We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Ranked #334 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent 7 nights at the Amsterdam Court Hotel and we felt it was great. The location is the best. So easy to get anywhere and close to everything. Karine and Jana at the desk were very nice and very helpful answering all of our questions. The room was small with not much in the line of a dresser for clothes, but there was a closet to hang items. The bathroom must have recently redone and was great. All in all we enjoyed our time spent at the Amsterdam Court Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeB3942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yovana C, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear DianeB3942,

I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to your return! I will be sure to pass your kinds words to Karina, I have no doubt that she will be truly pleased. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Warm Regards

Yovana Chinasamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    1,139
    651
    306
    286
See reviews for
458
1,374
307
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hoofddorp, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Me and my doughter stayed here for 4 nights. The rooms are standard but clean and big enough. Good bed. The ladies and gentlemen in the little reception were very kind and gave good information.The building itself is quit old but the location is a dream. So if you use your room just to sleep, it is a very good choice. All the theatres can easily be visited by foot, for the next time I'll choose it again.

Room Tip: take the back side, it is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannekevanV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yovana C, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear HannekevanV

Very nice! Thank you so much for your great review! We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location. We really appreciate your business, and hope to welcome you back soon. Take care!

Warm Regards

Yovana Chinasamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

It's fine, as long as you don't mind the roaches, bedbugs and rats staying with you. Oh, did I menation the long black hair and bodily secretions on the sheets when we checked in? Homeless people would not stay here. Staff is nice. They must be hiding from the law to work here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joanie19046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

South Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel's only redeeming quality was its proximity to the Theater District and Times Square...the location is a tourist's dream! If you are driving here, DO NOT park in the Central Parking ADJACENT (next to the hotel) as that is not the garage the website mentions as being adjacent to the hotel that offers a special rate. The front desk staff on October 6, 2012 seemed to think I was at fault for not recognizing that the garage next door wasn't the "adjacent" one to which their hotel website referred to and did nothing to rectify the situation. The doormen (when one was actually present, day OR night) were too busy checking their phones to actually open the door, and one of them nearly ran me over with a luggage cart they were loading up as I got onto the elevator! The room itself wasn't anything to write home about: Average mattress, blah carpeting/drapes...the window blinds were falling down near the top so I could not adjust them to minimize light into the room. The bathroom was decent, except for the sink...the water temperature was very fickle and I burned myself from exceedingly hot water when the dial was near the midpoint between cold and hot. The floor we were on was fairly quiet, and the hotel was easy to find as it was across from the Gershwin Theater. I enjoyed my trip to New York for a show and did not let the hotel ruin my trip! That being said, I will stay elsewhere on future trips.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Located on Broadway, (Mama Mia is virtually next door), and 100 yards from Times Square this hotel is at the centre of everything. All Midtown & Central Park within an easy stroll. Open top buses within easy reach! Choice of restaurants to suit every taste. OK if you are not a tourist then perhaps you would want something a little more orientated towards the business market and much more expensive. Rooms small but beds comfy. Good Internet for $10 a day as was a very satisfactory continental breakfast. Certainly value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bractullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great hotel in a great location. Located in Midtown, a couple of blocks from Timesquare and The Rock. Situated on a block with 2 subway stations. Room was larger then expected but clean and comfortable. Only downside is there was no minibar but downstairs is a 24 hour convenience store to by milk, juice, food, booze etc when you needed it.
Price was reasonable for location and comfort.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 709 which faced 50th. You could hear some street noise but that is expected in NYC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbenny711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yovana C, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear bigbenny711,

Thank you for such a kind reviewand taking time out of your day. I am so glad you enjoyed your experience with us at Amsterdam Court, We are very lucky to be located in the center of it all and it sounds like you had a great time in New York. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Warm Regards

Yovana Chinasamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Rooms are way too small, may appear clean but they're not. Everything is old an used. The air condition in the lobby is like you're in Alaska. The breakfast is the badest I have ever had in my entire life. Everything is made out of plastic and you can chose between toast bagel or some flakes. If there is anything left and the staff doesn't have to walk out and buy you some new food, so you can wait 15 minutes to get a toast, which is not even good. Do not stay at this hotel. Their are many better ones in NYC.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lupino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yovana C, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear lupino1

I am sorry that you had a less than exceptional experience, and that there were a few elements of your stay that you found needed improvement, and these will certainly be addressed and corrected. We really appreciate your business, I would like to personally discuss with you how we could regain your confidence with Amsterdam Court. and hope to welcome you back again soon. Please feel free to contact me directly at ychinasamy@amsterdamhospitality.com.

Warm Regards

Yovana Chinasamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#356 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#353 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#285 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,785 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#307 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,101 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#376 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Court Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Court Hotel
Address: 226 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockefeller Center 4 blocks. In the heart of the Theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amsterdam Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amsterdam Court
Amsterdam Court Hotel New York
Amsterdam Hotel New York
Amsterdam Court New York City
Amsterdam Court Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing