We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy, charming restaurant with yummy food.”
Review of The Little Owl

The Little Owl
Reserve with OpenTable
The Little Owl is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 13,689 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Grove Street
Transit: Christopher Street Station
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Classy, charming restaurant with yummy food.”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Your restaurant is worth your excellent rating. The food was fresh, unique offerings, lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kjaz43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    700
    229
    92
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming neighborhood gem”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great place to have lunch or dinner followed by a walk in the neighborhood. The sliders are excellent so is the pasta !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMontrealers_AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Keep a lookout for this Owl”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My friend and I were roaming visitors to the Village and took a chance on getting into this little restaurant. It was sunday at 5 and we would have needed a reservation but the manager said we could get a spot at one of the 5 placings at the bar. Great choice and very interactive to meet staff and see the kitchen.
Intimate, pleasant and wonderful food. A reservation would help. When back in NY, I would go back to this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaFryklund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, lighting a bit too low”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Enjoyed our food (meatball sliders and scallops followed by chicken and the fish). Staff attentive and friendly. Nice wee restaurant. Only downside was that it was really quite dark and we struggled to see our food using the two tealight candles and even had to use the lights on our mobiles to find our coats by the front door. Would definitely go back if there was a bit more light.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveChups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“So good, would love to go again”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked dinner at this cosy little place in Greenwich Village before we left England, so glad we did as the size and popularity make a reservation essential. Small and intimate with excellent staff who know their stuff and have clearly tasted all the food, ask for their recommendations. They were attentive but not intrusive and happy to chat at the end of the meal. The food was amazing, best I'd had in the States. We found it so hard to choose that in the end my husband and I shared both starters and main courses, which the staff were happy to divide and meant we sampled a lot more. We had pasta with broccoli pesto and ricotta, perfection and scallops wrapped in potato to start followed by Halibut and Swordfish, all brilliant. Chocolate Fondant and a excellent Cheese board to round off the meal. Also must mention a very tasty dessert wine from Uruguay. Busy, buzzy, good music, first rate staff, worth every cent, well done Little Owl, wish you were round the corner from me.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Owl also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Little Owl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing