We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Steak” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Meats

Quality Meats
Reserve with OpenTable
Quality Meats is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #145 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 5th and 6th
Transit: N,R,W 59th&5th Ave
Description: This tony seafood house offers creature comforts and quality fish.
Anderson,SC
Level Contributor
195 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

The food was great. Probably the best steak we had, ever. The service was average. For the price, my wife and I did not feel special. The drinks (gin and tonic and vodka were 21 per drink-what the?) Our tab for 12 oysters, 4 drinks, porterhouse and side of edemame was 234.0) The waiter gave us the dessert menu and we never saw him again. I went 2 flights down to the bathroom , came back and sat and talked to 2 very interesting ladies from Ky and never saw him again. I had to flag down another waiter to get the bill. Great food but the service lacked (Monday?) or just out of town persons that would not be back (who knows). Go for good food (steak) but do not expect the best service. From what I have read I was disappointed but due to the fact the steak was great I have to say very good on the review. Go in with open mind the service lacks a restaurant with the price. Maybe resting on their previous reviews and the food quality.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tkherold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,085
    486
    170
    52
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

I visit every time I am in New York. Best steak I have ever eaten. Great service, great atmosphere love the decor. Taken other people and now a firm fav with them to.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scillygirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
142 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The best steakhouse in New York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

High quality steaks, excellent service and a the best atmosphere. The pricelevel is pretty high but it definitely worth it, about 200 USD for two persons incl. tips and taxes with dessert and without entree. It is my second visit and I will continue to come back every time I am in New York.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank odman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always quality food at Quality Meats!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Love this restaurant for it's top notch food, drinks & decor! And, the deserts are unique and delicious! We have dinner at QM every time we visit NYC!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SStuartMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
148 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good food, but stressed service...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is one of the better steak houses I have visited in New York so far - high quality food, innovative and interesting new approaches to classics like side orders and desserts (read their menu and you will understand...). The place is cool, and it's busy with city couples and business people. The only objection I have is the hasty, almost stressed service. The waiters where polite, correct and efficient, but almost too efficient; as a guest I almost felt stressed...and when the bill came on the table even before I had ordered coffee, well then the service definitely went a bit too far in their ambitions to clear the table.... Even if you want to run an efficient large scale NY restaurant you need to learn how to make your guest feel unique and seen....

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandbypag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quality Meats also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Quality Meats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing