We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Ranked #336 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in March with my daughter. Booked directly with the hotel and got a great price. First time in Manhattan so I didn't know what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised at how clean our room was. The bed and the linens were very nice, the bathroom was recently renovated so it was nice and modern. Lots of hot water. You spend such little time in the room but yet it was nice to come back to this hotel after a long day of sightseeing. Literally steps from everything -- subway, Times Square, Broadway, Rockfeller, MOMA. Around the corner from Times Square so you don't get all the noise and traffic. Natalie at the front desk was very helpful with all of our request even before we got to the hotel. Keep up the great work, Natalie.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yovana C, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Pauline J,

Thank you for your stay and thank you for your great review. I was very pleased to know that you had a great hotel experience

If your travels bring you back to New York, we will look forward to your return visit. If there is anything I could do to assist in your future reservations, please do not hesitate to ask.

Warm Regards,

Yovana Chinasamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    1,162
    678
    320
    288
See reviews for
478
1,418
315
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Amsterdam Court Hotel in July 2012. We chose this hotel because of its excellent location. It's between Broadway and 8th Avenue and within walking distance to the subway, good restaurants and lots of attractions like the theatres, Times Square (less than 5 min. away), Rockefeller Center, the Museum of Modern Art, Radio City Music Hall and Central Park... Complimentary tea/ coffee is available in the lobby (on the left of the elevators). There is wifi but you have to pay for it. Although the hotel is going through some renovation work, I think it is unlikely for them to change the tiny size of the room and of the bathroom. Yet they were clean. I liked the toiletries. :) The bed was ok. They might be replacing the old TVs with the LCDs. The staff was always helpful. The price is reasonable considering the location but if you want a luxury hotel, this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kapina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yovana C, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear kapina

Thank you for your recent review of Amsterdam Court, We're glad you enjoyed our prime location and service. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards

Yovana Chinasamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

It was a small room, bathroom could have used some upgrading, but clean, well maintained and comfortable bed. Centrally located near so many great attractions. It was a great price with great Staff who were very helpful with recommendations and great service. We would book there again. Made our first visit to New York very memorilble

Room Tip: Get a room not facing the street, a little bit busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yovana C, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Lina V,

Thank you for your stay and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was happy to know that your service expectations were met with kindness by our team. We will look forward to your return visit.

If there is anything I could do to assist with your future reservations, please do not hesitate to contact my office directly.

Warm Regards

Yovana Chinasamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great location in NYC, a very tiny space - ie have to go into the room single file around the bed, but we were so busy we spent very little time in there anyway. My husband booked the room without looking on this site first. My heart sunk a little when I saw some traveller photos. However the room and bathroom were very clean and the bed was comfortable. We were within walking distance of lots of attractions. Staff at the front desk were very helpful and informative. We had a plumbing issue one night at midnight , a phone call to the desk had a plumber taking care of it literally within 10 minutes. I find the historic aspect of the architecture appealing as well. If we had any complaint, it would be the very old TV and extremely poor reception. Snowy would be an understatement ! We agreed this was reasonably priced hotel for the location and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanJSarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Excellent location if you are going to do some Broadway shows (the TKTS booth and most theatres are located within walking distance) or use public transportation or the hop on-hop off tour buses. The hotel is stylish and well maintained. The rooms are small -but in Manhattan they are all small- yet very comfortable and stylish (Ipod alarm clock, good matress with pillow top and nice linens, marble bathroom with cute toiletries). The staff is courteous and helpful. I didn't take the Continental breakfast due to the overload of sugar and refined carbs, but it looks like convenient and reasonably priced if you are into that. They offer complimentary tea/coffee for the guests throughout the day. Go for it if you find a good rate!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, MA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is right across the street from the Gershwin theater. Great location, near Times Square, can walk everywhere!! It's not glamorous, but it's clean, inexpensive, and there's great parking! I would stay here again!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsully0829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Spent two nights here last week. This is an old building with a marble staircase that wraps around the lift shaft - made using the stairs a pleasant experience.

My room was very clean and the bed linen is above average for a hotel of this price. Very clean bathroom and quiet location at back of building. Numerous cafes and eating places just steps away. Basic continental breakfast was OK. Pay for WIFI separately at $10 for 24 hours - wifi sign up is clunky, but the actual signal is fine.

Downsides were the heating pipework was a but clanky and although the door locked securely it was not snug to the door frame which made it feel less secure and let in some of the neighbor's noise.

However it was very good value for money and I plan to stay here again - I could walk everywhere I needed to go.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissJudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#358 of 466 in New York City
908 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#363 of 466 in New York City
1,299 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#297 of 466 in New York City
7,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#388 of 466 in New York City
4,324 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#334 of 466 in New York City
4,428 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#126 of 466 in New York City
5,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Court Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Court Hotel
Address: 226 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Times Square in Our Boutique Accommodations. The Amsterdam Court Hotel in Times Square provides you with attentive guest services in its convenient Broadway Theater District location. Spend your next stay in the city at our boutique NYC hotel to experience all that the Amsterdam Court has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Amsterdam Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amsterdam Court
Amsterdam Court Hotel New York
Amsterdam Hotel New York
Amsterdam Court New York City
Amsterdam Court Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing