We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanx for a pleasant stay due to friendly staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Ranked #348 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Booked for just 2 nights.Hotel was perfectly close to Times Square, so did everything planned walking.The staff was very kind, really kind, not faking or pretending.They were very helpful.Until next time, for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank filipdebruyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yovana C, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear filipdebruyne,

Very nice! Thank you so much for you great review and comments about the service from our staff. All of us here at Amsterdam Court take great pride in providing only the best service here in New York City, and so your comments really make us smile. We hope to have the chance of welcoming you back in the future!

Warm Regards

Vana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,588 - 1,594 of 3,277 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed our stay at the Amsterdam Hotel in NYC! The staff was great with helping us with in city travel arrangements, giving directions and advice on places to go and things to see and do. The room was a typical hotel room, but actually the bath was bigger than expected and the bed was super comfortable! We felt very safe the whole time there and truly enjoyed our stay. The only downside was you have to pay for Internet access and we had no view at all! However, we weren't in the room during the day to look outside, but internet would have been nice. The location was great for walking to Times Square or the theaters and rooms were kept clean.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fifth floor - noise level wasn't bad. The elevator wait was a little long, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retired11_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yovana C, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Retired11_13

Very nice! Thank you so much for your great review! We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location and your nice comments about our friendly staff! We also agree with you 100% about our beds - they are beyond comfortable! I appreciate your feedback as this helps us be responsive to the total guest experience. All of us here at Amsterdam Court look forward to welcoming you back soon, so until then, take care!

Warm Regards

Vana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed there for one night this week. The hotel was clean, convenient and very reasonably priced. Staff was exceptional. This is will now be on my list of regular hotels to stay in while in NYC. When we had checked out we still had to do one more meeting and the general manager let us use the conference room at no charge, saving us considerable money. Great place!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yovana C, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Bruce P,

WOW Thank you We're very happy to hear that we made a good first impression on you and the Band. Thank you for your kind feedback for our staff; we will be sure to pass it on! Glad to hear that we are on your list of "Regular Hotels in NYC". We look forward to welcoming "Little River Band" again for your return to New York City!

Warm Regards

Vana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the size and condition of this room. Finding a room in the heart of NYC, walking distance to Central Park and the Theater District at the price I was willing to pay is generally a recipe for disaster, but our room was quiet, comfortable and clean. Private bath, very comfortable bed and an extremely courteous and hard-working staff. Vana, who was working the front desk, was very pleasant and went out of her way to make sure my wife and I felt welcome and special even though we were staying only one night. It's a smaller hotel, so you definitely get a more personalized service. I would definitely recommend the Amsterdam Court based on location, value and the friendly staff.

Room Tip: Not a very large hotel so I don't think there would be much variance from one room to the next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yovana C, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear mike m

Very nice! Thank you so much for you great review and comments about the service from our team. As a boutique hotel, here at Amsterdam Court, we take great pride in providing a fun, fresh, and delightfully unexpected hotel experience for our guests! All of us here at Amsterdam Court look forward to welcoming you back soon, so until then, take care!

Warm Regards

Yovana Chinasamy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I searched many hotels in NYC and this was the only one at this price with a private bathroom. I didn't expect much, however I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are small, but they were clean and the staff were all very courteous and helpful. It doesn't have a lot of the usual free things that come with a chain hotel stay, but I think the location, coupled with the price, make it a wonderful hotel to stay in when you are attending the theater.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yovana C, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Jennifer H

It was a pleasure to learn that our accommodations exceeded your expectations. We pride ourselves in ensuring our guests experience is seamless, and we are proud to have achieved this goal with you. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon and remain at your service.

Warm Regards

Yovana Chinasamy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

An excellent place to stay. Ideal location, friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms and peaceful sleep. I'd definately stay here again and have already recommended this hotel to friends. We stayed in room 625 on the 6th floor and whilst the room was small, it was perfectly clean and comfortble. Overall, a very pleasant place to stay whilst you enjoy New York.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CallumPTFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yovana C, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear CallumPTFC


Thank you for such a fabulous review. I am thrilled to hear you had such a memorable experience here at Amsterdam Court. It really is the ultimate compliment and thank you for your recommendations to friends and family. We very much look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to New York City. Take care until then!

Warm Regards

Vana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We chose the Amsterdam Court based on the proximity to the Gershwin, and the 42nd street subway station (to get the 7 train to the US Open.) In terms of location, it was great. Everything else... not so much. When we arrived, we were told no rooms were ready and we had to come back at 3- fair enough, that's check-in time. We arrived at 3, and STILL nothing was ready. Waited another twenty minutes before we had a room. Then, the telephone didn't work, we had no iron or hair dryer, and the A/C was so loud that we could hear it from outside the door. To top it off, the loud A/C didn't even cool the room. We also had 2 power outages in our room, and they don't supply facecloths either. Plus, staff was rude and not particularly helpful. If you are looking just for location, then it's perfect. But not great for anything else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#370 of 470 in New York City
938 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#373 of 470 in New York City
1,461 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#400 of 470 in New York City
4,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#294 of 470 in New York City
7,947 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#397 of 470 in New York City
1,541 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#268 of 470 in New York City
4,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Court Hotel

Address: 226 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #348 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $121 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Times Square in Our Boutique Accommodations. The Amsterdam Court Hotel in Times Square provides you with attentive guest services in its convenient Broadway Theater District location. Spend your next stay in the city at our boutique NYC hotel to experience all that the Amsterdam Court has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amsterdam Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amsterdam Court
Amsterdam Court Hotel New York
Amsterdam Hotel New York
Amsterdam Court New York City
Amsterdam Court Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing