We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Restaurant”
Review of La Esquina

La Esquina
Reserve with OpenTable
La Esquina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #206 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: SoHo
Cross street: Kenmare Street
Transit: 6 train to Spring Street
London, London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“GREAT Restaurant”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Made an early reservation of 6pm to get a table here and the food was incredible, and the cocktails too. Portion sizes are good considering it was a tapas style and good value for money. The whole place is great and the staff very helpful and friendly (and not at all over the top!). Loved the decor and so much to choose from for vegetarians too. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara28London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    281
    84
    31
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cool vibe”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Quirky way to get in. Reservations and bouncer who speaks darkly into a clip on mike. Downstairs through the kitchen and into a warm cave like atmosphere. Nice margaritas by the jug and small tapas-like portions of food. Decent flavour and cool people taking pictures of servings to post on networks. Great for the ambience. Worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0sem22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“How would I know?!?”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

After waiting up till 1am on Friday night (Australian night) to call to book (it's the 21st century, who doesn't have Internet booking?) I rang to try and get a table for my mother in laws birthday. I then had to wait till 2am to get through and was met with an unpleasant, rude person who decided it was ok to hang up on me and not take my booking because I didn't have a US number yet. So I tried the same thing the next night with a number of our concierge at our hotel at the ready. It was great spending an hour and a half in the middle of the night hearing "I'm sorry, we have too many calls" and then hung up. If this is the level of service we can expect in NYC, it is something to dread.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonesben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Major cool scene”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

After being approved by a bouncer, standing near an unmarked door by the takeout kitchen, you go downstairs to the basement restaurant.
Very good looking crowd, cool atmosphere, the decent food is not the main attraction. Go after 9pm.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere, food and service”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had just arrived in new york and this was the perfect way to start our trip. Waited a few minutes for a table, great music in the background (not blaring) and cool decor. Got seated and stuffed ourselves silly. Great variety of food and everything we took was amazing. We ordered the avocado salad & chicken/tortilla soup (I loved the soup, awesome for a cold winter night). Followed up by veggie (avocado?) and veal tacos (amazing). Tried their mexican spiced up beer (regular beer in a glass with salted brim, possibly Tabasco and lime) - really liked the taste, except the spice somewhat killed my appetite.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobLoves314159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Esquina also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to La Esquina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing