We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Ranked #337 of 466 Hotels in New York City
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights before catching a cruise. On return from cruise even though not staying at hotel they still looked after our luggage on the last day before our flight home and were very helpful with flight confirmation and taxi booking.
Room not great view but updated contemporary decor and very comfortable beds.
Perfect location close to Times Square and the subway.
Robert was particularly friendly and helpful.
I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrsLini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear MrsLini,

Thank you so very much for your wonderful feedback. It is always a pleasure to hear when our guests truly enjoyed their New York vacation and especially when we played a part in it as well. I am very pleased that you took a moment to mention the fine work afforded you by our Bellman Robert and will glady share this with him. We thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back real soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    1,158
    672
    319
    288
See reviews for
472
1,411
314
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

A great little hotel for a night out in N.Y. the rooms are small but it was nice.I wish we had a better view but it is N.Y.The staff was friendly and I loved how helpful they were.We are returning this Friday and will be callIing Peter for a room..Thanks for the ice ;-)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jewel114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear jewel114,

Thank you for such a sweet and upbeat review. Service is our #1 priority and we will guarantee that each and every time. I look forward to welcoming you back real soon...and yes the ice will be chilling!

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Room was always clean, the hotel staff was very warm and pollite. They always helped us with everything. They even recommended us a shuttle to JFK which was cheaper than taking a taxi. The hotel is very well placed, near everything. No complaints.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Agustin Alejand... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Agustin Alejand... M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay at The Amsterdam Court Hotel. As the Hotel Manager, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Warm Regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Just arrived home after spending 5 Nights at the Hotel. The hotel check in procedure was very efficient and the reception staff were very polite and helpful. We were in room 202 which was to the back of the hotel, the room had cupboards either side of the kingsize bed which was ample enough to hang our clothes in. A top tip is after emptying your cases put them on top of the cupboards as the rooms are abit on the small side (but not a problem as it was only used to sleep in). The kingsize bed was comfortable and the pillows were not a problem. We had a shower only which was nice and powerful and hot water was not a problem. The room temperature was fine and we had no noise from the heating pipes or radiator. The room was cleaned each day and towels also replaced each day.The location of this hotel is absolutely fantastic 5 minutes walk from Times Square and 15 minutes walk up to Central Park with abundant eating places located close by.When checking out we were concerned about the snow storm which had hit New York but the staff at reception checked that our flight was still operating and Zobert sorted out a Taxi to the airport for us. I would certainly use the hotel again when we visit New York next time. A big thank you to all the Staff at the Amsterdam Court hotel and thank you again.

Room Tip: We had room 202 which caused no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Parmoboy,

Thank you for your most recent feedback of your stay here at The Amsterdam Court Hotel. We appreciate your hosnesty and your easy traveling know how. Though this has been an extremely trying winter we continue to strive to go above and beyond to afford our guests the utmost comfort and convenience. We thank you for recognizing that and appreciate your kindness. It is truly a pleasure to welcome and host guests such as yourself. We are pleased you found our location so suited to your traveling needs and that you were able to take full advantage of it. I am happy Robert was of such help to you and will share your kind words with him.
Thank you again and we hope to have the honor to welcome you back real soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Really enjoyed my time in New York and was lucky to find the Amsterdam court. Rooms are small but clean .rooms were a bit hot but would rather that than being cold. We were given 2 rooms for 2 adults and 2 children and ended up with 4 double beds!!! Great stay . Thank you to the staff. X

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Fran099,

Thank you so much for your most generous review. Your family was a complete joy to have with us and we are so happy to hear that all of you had such a splendid vacation. I will share your kind words with our staff for it will truly bring a smile to all thier faces! Thank you again and we look forward to seeing all of you real soon...

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Great location in the middle of downtown. Our stay would have been near perfect if it hadnt been for the noisy heating system. Loud noises coming from the radiator kept us awake and worried. We adressed the issue with the front desk who sent their ''engineer''to our room to fix the problem. The so-called ''engineer'' was extremely rude and yelled at us when we argued that turning the heater off, as he had done, would not solve our problem. As we didnt feel like sleeping in a cold room, we asked the front desk if we could possibly be put in a different room with, possibly, a better heater. Unfortunately, the room we were tranfered to was in such terrible shape that we ended up going back to the original one. The staff at the front desk was friendly and helpful despite everything but the agressive janitor/''engineer'' honestly made me fear for my safety.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Caroline V,

Thank you for the honest feedback of your recent stay at The Court. I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences incurred and especially for the behavior you described by our Engineer. I do wish you would have shared this immediately when this happened, it is not the way any of our associates conduct business. If you would care to reach out to me personally and share your name I would be able to get a better grasp of the situation and in turn assure this will not happen again. You can reach me at pgallo@amsterdamhospitality.com or by calling the hotel directly.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I booked this room through Hotwire.com for a very cheap rate ($135) and, in all honesty, we got exactly what we paid for. The room was tiny. The king bed left barely any room to move around - probably the smallest hotel room I've ever been in; but it appeared updated and most importantly, clean. No complaints. We arrived at 10:30AM and we were given our room immediately. Check in was a breeze and the clerk was very friendly. This hotel is located directly across the street from the Gershwin Theatre, the home of Wicked, which happened to be the show we were in town to see. Perfect location for that, obviously, and for all other Times Square attractions/Theatres as well. Due to the size of the room, I wouldn't want to stay at this hotel for more than a night or two max; but if you're just looking for a clean room (no ammenities), at a good price, in which to spend the night, this is your place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Geoff L,

We are so happy that your trip went well and you got to enjoy the theater and the surrounding areas. Our Hotel is centrally located and we are pleased to hear that was helpful for you. Our staff takes pride in offering grade A service and we thank you for acknowledging that. I truly hope to welcome you back again soon and suggest selecting one of our larger room types for more space and convenience. Thank you again for your kind words.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#361 of 466 in New York City
896 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#356 of 466 in New York City
1,261 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#298 of 466 in New York City
7,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#384 of 466 in New York City
4,192 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#131 of 466 in New York City
5,070 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#331 of 466 in New York City
4,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Court Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Court Hotel
Address: 226 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Times Square in Our Boutique Accommodations. The Amsterdam Court Hotel in Times Square provides you with attentive guest services in its convenient Broadway Theater District location. Spend your next stay in the city at our boutique NYC hotel to experience all that the Amsterdam Court has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Amsterdam Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amsterdam Court
Amsterdam Court Hotel New York
Amsterdam Hotel New York
Amsterdam Court New York City
Amsterdam Court Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing