We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why the big deal”
Review of Levain Bakery

Levain Bakery
Ranked #2 of 438 Dessert in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: Indian, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Description: Nestled in New York City's Upper West Side, Levain headquarters is a cozy neighborhood bakery where locals are greeted by name. A steady stream of loyal regulars stand side by side with tourists, eager to sample the legendary baked goods. From an inventive array of rustic breads to the world-famous six-ounce chocolate chip walnut cookie, everything is baked on-site, fresh every day from the finest natural ingredients. What doesn't sell that day goes to help feed the hungry-a mission that has been solidly in place since the beginning. The bakery was founded in 1994 by friends Connie McDonald and Pam Weekes. At the time, Connie was in banking and Pam in Fashion. The two, both competitive swimmers, trained together for the Ironman and-not surprisingly, as their tireless workouts left them feeling starved for great food- they began a passionate dialog about creating the world's greatest chocolate chip cookie. Within just a few years, Levain Bakery had become a neighborhood institution and a destination for epicurious travelers from around the world. Demand continued to grow. In 2000, to satisfy their regular clientele summering in the Hamptons, the two opened a second bakery in the village of Wainscott on Long Island's East End. And today, through their website, they now ship their world-famous cookies to happy fans around the globe.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Why the big deal”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I dont understand all the fuss they are noting outstanding. They are just large expensive average tasting cookies.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DodgerIrishinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,737
    528
    155
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best cookie ever!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Cosy little basement bakery that makes truly delicious, huge cookies. Chocolate peanut butter was our favourite. We took a nice walk there from the Museum of Natural History. Great experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyLees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best Cookie Ever!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Yes a lot of people have whinged about the $4 price. I can tell you I have been ripped off a lot more in NYC!! The peanutbutter and chocolate cookie is truly the best cookie I have ever had. Absolutely bursting with ingredients and flavour. This bakery is well worth the 1# spot. Disregard the negative reviews, it is absolutely worth the journey. And it should be pointed out that every one working in there serves you with a massive smile, it goes a long way!

Helpful?
Thank comedydave7
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“Crisp on the outside, soft and moist on the inside”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My teenage daughter and I went to the Harlem location after walking there from our visit at Columbia. At noon on a Monday, the small, ultra clean bakery was empty...just music and the bakers preparing cookie batter. We watched the cookies being formed by hand and weighed before being placed on the cookie sheet.

There are about 6 high stools at a small bar where you can eat your cookies. We had a lemonade but they also have coffee drinks.

We tried the chocolate chip and peanut butter chocolate cookies. Both were excellent. We got a third chocolate chip because we preferred it.

The cookies are big. We found the exterior of the cookies to have a nice little crispy edge and the inside to be moist and almost to the point of being undercooked...and this is just the way we like our cookies!

I wish I had bought some more cookies to take home because the little that we did have leftover was still just as good the following day.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pricklypoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“big, fat, gooey, chewy delicious cookies!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

the chocolate cookie with peanut butter chips is my favorite .. crispy on the outside and gooey on the inside with melting peanut butter chips ...

i would prefer my cookies not to be as thick (one cookie at Levain's is equivalent to 4 cookies elsewhere), but they are delicious nevertheless! too bad they don't sell milk here!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Levain Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Levain Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing