We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very interesting one shot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Degustation

Degustation
Reserve with OpenTable
Degustation is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,662 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: East Village
Cross street: Between 2nd Ave. & 3rd Ave.
Transit: 6 Train to Astor Place
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
154 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A very interesting one shot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

My wife and I had wonderful tasting meals here (each different as I am allergic to shellfish). There was a very nice variety and everything was extremely well-prepared. Unfortunately we later learned that the restaurant's menu is stagnant and has been for some time with the current chef relying on receipts from predecessors without adding anything of incremental value. Hence it's a one shot experience, with no reason to return until there is a new and innovative chef.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    30
    15
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
121 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Interesting Evolved Spanish Tapas place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Most of the dishes which are small sizes are interesting, two or three in the tasting menus are incredible and cooked in front of you by a staff of three. A little overpriced tough for what you eat.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jclinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Bays, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

The food here was very good. It was entertaining watching the chefs work and being able to talk directly to them as they worked. Some of their dishes are great creations. However not sure if I can say it was worth the dough. quite pricey. Also, be prepared for a long dine. The food comes out very slowly and erratically. When I'm paying this much, I'd rather the length of my dining experience be my choice. Really is best for two people, because of the seating, you're only going to be able to talk to one neighbor at a time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best in NY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

$80 for 7 course tasting--small portions, but every bite is amazing. Compared to other top NY restaurants I've been to (Jean George, Le Cirque, 11 Madison Park, Grammercy Tavern), Degustation has the best food for the best price in NY. Also a unique dining experience since the kitchen is inside the bar area and all seats are at the bar, so you get the special kitchen table without paying the kitchen table price. Only ~15 seats, so be sure to make a reservation (month in advance to ensure availability). Coffee "service" is also highly recommended for $5--they steam the milk right in front of you and serve to you along with white and Demerara sugar cubes--super cute presentation and good tasting coffee, although cup size is small.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
156 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A favourite, but it used to be even better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I love Degustation and I will keep on coming here whenever I am visiting New York. I always order the tasting menu, and I also did that this time. Most of the dishes are really exciting and tasteful, but for the first time I got the feeling that I was in an assembly line, that the Chef did not put his heart in this and at one point my dish just was almost cold.

The service by the rest of the staff is very nice and helpful, even though I had to wait almost half an hour for my table. I really do not mind this, because it means they allow their guests to take their time. I have not been in the restaurant in a couple of years and since last time there is a new Chef / owner. It might be he just did not had the best day, and that Degustation will be a number one restaurant when I return the next time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hildegull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Degustation also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Degustation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing