We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small Room but Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Night Theater District
Ranked #252 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Small Room but Great Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is perfect for exploring New York and was at a really good price. Although the rooms are on the small side (especially wardrobe space) nicely decorated. We also had a high floor off road so the room was really quiet that was a bonus.

We did have an issue with lighting in the bathroom that couldn’t be fixed during the day but the management offered a room swap (declined as not major) and supplied a free bottle of champagne to make up for it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NH001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana D, Front Office Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear NH001, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you were overall satisfied during your stay with us despite the issue with the light. We hope you will be visiting us again in the future. You may email me directly for any future bookings.

Kind Regards,


Ana Disla
adisla@nighthotelny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    787
    282
    134
    70
See reviews for
180
1,165
192
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Lovely little boutique hotel right in the heart of it all !!! We were in new york for a few days and stayed here for 2 nights, very dark inside but lovely, busy decor in room and very small but its boutique right ! .. apart from my view of a brick wall it was awesome and perfect as a base to just get your head down at the end of the day, no one goes to nyc to sit in a hotel room ! .. would come again :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank foody-rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana D, Front Office Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear foody-rach , thank you for posting a review about your stay. We are thrilled to know that we exceeded your expectations.
We hope you stay with us again in the future. Please email me directly for any future bookings.

Kind Regards,


Ana Disla
adisla@nighthotelny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Best thing about Night Hotel, which I booked May 20-21, is the location—close enough to Times Square and its many attractions, but not too close so you don't feel overwhelmed when you walk out the door. Another plus is the service: very friendly, attentive staff, one of whom provided me with a code/password for free lobby WiFi, which also worked in my room (otherwise, I would have had to pay for it).

Also on the plus side: very clean room, and quiet—though I've read complaints about noise from the nightclub downstairs, I had no trouble sleeping in my room on the seventh floor (comfy bed, too). Air-conditioning was a bit loud, so I just adjusted the thermostat accordingly to keep it from going on and off all night.

Minuses: Tiny room; I've stayed in many New York hotels, and this might have been the smallest room I've ever slept in. I was a solo visitor so it was bearable, but I can't imagine how two people could manage. Also, there is only one elevator, and it's very slow.

Finally, the sexed-up, goth-like decor must have been someone's idea of hip and chic several years ago, but it's now just, well...tacky. The furniture in my room seemed a bit tired around the edges, and carpeting was threadbare in some spots. The bathroom—very clean—was in better condition than the room itself.

Didn't try the bar/restaurant, though the sushi menu looked pretty good (and reasonably priced).

Room Tip: Ask for room on upper floor (fifth or above).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahtsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana D, Front Office Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear ahtsguy , Thank you for your review and for your positive comment on our friendly staff and cleanliness of the rooms. We hope you give us a second chance in the future. You may email directly for any future bookings.

Sincerely,


Ana Disla
adisla@nighthotelny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Andover, MA USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Rated as the "sexiest hotel in America"....must be because you will have no choice but to snuggle. The rooms are so small you have to go outside to change your mind! The upside, and the reason to stay there, is the location. Right in Times Square, it makes it easy to catch a show, get dinner at a nice restaurant (don't eat too much or you won't fit back in the room), and walk back to your room. The black décor certainly didn't enhance the claustrophobic room. If you're looking for a funky, convenient place, this is it. If you're looking for elegance, keep looking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomlicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana D, Front Office Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear tomlicc , Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry to hear your stay was not what you expected. If you would like to give us another chance please contact me directly at adisla@nighthoteny.com and I will be more than happy to assist you.

Kind regards,


Ana Disla
adisla@nighthotelny.com

.
Sincerely,


Ana Disla
adisla@nighthotelny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Not a very good choice..the rooms are extra small.. Congested bathroom.. Very small passages..
No free wifi in the room.. Poor wifi in the lobby..
Receptionists not very helpful

The pros.. The concierge.. Very helpful and the location is the only reason to live here.. 2 blocks from Times Square!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Varshakathpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

I chose the Night Hotel for our visit to New York City due to its close location to the Rock, where most of our plans were. Night is a clean and quiet hotel in Times Square. I saw NO KIDS!! And we heard no neighbors! So we had two peaceful nights of sleep.It is named the sexiest hotel in New York, so everything is black. That is fine, but it makes things a little dark and hard to see. The lighting in the bathroom was not very bright, but I do not consider the dim lights so bad. The worst part of our trip was that we could not get the cable to work at all during our stay. It was out when we arrived and were told that it was due to a storm, but it was still out the following morning. We called to have someone come up and look at it, but we were ready to leave for the day so my husband told them it was fixed. The desk clerk said that the cable company rebooted the service to fix it for us. No. Not really! So that night we were still without cable. There is no street parking near the hotel, so we had to valet our car, which is just as much as finding parking ourselves. The staff at the desk and valet were friendly and engaged us in small talk while we were waiting to check in and out. All in all, it is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiej1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana D, Front Office Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear rosiej1963 ,Thank you for your kinds words regarding our staff. We are sorry to hear of the experience you had with the cable box in your room. We hope you will be visiting us again in the future. You may email me directly for any future bookings.

Kind Regards,


Ana Disla
adisla@nighthotelny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Boutique hotel about a 30 second walk from Times Square/Broadway. Just off the busy street you enter a quiet lobby with a very nice lobby bar with couches spread around for some quiet talk, and a small restaurant.

Upstairs, my room was typical big-city small with just enough room to walk around the bed. Nice bathroom, though, and your only hanger space was behind the door there.

Room and bath were very clean, the bed comfortable, and quiet.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana D, Front Office Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Allen B, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you stay with us again in the future. You may email me directly for any future bookings.

Kind regards,


Ana Disla
adisla@nighthotelny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#329 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,120 reviews
Midtown
The Premier New York Times Square
The Premier New York Times Squar...
#165 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#59 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#98 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#277 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Night Theater District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Night Theater District

Property: Night Theater District
Address: 132 W 45th St, New York City, NY 10036-4003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#163 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#165 Business Hotel in New York City
#166 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#218 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Night Theater District 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Accommodations in the Heart of Times Square. Find inspiration in the pulse and passion of New York City after dark at Night Theater District - a boutique hotel in Times Square and a study in modern aesthetics. Here, you will disappear into a realm of playful contrasts, from the black-and-white checkerboard floor in the lobby to the invitingly guest rooms and suites. Enjoy the excitement of Times Square. See a show just steps away in the Theater District. Allow Night to summon the aura of a stylish private residence in the heart of NYC. Voted Sexiest hotel in America by TripAdvisor Editors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Night Theater District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Night Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing