We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most favorite hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Ranked #334 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Joure, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most favorite hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

I've been staying in three different hotels located in the neighborhood of Time Square in the last couple of years. The Amsterdam Court Hotel was my most favorite! There's onesuggestion to the hotel management. Make the Wifi complimentary. I believe that has become a basic service in people's life and charging a daily USD 10,00 fee is outdated. Overall my compliments for this nice hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Coen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Coen A,

Thank you for your kind and gracious review of your most recent stay with us. Your loyalty does not go unnoticed nor do your suggestions. As we move forward with our upcoming renovations many issues will be brought forth for discussion and WIFI is definatey one of them. We wholeheartedly appreciate your candor and want to continue the great relationship we have with you. Thanks again...

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    1,139
    651
    306
    286
See reviews for
458
1,374
307
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

In a very good location, very clean and very friendly, helpful and efficient staff.
Got upgraded to deluxe double room which was a bonus. The only problem was the plumbing in the bathroom but it is an old hotel and we just worked around it but it was still worth staying there. Great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Sheila O,

We appreciate your most recent reviw of your stay at The Amsterdam Court. We are happy that you found our staff hospitable and our rooms clean & comfortable. We do apologize for any inconvenience incured due to some plumbing isssues but am pleased it was an easy fix and you were able to enoy your time without any further glitches. Thank you for choosing The Court and we truly hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, New Brunswick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

The staff was really helpful and the location of the hotel was perfect. The rooms aren't big but we weren't going to NYC to stay in our rooms we were there to visit. The hotel was centrally located which allowed us to do a lot of walking around the beautiful city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Adele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Adele L,

Thank you for your most kind words and accolades. We here at The Amsterdam Court love to hear when hit the mark spot on! It is truly our goal every day to make the guest experience as truly memorable as yours was and we are pleased to know we are getting it right. Cheers!
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again real soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Any City
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Right up from Time Square the room was quaint but the walls were paper thin so it was a bit noisy from both the street and the neighbors. The staff were really nice. Don't park in the lot right next to the hotel, they rip u off bad" (even for NYC)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lisa Woodbury R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Lisa Woodbury R,

We appreciate your most candid review of your recent stay at The Amsterdam Court Hotel. I do apologize for the poor service you were afforded by one of the local garages, next time please allow us to direct you to one of our reputable affiliates.
We are preparing for an upcoming renovation to our rooms and hope to invite you back soon so you may experience the changes first hand.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoddesdon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

It was our first trip to NYC and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was small and compact which was not a problem for us as we only used the room to sleep and to get ready to go out. The room number was 325 and the room was very warm and compact and the bed was a good size and comfortable. The bathroom is a fair size and we always had hot water, clean towels and toiletries were provided as well. Upon our arrival we were given a map and information about the area and the staff also advised us on what lines we needed to use on the subway. The location of the hotel was fantastic and we were in walking distance to alot of the main places you would like to visit. If you are going to spend alot of your time in your room and you want more space and luxury then maybe this hotel is not for you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Pauline F,

Thank you for such open and honest feedback on your recent stay at the Amsterdam Court Hotel. We truly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Please be assured I have shared your feedback with our Executive Team to address within their respective departments. I am pleased to hear you found our Front Desk staff so accommodating and our location so conveniently located. We hope to welcome you back again real soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I was in town from February 5th through the 14th for Fashion Week. The Hotel's location is very convenient one stop away from Lincoln Center its off the 1 train and the ACE train. The staff was great!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Philip A,

Thank you for such positive feedback regarding your recent stay at The Amsterdam Court. We are very pleased we were able to meet all your needs and that you found our location so conveniently located near all the fashion mania. We hope to welcome you back again real soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

This is our first time in NYC, and although this hotel is a block away from time square, it wasn't what I expected. Walking in we were checked in by Eddie C. When I asked him about certain things he looked bored, and not once did he smile! He actually made me feel like I was bothering him. The rooms are small (normal for NYC I heard) and it was EXTREMELY HOT! We had to crack the window open to let the heat out. We couldn't control the temperature from our room. NYC was at 23°-41° while we were there. I get why the heat was on, but I couldn't breathe at times. The first day we only had 2 bath towels, on the 3rd day we received 2 additional hand towels, and on our 4th day we got a small sink towel. I guess the more days you stay, the more amenities they give you. All in all I will stay else where, when I return to NYC.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank asvr04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear asvr04,

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the heating system, and the inconsistencies in servicing your room. We are in the process of resolving the heating issues and are looking forward to an upcoming renovation. Please be assured I have shared your concerns with our respective Dept. heads. I have spoken directly with Eddy and he would like to extend his sincerest apology if he appeared aloof for that was not his intention. Should you decide to stay with us again, I would be happy to assist you with your reservation and perhaps share some details about our larger room categories with you. Moreover, I would be pleased to learn how we could have further improved your experience. Please contact me at your convenience at pgallo@amsterdamhospitality.com

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#356 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#353 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#285 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,785 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#307 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,101 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#376 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Court Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Court Hotel
Address: 226 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockefeller Center 4 blocks. In the heart of the Theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amsterdam Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amsterdam Court
Amsterdam Court Hotel New York
Amsterdam Hotel New York
Amsterdam Court New York City
Amsterdam Court Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing