We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Bad experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Achieve Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Achieve Guest House
Ranked #450 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The landlord definitely must have retouched the pictures he sent to me upfront. But if you take a closer look, it is horrible. I stayed in the 'Radio City' room for $3000/month because I was on business trip and was very busy and no time to search for some other room. But the room is absolutely cheap furnished and dirty. Not once the room got maintained and cleaned during my whole stay. When I moved in, one of the closets was filled with detergent. The aircondition and the shower head I had to sanitize with a spray I bought, because the air smelled absolutely bad while operating.
The mattress, the pillow and the bed blanket, everything smelled dingy and never washed or changed. The sheets and towels smelled like moth balls. I bought a bug protection for the mattress and slept on my own sheets, never used his stuff.

Room Tip: Don't ever book in Harlem. It is a poor and dirty area and rediculous expensive. They take you b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Big Lake, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We booked this hotel 2 months in advance and was confirmed for a room with 2 queen sized beds. We called to find out if we could check out late and was told they "decided" to just put us in a room with a bunk bed. Then we had a lot of hassle to cancel the reservation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashy4jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

I've stayed at many, inexpensive places, in NYC and I always expect the same drab accommodations and I've never written about any of them since you get what you pay for - however, this place was totally different.

The staff were so attentive and caring. Whatever I needed was given to me. They were sooooo sweet. If I needed more towels I would receive them in a heart beat - I can't say enough of the staff there.

Moreover, the place was very very clean and when I arrived they had just finished remodeling some of the rooms - so I arrived in a freshly painted two toned room with very nice updated furnishings.

I can't say enough good things about the space and the people there. I would highly recommend this place for anyone visiting NYC.

  • Liked — Staff and cleanliness
  • Disliked — 2 blocks from train - wish it was closer
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RayrayFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

The staff (Angelo & Christina) were fantastic and very helpful. The rooms are clean, but there needs to be more of an investment in paint/linens. The amenities listed were either not there, had to be asked for and provided by the staff or broken. It is not an area to be traveled in at night, but safe during the daytime. The rooms do not have phones, the cable T.V. is fuzzy and the computer didn't work and had to be fixed by us! The rooms are secure and for the most part quiet. Be prepared to walk as the neighbourhood is far from midtown.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank proudflesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

What I loved about this place is that it is IMMACULATELY clean, the staff of two, who live on the premises where so very friendly. It was decorated very nicely.

I rented their smallest room but they had a few different styles. Anthony, who is the caretaker there and extremely friendly, showed me (for a future stay) their 975 sq foot private apartment which is HUGE and decorated so nicely. Although, that apt was not as much as I'd like to spend, but the price was definitely less expensive than a hotel and moreover, if you are thinking of traveling with 6 people I would definitely advise you to take the apt - extremely inexpensive that way.

In a nutshell, the place was extremely clean, the doors were all electronic (made me feel very safe), the staff very friendly, and their body wash and shampoo smelled soooooo good. I'd stay there again.

  • Liked — cleanliness and friendly staff
  • Disliked — hmmm, can't think of anything.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank coolfunguynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Harlem
Aloft Harlem
Aloft Harlem
#239 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Opera House Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bronx
4.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#380 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Oakwood at the Blake
Umbrella Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bronx
4.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
#365 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achieve Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achieve Guest House

Property: Achieve Guest House
Address: 36 E 126th St, btwn 5th Ave & Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10035
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #450 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Hotel Class:2 star — Achieve Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Achieve Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing