We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian Pizza” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luzzo's

Luzzo's
Ranked #530 of 13,476 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: East Village
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Italian Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I went for quick lunch. I eat a pizza: a great, wonderful pizza. The pasta they used to make it was perfect: best pizza I've ever eat in Manhattan. Price was good. I hope next time they will take credit cards...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank attongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    99
    11
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pizza Napoletana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Simply outstanding Pizza , when i taste this pizza i think i am in Italy . Great job done.
Highly recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes
Level Contributor
120 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Not up to NYC standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

After reading glowing reviews, we were eager to try Luzzo's. Sorry to report, it was not very good at all. The "pizza" was not like pizza in Italy, and not like pizza in NYC. It was pizza-shaped but there all resemblance ended. And it did not taste very good. Atmosphere was dingy. Very disappointing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TreborRemag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sublime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Once you have had authentic pizza in Italy, you always can tell the difference between that and American pizza. When I took a bite of Luzzo's pizza it took me immediately back to Verona, and it tasted exactly the same as I had there - 20 years ago! Their crusts are thin and pliant, not too much sauce, and real bufala mozzarella. I almost never end up on the East Side but next time I am there I'll have to stop back at Luzzo's. Be prepared with an Amex or cash if you go. The service was polite, attentive but not hovering. It was a nice relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CLE5605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Love, love Luzzo's. Best pizza in new York city. The square pizza is paper thin and crunchy. The place is decorated with everything hanging upside down. They only take cash and American express so be prepared. But there is a ATM on site.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luzzo's also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Luzzo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing