We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York City Jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Night Theater District
Ranked #249 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed July 17, 2007

This hotel is one of New Yorks jewels, only open for a year and a half and completely rennovated. Our three night stay went perfectly. We checked in early in the morning and it was no problem. The room was clean, very quiet and one block from Times Square. The room was small but equal to most rooms in New York. Robes, umbrella and nice towels in room. The best feature of the hotel was the staff. They were actually eager to serve you and took care of all our requests. Above all, they were nice. The price was typical for area. We would stay here again our next visit to the city and would recommend it to anyone without reservation.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank WKupper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,162)
There are newer reviews for Night Theater District
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,697 - 1,703 of 2,162 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2007

We just got back from our honeymoon in NY. We stayed 7 nights at the Night and loved it! The staff was always friendly and helpful, and the rooms were great. When we walked into our room, we saw that the hotel management left us a note and a complimentary bottle of wine on the night stand. The hotel's location was perfect, right near everything. The noise from the lobby and street were never a problem. We stayed on the 7th floor, so I'm not sure how it would have been on the 2nd or 3rd. I have never slept in a more comfortable bed! The only negative thing I can think of is that they provide you with an ice bucket, but there is no ice machine...but, if you call room service, they will bring you ice for no charge...so it really wasn't a problem. The complimentary breakfast was nice. They had a selection of bagels, muffins and pastries with juices and coffee. It was great for us because it was light and quick. The housekeeping staff came everyday to pick up around the room, replace the towels, and make the bed. We're glad we chose to stay at the Night during our honeymoon. We would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laney41004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2007

Was going to NYC to see a play with my 12 year old daughter and wanted a fun, trendy, inexpensive hotel near Times Square. The Night Hotel was the perfect answer!!! Was a little worried it would be too sexy for my daughter by the photos, but other than a few suggestive photo in the lobby ( saw worse bill boards in Times Square) the hotel was fine. Yes the rooms were small but wonderfully decorated. We loved the New York feel of the whole hotel. The bed and sheets were the best and everything was clean and well maintained. The people working there were professional and very helpful if I needed a recommendation. As for noise which several reviews mentioned, we were not bothered by bar noise but our air conditioning was loud, but not enough to keep us up. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arf42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

yes the rooms are small and yes the bar noise does carry through so take some ear plugs! However the rooms are well designed and the sheets were lovely!! The service is great and so is the location right off times square.Breakfast was ok but you cant complain when its free I've had worse! all in all a good stay and what I would expect from a new york hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2007

Coming from someone who swears by boutique hotels....Night is Fabulous! Personnels are great, efficient and well-dressed. Decor is stellar. If you like creative, modern-style, this is the place for you. Excellent taste, and by the way I was a single woman there and I felt very safe. It is quaint and hip. You can hang-out or do your own thing. The complementary yoga and meditation sessions is a superb idea. There is complementary breakfast from 7 am to 10 am...that is if you don't sleep in b/c the sheets and bed are ultra comfy. Oh, and don't forget to check out what's in your Night drawer. During your stay go across the street to eat at The Cranberry, and have a drink and a swim at the QT hotel (good hotel for young twenties). Night is for trendy 30's, 40's hipsters.

Enjoy yourselves, it's fun if your a few or just alone. I'll be back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Naima7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2007

Just back from a long weekend stay at Night. It is one of those hotels which tries hard to project a chic image. The rooms are done in black and white (at least ours was) and look pretty nice for what they are, with an interesting headboard arrangement, flat panel TV and interesting bathroom tile.

However, they had to go to the effort in this case because the rooms are tiny. Not much room to maneuver between the bed and one side of the wall, and the very small desk. No room for an ironing board or iron in the closet, so if you need one you'll have to call in advance. No tub, and while again it is stylishly done, not even room for a full glass door in the shower.

We did not take advantage of the free yoga classes, or the continental breakfast. Those are nice touches but again they kind of have to do things like that to make up for the very small rooms. As an aside, they had a party in the lobby bar one night we were there and the sound carried all the way up to the 4th floor, keeping us up part of the night. I can only imagine how the people on the lower floors felt...

In sum, Night hotel has a very good location, and a stylish way about it, and they've tried to make the most they can with very little to work with, but frankly for the money you are better off staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doughboy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2007

A friend and I stayed for three nights, we felt very unsafe. If they had a doorman we never saw him. Elevator is past the front desk and the bar just beyond that, anyone can walk in and follow you up. Stairwell has no doors, halls very dark, rooms very small. No view at all. My third stay in New York and I would not pick this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#270 of 468 in New York City
4,066 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#336 of 468 in New York City
4,506 reviews
Midtown
The Premier Times Square by Millennium
The Premier Times Square by Mill...
#182 of 468 in New York City
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#64 of 468 in New York City
3,229 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#280 of 468 in New York City
5,284 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#75 of 468 in New York City
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Night Theater District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Night Theater District

Address: 132 W 45th St, New York City, NY 10036-4003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#161 Business Hotel in New York City
#166 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#213 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $173 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Night Theater District 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Accommodations in the Heart of Times Square. Find inspiration in the pulse and passion of New York City after dark at Night Theater District - a boutique hotel in Times Square and a study in modern aesthetics. Here, you will disappear into a realm of playful contrasts, from the black-and-white checkerboard floor in the lobby to the invitingly guest rooms and suites. Enjoy the excitement of Times Square. See a show just steps away in the Theater District. Allow Night to summon the aura of a stylish private residence in the heart of NYC. Voted Sexiest hotel in America by TripAdvisor Editors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Night Theater District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Night Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing