fantastic sights and sounds that make New York City so great are just outside your window. Hotel guests especially appreciate spreading out in their very own apartment suite after a full day out in our thrilling city. No other New York City hotel can compare to our oversized rooms and great location. We're ideally located near Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and any number of subway and transportation hubs. Our expansive apartment-style suites are designed to make your experience convenient and comfortable. As you enter one of our luxuriously appointed suites, you are warmly welcomed with a large living room, full kitchen, dining area, separate private bedroom(s) and a well appointed bathroom(s). The apartments all come complete with oak wood flooring, 11 foot ceilings, and noise reduction windows. All of our oversized suites are three and four room full apartments designed for luxury living. This property is designed to be a home away from home with fully outfitted kitchens, stone counters, stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher, and kitchenware for up to six people. Pillow top mattresses and full bathroom botanical amenities are offered to all our guests. Both of our Penthouses have beautiful outdoor balconies in addition to all the rest. And it doesn't end there, The BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality house dishes up complimentary breakfast daily. Enjoy piping hot eggs and made to order waffles, cereals, yogurts, fresh fruits, breads, pastries, (delivered daily), juices and 100% Arabica coffee. Our hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi and a local fitness center access that keeps you connected and up with your fitness routine. Free fitness facilities and classes like yoga, kettlebell, and Pilates, basketball court, weights, machines, aerobics, sauna, steam room, and two swimming pools are all available to our adult guests. Free local telephone calls from your room and free newspaper at your door every weekday are just a few additional perks. Our award winning world class multilingual service team stands ready to anticipate anything you might need 24 hours a day. Read the variety of free newspapers or use our free computer/printers or just to come mingle with the other guests in our public lobby hospitality suite. Enjoy free tea or coffee there throughout the day. Take a break on our outdoor public deck that offers a quiet peaceful area during warmer months, complete with flowers and benches. Book your ideal New York City dream experience at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Hospitality House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hospitality House Hotel New York City
Best Western Hospitality Hotel
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western
Best Western Hospitality House New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing