We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“authentic japanese food”
Review of Kanoyama

Kanoyama
Ranked #2,463 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: East Village
New York City, New York, USA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“authentic japanese food”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I have been to this restaurant many times.
It is easy to get to by subway. the food is always good and it is always packed with people.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank shab20062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    41
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi, reasonably priced”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The sushi here is very, very good for the price. I always get the chef's special which is more than enough food and I love the shumai and fried oysters. The service is sometimes a little confused at the restaurant and you can get jammed in at busy times but they also deliver and have take-out which are great options!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ywnyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Sushi!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I went here last night with my husband and another couple based on their recommendation. The service, while attentive, was a little odd. It seemed like there were 5 different people waiting on us. We ordered a large variety of the signature dishes and sushi. The crispy rice is definitely their specialty, it was delicious! We also had the shrimp and sea bass tempura which were both delicious. The sushi was also very good. We ordered spicy tuna, yellowtail scallion, avocado, salmon and the baked lobster roll. While we didn't go to the bar, it seemed like a crowded hot spot. The only downside of Koi is that it is very pricey. But overall, we really enjoyed the experience and the food is worth coming back for!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CKauffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice food, not so nice service”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had a nice diner there. For two we tasted the shared plate of sushi and the quantity was really sufficient for us. Moreover the quality of the food (sushi and miso soup) was excellent. We spent a nice time there until the end our meal. We felt a bit thrown out of the restaurant by the waiter when he gave us the bill although we were not done. Indeed we paid and considering the service we decided to only give a small tip. The waitress came to us playing on the fact that we were speaking french together and assumed we were not aware of the usual tip. So she pushed to get 20% saying it was the regular tip, which is absolutly not true. This attitude was rude and not professional.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dreamer01219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Food still at the top, service on the slide”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

When I lived in NYC this was my favorite sushi bar - and the sushi is still some of the best around the city. Unfortunately, it's been "discovered", and the place is teeming with hipsters, yelpers, and god knows who else. Rather than any kind of control, the host staff just jam everyone into the bar area, 3 or 4 deep and shoved up against the tables of people eating, and reservation or not, you wait until they get around to you. Service is completely overwhelmed, the waiters don't seem to even know what's available, and they're impatient to get your order, get you out, and get another table in. For me, the old atmosphere and care of the place is simply gone, and great sushi or not, I'm not sure I'd go again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saltshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kanoyama also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Kanoyama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing