We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful show.”
Review of The Lion King

The Lion King
Book In Advance
More Info
$150.06*
and up
The Lion King On Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience the stunning artistry, the unforgettable music and the exhilarating choreography of this musical theater phenomenon-one of the most awe-inspiring productions ever brought to life on stage. A remarkable tale of hope and adventure, THE LION KING has found its way into the hearts of millions. As The New York Times says, "There is simply nothing else like it." Now is the time to join the circle of life at THE LION KING, The Award-Winning Best Musical, playing on Broadway eight times a week at the Minskoff Theatre. The show running time is 2 hours 30 minutes. Performance times vary by season, please visit our website for current performance dates and times.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a wonderful show.”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is the second time I have seen The Lion King (once in London). The atmosphere before the show was electric and the show certainly maintained this. Be aware our tickets were numbered seats 2 and 4 and we asked to be seated together to no avail. However when we reached our row it was even numbered only so seats 2 and 4 were actually together! No wonder the assistant looked at us if we were stupid>

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SueMc410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,929
    1,030
    325
    70
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Curacao
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Insanely amazing show”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

It's hard to add to the superlatives already lavished on this show so I will try and focus on a few highlights.

The spectacle as a whole is wonderful - the line between the costumes and the actors is visible and it's fun to bounce between watching the performance that the puppets are giving, versus that of the actors. I found this particularly enjoyable with Timon - a brilliant performance in every sense.

Scar does, however, steal the show - to the extent that my 4 year old wanted a Scar stuffed toy after the show (they don't sell them at the show although eBay seems to have a few) without playing up the evil side too heavily, it's just great to see the energy he puts into the role.

Rafiki is wonderful as well, and seems to be operating on a completely different level to the rest of the show.

Enjoy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PhlashPhlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Brilliant - amazing costumes and choreography”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

So many choices of good shows in Broadway but we picked the Lion King and are very pleased we did. From the first moment, with Rafiki's powerful call, the show both surprises and delights. It is great how various characters are in or come in through the audience at various times. The costumes, the singing, the set design were all fantastic. The way the humans/actors were part of their costumes is so clever and the way they moved was so realistic for the animal they were playing. It was also surprising to be given a programme (playbill) rather than having to buy one.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cast full of Broadway Debutes”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

After reviewing the calendar of shows for April 2014, my group of 4 women could only all agree on the Lion King (based on friends who had seen it). It was definitely the more expensive show on Broadway but we figured that this might be our only time in NYC. We went on a Saturday matinee so a majority of the audience was under 4 feet tall making it easy to see from most seats. We had second row mezzanine, center stage. Could not ask for more perfect seats.

Only suggestion is do not arrive late!!!! The opening is the most amazing part of the show and a lot of people missed it. The ushers did let them in after the curtain closed after the opening and all I wanted to do was yell "REWIND! These people missed the best part!" Rafiki opening gave me complete goose bumps and had a hard time holding back tears because it was so beautifully done. I will also admit that I thought that Scar was an absolutely brilliant villain. It was also fun to read the playbill after the show to see that a majority of the crew was new to Broadway.

Please, don't hesitate. Splurge a little and enjoy the show.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank travels_with_elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Absolutely fantastic musical. A beautiful theatre. Excellent production with stunning effects and gorgeous costumes. Had a lump in my throat at the end

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GillMasefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lion King also viewed

 

Been to The Lion King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing