We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Ranked #336 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Four of us have just returned from 4 fabulous nights in NYC. The Amsterdam Court was chosen with value in mind because we didn't expect to be spending a lot of time in the hotel. This was the case and whilst the bar and restaurant downstairs are really well decorated some of the cheaper rooms do need updating. Having said that they were clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a superb position - Times Square 10 mins walking and if you don't wish to eat in the hotel there is plenty of choice close by. Staff were excellent with Peter the Manager very approachable and keen to ensure your stay is memorable as was Karina who always had a welcoming smile.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Les B,

Thank you so much for your gracious feedback and heartfelt review. It was lovely to hear you had a wonderful vacation and a comfortable stay. We truly enjoyed hosting all of you and hope to have the pleasure to do so again the next time your travels lead you this way.

Cheers,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    1,127
    647
    302
    286
See reviews for
455
1,359
303
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uniontown, Ohio
Level Contributor
246 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed three nights at the Amsterdam Court Hotel on West 50th St the first week of April 2014 for pleasure. The end room was somewhat spacious compared to similar hotels in NYC. The staff, particularly Eddy and Ben were very pleasant and helpful with our needs. The location is spectacular...close to Times Square and easy access to trains. The price was very fair in comparison to other NYC hotels. We hope to stay once again on our next visit.

David B and Melissa H

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidB19922014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear DavidB19922014,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay at The Amsterdam Court Hotel. As the Hotel Manager, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our rooms most comfortable and spacious. Our staff was thrilled to work for you and are humbled by your kind words. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Warm Regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

The amsterdam court is placed in a fantastic location. Sure the rooms are subject to noise but this is NYC! As we were there for a special occasion we emailed beforehand and the manager Peter very kindly upgraded us to a deluxe king room on the 6th floor. Staff were very helpful and couldn't do any more for us! My only issue was that there are no safety deposit boxes in the room and there were non available in reception on arrival and for the length of our stay. Overall great value for money and I would recommend staying here !!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirkbyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Kirkbyred,

Isn't a pleasure when a plan comes together! We corresponded from early on and I was so pleased to hear that everything worked out so perfectly for you. Our staff was truly humbled by your kind words and fully enjoyed the daily repartee from both you and your spouse. I do apologize that we were not able to accomodate your request for a safe deposit box but assure you that is something we are working on diligently to correct. We thank you wholeheartedly for joining us and look forward to when we can welcome you back again!

Warm regards from your friends at The Amsterdam Court

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Amsterdam Court is old, but clean and VERY convenient, as well as reasonably priced. The most notable thing about our stay at Amsterdam Court was the awesome service. Especially Natalie, Jose', and Marleny, and their manager, Peter. They were constantly helpful and friendly. Loved those folks!!! In addition, we were right in the middle of the Theatre District, two blocks from Times Square and very close to The Rock, and all the really exciting parts of Manhattan. Subway entrances are only a few steps in almost any direction- Very Convenient. Rooms are small, but adequate, very clean and absolutely wonderful service. The bathroom has been redone recently and was very nice. One drawback was there was no 'countertop' or shelf space. They could easily add a shelf over the clothes rod in the small closet to add storage, and some shelving in the bathroom and/or bedroom - the high ceilings would easily allow for that to improve the lodging experience. Complimentary coffee, tea, etc. in the lower level - 24/7. Not great coffee, but free. No snacks, but there are a lot of fast food and fine dining places in the area. If you like Mexican, we recommend The Green Rancho Restaurant just a couple of blocks away - for great soups, go to The Food Emporium. This was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: This is a very noisy part of Manhattan - lots of nite life and crowds coming and going from the thea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Robert C,

It was really a pleasure to have you stay with us here at The Amsterdam Court. Your kind words truly validate what it is we strive for here at the Court and we are so honored and pleased to have been able to afford you that. We are also so glad that you got to really enjoy all that New York City has to offer and that our convenient location made that easier as well. It is our hope that we will be able to welcome you back it the not so distant future and that we can get the chance to show you our gratitude once again real soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed in the hotel during the second week of March 2014. The hotel is old, the room was really really small, nothing similar to the pictures. At night we has many problems because the heater is sooo old that when it was on every 40 minutes it started to make a very awful noice like when the kettle is boiling, we complaint many times about this issue and no one did anything, the only solution they gave us was to turn it off when the weather at that time was really cold. The location is great, because you are just half a block from the subway and 5 blocks from Times Squared.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ale I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Ale I,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Amsterdam Court Hotel. All feedback is greatly appreciated regardless of it's nature. I am concerned about your experience at our hotel, and regret any inconvenience you might've encountered. If you would like to discuss further, please feel free to give me a call at the hotel. I would like to hear about your experience and try to make your next stay at The Court a most enjoyable one.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

A great hotel in a great location!!!! Arrived just before noon on the 18th of March, Peter checked us in and upgraded us so we were able to access our room right away. Room was #715 and it was a decent size room with beds as comfy as clouds!!! Room was cleaned everyday with fresh towels. We required maintenance and they were quick to fix the minor issue. Front desk were always welcoming when we'd return to the hotel. Also helpful with offering info re the subway, etc. I took earplugs with me but did not require them, just heard occasional sirens & horns. Will hopefully return to NYC with my Broadway loving daughter and we'll be sure to return to Amsterdam!!! The location was excellent!!! Loved every moment!!!! Peter you are doing a great job and your staff all seem to enjoy the job they are doing..... a huge success in customer service!!! Thanks for making our trip so comfortable!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen19682014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Karen19682014,

You are most definately welcome! It was truly our pleasure to host you during your most recent excursion to New York City. I am so glad to hear that everything went smoothly and your stay was one filled with both comfort and excitement. We look forward to your next visit and plan to outdo ourselves to show you and even greater time...

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Small room, but good value (found a hotwire deal). Friendly staff and convenient location. I could not get wifi to work when I first got to the room, but after a 30 second phone call, they gave it to me for free without needing to ask. Of particular note was how quiet the room was; no street noise at all. I appreciate having a nice, affordable option in such a good location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Lexi M,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are humbled by your kind words and grateful we were able to meet all your needs. Please join us again we would love to welcome you back!

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#358 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#355 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#289 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,651 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#197 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#374 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Court Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Court Hotel
Address: 226 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockefeller Center 4 blocks. In the heart of the Theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Amsterdam Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amsterdam Court
Amsterdam Court Hotel New York
Amsterdam Hotel New York
Amsterdam Court New York City
Amsterdam Court Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing