We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Fine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ed's Lobster Bar

Ed's Lobster Bar
Ranked #103 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: SoHo
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Fine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Excellent lunch. Lobster roll and fries washed down with a very acceptable Sancerre. $100 for two a little pricey but you couldn't ask for better quality or fresher ingredients.
Staff is friendly and capable. My tiniest quibble, and this is purely an aficionado matter of personal taste, is I prefer knuckle and claw only on a lobster roll and Ed's includes tail meat.
Still, it's pretty perfect.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    169
    26
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
360 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Delicious Seafood Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

we were a group of 8, walk in without a reservation at 5:45pm Monday, the restaurant almost half full, the next 10 minutes all tables are occupied, the menu feature the most popular seafood items, new england clam chowder, shrimp cocktail by the piece, lobster roll, oysters and little neck clams, something for everybody, we all try difference dishes, no one have any complain, good service comes with it, we pick this restaurant, because we stay at the hotel Azure, just few blocks away on the same street.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hkvisitor1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Freshness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Oysters were soooo good! Small and fresh! Just what we needed on a hot nyc day! Very cute and clean! The white goes perfect with the theme of the restaurant!

Helpful?
Thank Nika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Freshness!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Little treasure in Soho! Fresh, delighfull oysters just what we wanted on a hot new york day! The white decor goes perfect with the delicate way of serving oysters!! Great placd

Helpful?
Thank Nika F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious Lobster Roll”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stopped in for lunch. Shared an oyster sampler and clams. Then I dug into a lobster roll (it's what they are known for). It was delicious --- the butter on the roll made the difference. My husband had the fried clam platter and enjoyed it. Good selection of wine and beer too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MG_IslandHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ed's Lobster Bar also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Ed's Lobster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing