We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Lunch!”
Review of The Little Owl

The Little Owl
Reserve with OpenTable
The Little Owl is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Grove Street
Transit: Christopher Street Station
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best Lunch!”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Made reservations a month in advance for lunch. Arrived to a table in the back corner, service was excellent and staff was friendly. Started with the onion soup & lobster bisque. Highly recommend both. We ordered the meatball sliders, fries (big enough to split), and the bacon cheeseburger. Everything was so tasty! The place was empty when we arrived then quickly filled up! Definitely will go back on our next NYC trip!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DillyDally84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    700
    229
    92
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon meal”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife pre booked a meal at the restaurant for the first night of our honeymoon in New York, we were treated exceptionally well. We had champagne on arrival, the staff gave us the best seat they had and the food was so good. We were really happy we booked here not just for the service but most importantly for the food. Really contributed to a great celebration and would recommended it to anyone

Brendan, Manchester

Helpful?
Thank BJC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Spectacular Discovery!”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had the pleasure of dining last night at the Little Owl, a great discovery during our visit to the City this past week. The Little Owl is situated on the corner of Bedford and Grove near Greenwich Village in a quiet, upscale neighborhood and is the definition of cozy, with seating for no more than 20-25 diners along with 4 spots at the bar. The host Jerod greeted us immediately upon entry and was charming, engaging, conversational and extraordinarily hospitable. Both the food and the service were outstanding. For starters, we had a very tasty pear salad along with the Owl's signature sliders. These alone were worth the visit. However, the Scottish salmon and filet were terrific as were the brussel sprouts. Without doubt we will be dining again at The Little Owl on our next visit to New York. Keep up the great work!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Unique restaurant great atmosphere ,great food ,great service
Would highly recommend ......for family's couples and friends
But book as this place is a hidden gem

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank stevemorganSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great little corner restaurant”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Typical west village understated bistro style - great food in laid back atmosphere. We ate at the small bar because it was busy - portion sizes are european but really clean, simple flavors. 6-7 dishes for apps and entrees - great mixture. Highly recommend - service good but not over bearing - good for a quiet dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ross7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Owl also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Little Owl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing