We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of The Little Owl

The Little Owl
Reserve with OpenTable
The Little Owl is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #63 of 13,830 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Grove Street
Transit: Christopher Street Station
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stopped in for brunch. Michelada was one of the best in the city. Friendly service and delicious food will definitely warrant a return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    707
    233
    93
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge,On
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Another amazing visit..”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Had the change to visit this little gem again and was as thrilled as the first time. Meal was amazing as was the service. They take pride in the food that they put out. Favourite part of the meal was the dessert...yummy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LizinON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

difficult to get a reservation but we booked for an early meal before the theater
Perfect restaurant - great atmosphere - staff warm - menu choices very good - food delicious - highly recommend if you like good food and wine in a relatively casual atmosphere - would definitely return if i go back to NYC

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank therese l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“If you're in NYC. Go here. Seriously. Go here.”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

So we were going to NYC and just like you now, we checked with Tripadvisor for restaurants to visit. This was the top one on our list. We finally hit it on night 4. For starters, it's small. I counted only 30 people fully packed. And it was fully packed all night. And it's loud. Really loud. Didn't bother us at all and seemingly any other patron. But if you want to have a night out for talk at a quiet restaurant, this may not work for you. For some reason I thought they didn't take reservations. Jarrod, their maitre'd told me they do on the phone…and they're usually booked a month out. Ouch, all those subway rides for nothing?

Not tonight. We were lucky. He found us the last 2 seats at the bar and we were off and running. First off the enthusiasm of the staff on cooking amazing food is obvious. Unfortunately we had eaten only a few hours earlier and I wasn't ready for a full on meal. It was such a drag because every single one of their appetizers and even the side dishes seemed ultra inviting. Each had it's own little twist, like potato wrapped scallops. Who's had those before? The couple next to us did and they looked amazing and probably were because they disappeared in a flash. My wife had the steak and I the halibut (which is their most popular dish). Both were mouth watering and excellent. The steak in particular was every bit as good as a Mortons or Ruth Chris. Our dessert…strawberry & rhubarb crumble over almond vanilla ice cream. Stuffed, smiling, and now moving slowly, we headed back home to our hotel.

This restaurant (at this time) is the #4 one on Tripadvisor for NY. After tonight it wouldn't surprise me if it's a notch or two even higher the next time we visit NYC.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rosco1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Neighborhood gem!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a cute little restaurant with creatively prepared food and friendly staff members! We had the sliders and sardines as starters; the soft shell crab appetizer as an entree and the pork chop. All were delicious. No liquor, but great wine list.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank goandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Owl also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Little Owl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing