We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most surprising and exciting play in a long while”
Review of The Lion King

The Lion King
Book In Advance
More Info
$156.31*
and up
The Lion King On Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience the stunning artistry, the unforgettable music and the exhilarating choreography of this musical theater phenomenon-one of the most awe-inspiring productions ever brought to life on stage. A remarkable tale of hope and adventure, THE LION KING has found its way into the hearts of millions. As The New York Times says, "There is simply nothing else like it." Now is the time to join the circle of life at THE LION KING, The Award-Winning Best Musical, playing on Broadway eight times a week at the Minskoff Theatre. The show running time is 2 hours 30 minutes. Performance times vary by season, please visit our website for current performance dates and times.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator
Israel
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Most surprising and exciting play in a long while”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is no kids play. The interpretation of the animated film into theater is superb and riveting. The costumes and set handling are siimply amazing, and the cast is fantastic, both in singing and dancing. I was riveted.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,909
    1,026
    322
    70
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Experience for the Family!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

It is the story we all know from the Disney movie, with some extra songs, and a wonderful display of puppets, costumes, masks, and other marvelous sites. It was very easy to get to the theatre, get tickets, and had wonderful seats for a reasonable price. Overall the show was amazing, and I highly recommend it to all.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PsycoChihuahua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
170 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Very nice show, maybe the dance and music wasn't on the same level as other musicald, but Lion King is rather known for the amazing show, and that's what you get!! I think especially the kids will go crazy... but not being a kid I aldo enjoyed it enourmously! Yeah, the ticketd could be cheaper but it's a once in a lifetile experience, and in my opinion well worth it!

Helpful?
Thank Darya89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
137 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful costumes and music”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Disney does it right. I was amazed at the costumes. Singing and acting truly one of the best broadway musicals

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Amazing Entertainment!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I booked with Ticketmaster in advance and found this very trustworthy and printed our tickets to take with us. We saw the afternoon session and it was packed. Nice big theatre with helpful staff. Had great seats on the mezzanine level. Was amazing and entertaining from start to finish. Great actors, songs, make up, sets and costumes. Very much like the movie but acted out in front of you. Their vocals & acting was amazing. This is good for all ages and would recommend to anyone to see. One of my top 3 musicals to see.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CJS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lion King also viewed

 

Been to The Lion King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing