We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden N.Y. Secret”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Ranked #336 of 466 Hotels in New York City
New Knoxville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden N.Y. Secret”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We like this location--close to Broadway & most theaters, as well as a
variety of eateries. The little bar is nice for a busy day night cap, and
decor is relaxing, but also fun. The lady bartender was especially good
in her attentativeness (on-the-ball), and efficient.
We look forward to another visit to the Amsterdam!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Joann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Daer Joann H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Amsterdam Court with other like-minded travelers such as yourself. I am glad that you received great service from all members of our staff and found our location to be spot on as well. We are truly humbled by your kind words and look forward to your next visit with us!

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    1,158
    672
    319
    288
See reviews for
472
1,410
314
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed at Amsterdam for 4 nights and could not believe how close it was to Times Square. Although the rooms were small (normal for NYC), I was actually surprised at how large the bathrooms were! Everything was so clean and the hotel staff cleaned up and made our bed everyday. One day my mom went out and I wanted to sleep in, so she left the privacy please sign on the door. When we both finally left for the city together are 1:30 we put the service please sign on the door. We came back to the room around 6 to recharge before dinner and our room was made up! Another day we ran out of towels so my mom went downstairs to ask for more and before she got back up to the room, someone had brought towels to me. The staff was so nice and always willing to help us navigate. Our flight out wasn't until 8pm so we were able to keep our luggage at the hotel until we left for the airport. Jose and Robert were awesome with our luggage and checking out. Will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Katelyn C,

Thank you for such a glowing review. We truly appreciate your kind words and also acknowledging both Jose and Robert for their efforts. However whats more important to us is that you had a most memorable stay and that we were able to accomodate all your needs. It was truly our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to when "Awesome Amsterdam" can do so again. Hurry back!

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

I stayed here for 6 Nights at the beginning of January, the location is peffect if your travelling in the winter. As you walk out the hotel entrance' turn right literally a 20 second walk and your at times square! The hotel is only a 10-15 minute walk to central park which I think is the best thing about new York!!

There is also a lounge/bar attached to the hotel which is really nice, I would have a drink while my partner would get ready Natsumi I think its called.

The only bad points I have is the heating, it was a dated heater which made a lot of racket it was like a ketting boiling and the room would go very humid, we rang reception and they sent there handy man up to take a look all he done was turn it off? but again that did not bother us. I would defiantly stay at Amsterdam court again. I am returning to nyc in January but this time we will be staying at the Edison hotel I did try booking Amsterdam court but I got a better deal with the Edison.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TyrionLanister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear TyrionLanister,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at the Amsterdam Court Hotel. Please be assured I have shared your feedback with our Executive Team to address within their respective departments. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Amsterdam Court the next time your travels bring you to NYC. Please be assured that we will always match any rates that you find on line, do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at gm@amsterdamcourtnyc.com if I may be of any further assistance now or in the future.

Warm Regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

My wife & i thoroughly enjoyed our 7 night stay here. Its a great very central location at a nice price. The room was spacious and clean, bed very comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. The hotel being on 50th street and just a few feet from Broadway onto TImes Square is a massive bonus. The subway for train access is also right outside, so handy bonus for cheap fast transportation.
If i could critique one small downer ,it was the costly wifi at $10 per 24hrs. But free wifi is readily available from almost all of the eateries nearby so this wasn't too much of a problem for us as we always ate out.
Thank you also to the cleaning lady who kept our room looking great.
Would definitely stay again !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear andrewilson,

Thank you for the very detailed praise for your stay at The Amsterdam Court Hotel recently. We are very proud to hear of your experience during the stay and that you found our location so desirable. Your recognition of our staff and most pointedly our housekeeping department is humbly appreciated. We cannot thank you enough for your patronage and look forward to when we can welcome you back again.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

I just finished staying for two nights at The Amsterdam Court Hotel. My wife and I had friends in NYC for a week and we decided to get a hotel and enjoy the city. The price was right and we weren't expecting much. We were pleasantly surprised. The staff was amazing and while the hallways were not nice the room was great. It was pretty large for a NYC hotel and everything in the room was brand new. The bathrooms were great and the New flat screen TV worked great. Free coffee and water all day were a great touch. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jimmyh174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear

Thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay at The Amsterdam Court. I am so happy that you chose to stay with us on your visit to New York City. It is gratifying to hear that you were so pleased with our staff. I am very proud of our colleagues here and greatly appreciate you taking the time to call attention to their efforts in your comments. We truly hope to have the honor to serve you again real soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2014

The Amsterdam Court Hotel was an excellent choice based on quality of service and proximity to the theatre district and Times Square. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, we couldn't have asked for anything better. It was our second experience at the Amsterdam Court and I would stay there again or recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Sandra H,

As the Hotel Manager of The Amsterdam Court, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC, we appreciate your loyalty!!

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Great Location in Times Square and the Theater District. Room size is small, but you don't go to New York to stay in the hotel room. I have stayed here many times, and would recommend it. Now I need 13 more characters to complete this review but I can't stop typing


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charles Bradley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Charles Bradley E,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted you chose to stay with us. We always want to make sure all of our guests have a pleasant stay. It's a pleasure knowing we exceeded your expectations from our location and comfortable beds. From all of us at The Amsterdam Court, we look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels lead you our way!

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#358 of 466 in New York City
893 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#355 of 466 in New York City
1,250 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#298 of 466 in New York City
7,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#384 of 466 in New York City
4,163 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#136 of 466 in New York City
5,054 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#256 of 466 in New York City
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Court Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Court Hotel
Address: 226 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Times Square in Our Boutique Accommodations. The Amsterdam Court Hotel in Times Square provides you with attentive guest services in its convenient Broadway Theater District location. Spend your next stay in the city at our boutique NYC hotel to experience all that the Amsterdam Court has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amsterdam Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amsterdam Court
Amsterdam Court Hotel New York
Amsterdam Hotel New York
Amsterdam Court New York City
Amsterdam Court Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing