We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of The Little Owl

The Little Owl
Reserve with OpenTable
The Little Owl is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Grove Street
Transit: Christopher Street Station
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We ate lunch here and it was a very cozy place to eat (my wife would say romantic). We had the burger and mushroom risotto, both were very tasty. We shared two deserts that were also very good. Overall would consider one of our best meals in NYC.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cmchance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    700
    229
    92
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mississippi
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good food. Small Amounts. Pricey.”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We dropped $100 on A NY steak, Porkchop, green beans, and 2 desserts. If thats in your budget then i would suggest this place.

The pork chop was great, steak was good, and my beignets were ok (if youve had new orleans beignets you will be dissappointed otherwise these are a unique twist)

The service was exceptional. The location is in a nice area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank popedaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Enjoyed the restaurant. Very nice atmosphere. Great food and service! The meatball sliders were a great appetizer. Enjoyed the pork chops with butter beans...Very tasty meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGuy2531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OMG this place is amazing”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Should I not behave myself in this life and If I have to order a last meal, it will be those meatball sliders !!!
They are sensational,but to be fair everything else we ate, tasted really amazing as well. My friend said it was THE nicest fish dish she had ever eaten and that is praise indeed. The staff were fantastic even pointed me in the direction of the meatball recipe on the wall beside the entrance to the bathroom... So now I have a copy, I can try and make them when get home. The next time I come to New York this will be my first stop. You are truly missing out if you don't eat here....

Helpful?
1 Thank Larko54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Down
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Meal I've Ever Had!!!”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I have to admit that I had some initial concerns before I came here that it would all be too fancy and I wouldn't be able to eat anything.......after the first mouthful of my starter the concerns had vanished!!

I had the risotto for starter - the portions were generous and I was worried I wouldn't be able to eat my main course! However it was so delicious I ate it all - followed my all of my main course! I would highly recommmend the pork chops - I don't know how they cook them or the french fries but whatever they do it's unbelievable! I just had to have a dessert (pear crumble) which was just the right amount and incredible! My husband also equally enjoyed his meal (scallops, seabass and cheesecake).

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Its a very small place and we got our times mixed up arriving 1 hour early, however this didn't seem to be a problem and they were able to seat us when we arrived. The staff are also really attentive without being too overbearing!

It was more expensive than what we would normally pay but definitely worth it!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave-Jen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Owl also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Little Owl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing