We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Deliscious food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Little Owl

The Little Owl
Reserve with OpenTable
The Little Owl is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 13,089 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Grove Street
Transit: Christopher Street Station
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Deliscious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I've ben there yesterday night, ate the lobster risotto, it was fantastic. I asked for some tomatoes that was very good also.
I'll recomend and will come back in the future.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    635
    209
    81
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Neighborhood Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Simple but awesome menu. Great friendly service. Nice comfortable setting.

Great value for money

Simple but awesome menu. Great friendly service. Nice comfortable setting.

Great value for money

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Niknnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, casual atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Be sure to make reservations because it is small and fills within minutes of opening at 5:00 p.m. The food is delicious, service great, be prepared to be a little squeezed in but not uncomfortably so. They make a great white sangria and have a nice whine list. It is the type of place that just makes you want to linger a while!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TallahasseeJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the best lunches ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

A must do! Little Owl is a very small (only seats about 30 people), quaint restaurant, so make a reservation if you plan to go. It is fairly casual, but everything about it is excellent. They have a good wine and beer menu, and the waiters are very attentive. Then there's the food... wow! We started out with the corn soup, which was very flavorful. My husband had the bacon cheeseburger, which sounds boring, but was one of the best straightforward burgers he has ever had! I had a pasta special with broccoli, corn, cheese, etc. and it was fabulous. We ended the meal with beignets on top of chocolate, drizzled with raspberry sauce. I will definitely eat here the next time I'm in town!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essence_LittleOwl, Front Office Manager at The Little Owl, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Jennifer,
Thank you for submitting this review! So happy to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us (and that your hubby enjoyed our bacon cheeseburger!). Please pay us another visit when you're back in NYC.
love,
the little owl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning. Go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This place deserves all the plaudits it gets. You don't go here if you want formal dining: shorts and a T-shirt are fine. But, every element of the experience is wonderful, and you leave, desperate to return, and keen to recommend it to friends. We arrived for our reservation a few minutes early, and the table wasn't quite ready; but we were met with an apology and a free beer at the bar whilst we waited. Yet, we were sat in good time, the service was great, the wine glasses generous, and the food stunning. The sliders and the main course chicken were particularly note-worthy. There is an integrity and sheer quality to this place, and at prices that make you feel grateful, rather than strapped. Decide when you want to go, and book when the phone lines open one month in advance. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonofpalacefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Owl also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Little Owl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing