We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Ranked #348 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My family and I (from the Netherlands) stayed 4 nights in this hotel. We had two stepparent rooms, one with two windows and the other one without any daylight.The rooms were pretty dark. The second room smelled like fried potatoes, but we could switch rooms immediately after noticing this at the reception desk. Great service.
This hotel is perfectly situated. With times square just around the corner, central park and the surrounded museums on a stone throw away and Rockefeller Centre around another corner. We even walked to flatiron building. Maybe a good thing to know.. next time we will bring sports shoes. Because our feet hurt after walking. We visited Ground zero and the Brooklyn Bridge by taxi. We didn’t travel by metro because it was cheaper for us four to travel by taxi.
Also really comfortable beds!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MirandaR532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yovana C, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear MirandaR532,

Thank you very much for your recent review of Amsterdam Court, New York on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We hope to have the chance of welcoming you back in the future!

Warm Regards

Vana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,679 - 1,685 of 3,280 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

Arrived 5-1 and left 5-3-13, very pleased with the hotel, and the room...The hotel had a charming European feel, perhaps made so by the wonderful staff. Ana was most helpful and engaging. I found the room to be that of hotels I stayed in Scotland, small by American standards, but perfect for this trip as I was there to work...It was bright and clean, comfy bed, great bathroom, with a shower that could peel the paint off a car...I expected a weak shower, not!

It was a block off Broadway, I could walk down to the client site passing thru Times Square, and take in all the sites NYC has to offer. Since this was my first visit to NY, I enjoyed that. Especially loved Bryant Park...

I had everything I needed right near me, food, drink, misc. shopping, etc.

I would certainly stay again, as the staff made my stay very enjoyable and tolerated my 3 cab ride time changes to JFK..

RCF
Charlotte NC

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCFullerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yovana C, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear RCFullerton,

I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Amsterdam Court. It sounds like our team really made your stay special and that you had the chance to take advantage of our great location. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm Regards

Vana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My friend and I (both Dutch) had a great visit in NY. Our hotel was in between Central Parc and Times Square and very close to 2 subway stations. The room (nr 408) was small, but clean, very quiet and a VERY nice bed so sleep in. At the desk they were willing to help us with tickets for the Yankee's game and other stuff. They were very friendly. Breakfast at the hotel was not what we wanted. We, europeans, like a bit more choices, so we went outside to a "Pret a Manger" around the corner, and had a very good breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary-Jane3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yovana C, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Mary-Jane3112,

Thank you for your review – I am so pleased to hear you and your friend had such a great stay. It sounds like our central location and friendly staff really made your stay special. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards

Vana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Overall, great! Location was close to just about everything I wanted to visit. Staff was attentive and friendly (thanks Vana and Robert). I stayed in a clean room with a comfortable bed, clean bathroom, hot water. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funnypaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yovana C, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear funnypaws,

Thank you for your review; I am thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed our service I will be sure to pass your comments on to Robert (Bellman) and that you enjoyed our guest rooms. It sounds like you had a great time hope you’ll stay with us again soon.

Warm Regards

Vana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night as a couple travelling with friends. We had two days in New York so were keen to make the most of our trip and see as many of the sights as possible. The hotel is perfectly situated right around the corner from the main square in Times Square and the subway! We were upgraded on arrival to a super king deluxe room and were treated exceptionally well by staff. The room was comfortable and spacious, the en suite bathroom was clean and perfectly adequate. The shower/bath was great with good pressure and hot water. We did not have breakfast at the hotel but there was coffee and tea available 24/7. After checkout the staff securely stored our luggage so we were able to make the most of our final day in NY. Despite our short visit we were able to see Times Square and walked 10mins from the hotel to the Rockefeller Centre to see the view at night...amazing! We took the subway to Central Park which was easy to use and great fun! On the second day we visited Ground Zero and the Statue of Liberty....we were able to do all these things in good time and with ease due to the hotels fantastic location! Would stay again if ever visiting NY and will recommend to others.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SWilliams86_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yovana C, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear SWilliams86_11

Very nice! Thank you so much for your great 5 Star review! We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location and all the amenities our hotel has to offer. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff . We are flattered by your review, All of us here at Amsterdam Court look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards

Vana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was our first visit to New York. The hotel was central to ALL landmarks, all staff really helpful, rooms great size we were given a free upgrade. Bed super comfy and shower amazing really powerful. We highly recommend this hotel. The British Airways website warned us of renovation work - no sight or sound of this. You made our stay extra special - Thanks

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cardiffcity25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yovana C, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Cardiffcity25,

Fantastic! Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Amsterdam Court for your trip to NYC! It sounds like you had a perfect stay and really got to enjoy all that the hotel has to offer. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again for your next trip, and many more after that!

Warm Regards

Vana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

When we first arrived, we checked into our room on the 3rd floor. Unfortunately the room was small and the window looked out onto a brick wall and when we turned the light off at night, you could not see a thing. We asked for a room change which the reception staff were able to sort for us after our 2nd night there and we ended up in a lovely room on the 5th floor which looked out from the front of the hotel, with 3 windows that you could see out of. Service of the hotel staff was great and location was fab, just a few minutes walk from Times Square

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the front of the hotel, to get windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HandSi34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#370 of 470 in New York City
939 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#376 of 470 in New York City
1,466 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#402 of 470 in New York City
4,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#299 of 470 in New York City
7,961 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#397 of 470 in New York City
1,542 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#267 of 470 in New York City
4,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Court Hotel

Address: 226 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #348 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $119 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Times Square in Our Boutique Accommodations. The Amsterdam Court Hotel in Times Square provides you with attentive guest services in its convenient Broadway Theater District location. Spend your next stay in the city at our boutique NYC hotel to experience all that the Amsterdam Court has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amsterdam Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amsterdam Court
Amsterdam Court Hotel New York
Amsterdam Hotel New York
Amsterdam Court New York City
Amsterdam Court Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing