We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hummus”
Review of Hummus Place - CLOSED

Hummus Place
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
Neighborhood: East Village
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great hummus”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I ate here for lunch with a party of 6. We ordered several different dishes and shared everything. The eggplant was delicious. Had several different types of hummus, they were all delicious. The black tea was so good. The price was very good, and I would definately eat here again, if I was in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    36
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best Brunch in the East Village.”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I come here at least 4 times per month for brunch. I love the Shakshuka Halumi. Highly recommended.

Great value, generous portions and excellent quality!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PLRUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the best Hummus in NYC”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

NY being the home of numerous people from the Middle East and western Asia, you'd expect to have good Hummus almost every block of the city. Alas, I met one disappointment after the other. That's until I found Hummus Place -- it's the real thing and delicious: freshly made, good flavours at modest price (I grew up eating Hummus so I missed it). A very satisfying full meal is created with the side dishes, Middle Eastern salad and coffee/tea. The falafel is good though not excellent, but remember this the place for Hummus.
I am a regular here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jojo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhuhai, Guangdong, China
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hummus original and healthy”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

A nice spot in center of NY, a lot of nice restaurants and bar's around as well.
Unfortunately there is no "kosher" signs, so it's not clear for Jewish people that's
right prepared. But it tastes nice, it's clean and need. Authentic food, great taste
and nice atmosphere. The service could be a bit improved.
For a vegetarian a great place as well for people who like real healthy fast food!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauli99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Level Contributor
89 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Satisfied!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I've never eaten a Hummus so good! The menu is various, everyone can find something to their liking. The portions are not abundant, but it is so cheap that you can take bis without too many regrets. Furthermore, along with a main course they offer a starter. It 'was a pleasant surprise in the center of Manhattan.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maggicamarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hummus Place also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing